My first(and last and never again!) smoking experience.

17 49
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

After reading @Kushyzee post titled "Do you smoke?" I stopped to think after reading the title and asked myself "does he mean cigarettes, pipe, cigar or shisha?"I know, the title is quite straightforward right? It's simply," do you smoke or not" without any specifications but somehow, I still wanted to confirm because I felt kind of guilty for some reason I don't understand.

The only thing I have smoked in my whole life is hookah also known as shisha. Although when we were kids, we used to cut the stem of a dried plant with a spongy core, we would make a hole through the spongy core and lit it at one end pretending they were cigarettes, hah! The good old days... But that doesn't count right or does it?

Anyways, my first experience with something smoky is when I was still in my first year of Uni. It happened when the brother of my room-mate gave her his shisha pen to charge for him since the boys' hostel didn't have power supply at the time. They had been having light problems for a long time. I was fascinated by it because of how beautiful it looked and just like a pen, it had a somewhat pointed end and some threads which you can twist to disassemble it or put the shisha flavor. My fascination soon gave way to curiosity and I found myself wanting to try it. It turned out my friend had some shisha flavor with her meaning she smokes it too, we waited until it was dark and cold to make it more "enjoyable". When it was dark, we retrieved it from her locker, it was charged to 100% which was awesome! I watched as this friend of mine professionally disassembled it, put some flavor in it(banana flavor) , screwed it back, switched it on and took the first drag. She blew concentrated smoke into the air, the fresh smell, the density of the smoke was just what it was.... fascinating! She took more drags and even proceeded to creating interesting patterns with the smoke, again it was what it was...fascinating! I took the first drag and surprisingly I didn't choke on the smoke but blew it out while swallowing some unconsciously. The banana smell was nice and somehow reminded me of when we used to pick mango in farms as kids, of course bananas have nothing to so with mangos but my brain still found a way of associating them together. I took some more drags, savour the smoke before I blew out. It was an interesting experience.

Image source.

For those who do not know what it looks loke, this is it above. This is however the much modern type of shisha which is the shisha pen. As you can see it looks like a pen. The colorful container contains the flavour and above it is the charger.

The Shisha pot or hookah is the more traditional one and is said to have been in use since the time of Pharaoh, now isn't that like thousands of years ago? Well it looks like it would be in existence for another thousand years to come as it is gaining more popularity than never before.

Image Source.

Shisha is really cool stuff and can make parties more fun. However after taking it for the first time I vowed never to take it again. Personally I have nothing against it or those who take it but shisha is dangerous stuff. Overtime, it can lead tp serious respiratory complications because the dense smoke it produces can deposit in the lining of the lungs, making it hard for the alveoli to exchange oxygen. It can also cause angina and even stroke and heart attack. If you must take shisha, do it occasionally or better still, stay away from it all together.

Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Thanks to my sponsors for all they do

Thanks for reading.

Yours Layly,

❤❤❤❤❤

12
$ 3.06
$ 2.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 5
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Comments

That stem of dried plant counts o, Jesus! You were one adventurous kid 😂 I just remembered I have also tried that shisha pen in the past but only once. I heard it's even more dangerous than cigarettes

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahah. We love adventure. 😂😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't tried smoking but my dad was once a chain smoker too he stopped because he realized that he can't afford to suffer from lung diseases.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

He made a great decision and thank God he got over it. Not many people have the willpower to stop

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My first smoking experience was different. Then I was in secondary school. It was a scary day.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. So early? 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My first time of trying this was my last. I realised it wasn't for me

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It really isn't for everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The closest thing to smoking I've done is that dried plantain leaf stuff. I remember getting caught and blackmailed with it for a while afterwards. Looking back now, it's all so funny

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. They be like "I will tell your daddy". 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too I tried it but never liked it so I stopped it right away:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is way better. Letting yourself get addicted would be worse.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never smoked. Just cannot handle the smell of it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's a good thing. I pray you never do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fortunately, you did not get used to it and did not continue because of the bad experience. Curiosity is a bad and triggering emotion!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. Have to put it in check always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Was expecting to read a bad experience, but it turned out it wasn't exactly a bad one.

$ 0.01
2 years ago