Luna.

28 51
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

It has been an extremely sunny day, so sunny that I momentarily thought we skipped a season haha(it's the cold season so we don't expect so much sun). My sister joked that it had to be sunny because it is a "Fry-day" and the sun was frying us. Anyways it's over now and as late as it is now, I am still the only person who hasn't falling asleep in the house, alone with my friend, the moon.

I have always been fascinated by nature's gifts to mankind. I believe all naturally occurring phenomena; the stars, the moon, the sun, trees, plants, flowers, wind, the sky, rain and even animals are to serve as constant reminders of how blessed we are by Nature. Along the line I abandoned my beliefs and I am grateful that I am rediscovering them. It feels very peaceful indeed. It feels like reconnecting with who you really are, making you more grounded than you once were.

Of all natural phenomena, I find the moon the most thrilling of all. When I was young girl, I would sit for hours with my baby doll staring at the moon. I feel like we are having some sort of conversation only we can hear and comprehend.

It gives me the feeling of being in love. The excitement, the joy and all that comes with it. I fell in love with the moon. When I am sad, I wait for night to fall and then climb up to the top floor, there I stare at the moon and feel it caress my soul, ridden me of all my pain, engaging me in deep soul conversations and then say, "Layla, everything will be okay". Even when I abandoned her, she still remains with me. During the day time when all there's is sun without a trace of moon, I still feel her presence somewhere within my heart.

As kids, we all once thought that the moon was following us when we're walking and look up, until we grew older and later realized that it wasn't exactly the case. For me, I still have the feeling the the moon follows me wherever I go, even when it is a moonless night, I find it within me.

Crescents remind me that even when I feel incomplete, it's just a phase and soon I will be whole again.

There's always something lacking in us that causes a certain feeling of emptiness at times, we might have all we think we ever wanted but still this emptiness would remain, then we spend the rest of our lives looking for something or someone that would fill in that emptiness. Some of us succeed in that journey, others die while still searching. Let the Crescent remind you that even if you might not be whole, do not forget to shine bright, no matter dark the night may be, and bear with conviction in your heart that someday you will be whole again. When she goes through phases, I do not abandon her. When I go through phases, she doesn't abandon me. When your friends go through phases, do not abandon them.

Like the moon, be fearless and relentless. The moon isiemsn't afraid of the sun and still challenges sometimes...

Like the moon, know no fear. Be as fearless as a lion, and relentless in achieving your goal. I was thought in my physics class that the moon isn't a luminous object because it actually reflects light from the sun meaning that it obtains its light from the sun. That doesn't make it fear the sun, it allocates to the sun it's respect by letting it shine when it's it time, but whenever the sun tries to infringe in its time, She fights him by creating an eclipse haha. Yeah, that's actually the moon engaging in an argument with the sun. She sometimes turns bright red to show its anger and she always wins, no matter what. That's a lesson I learnt from Luna, the moon.

Another thing I learnt from Luna is never to abandon my friends. When it's early morning and the sun starts rising, she wakes me up so that I can catch the last glimpse of her to start my day with, reminding me that she hasn't completely abandoned me, that, she will be back in the night. She comes eventually, sometimes with starts to make out conversation more interesting, sometimes alone if we need to be alone. Whatever the case maybe, she never disappoints.

The moon is a home for both lonely and lively souls, the moon is a home for all. I long for the day a road will appear, leading me to her directly, the day I will become one with my moon, my Luna.

Thanks for reading.

Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty

15
$ 3.82
$ 3.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Trifecta
+ 13
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Comments

This is so beautiful Layla. I felt alot of soul-uplifting reading this. Indeed there's nothing as peaceful persistent as our beautiful moon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed reading it bilqees. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's something special about seeing a full moon on a cloudless night, it makes you feel energetic and powerful (like a werewolf or a witch πŸ˜†).

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha. The moon is indeed soul and mind cleansing....and yes you can't be surprised since there's energy radiating from the moon to earth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why Selenophiles are in love with the moon because aside from it's beauty it's always there when they are sad at night:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's correct. There is always solace to be sought in the moon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really it good meeting you . Luna !! That the name of my teddy bear here 🀩🀩 and I also learnt a lesson never to abandon your friends in time of trouble that true because what goes around comes around . BTW are you from Nigeria ?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha. Luna can be a nice name for a teddy you know....and yes I am from Nigeria, kano to be precise. You?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What an insightful thoughts you have about the moon and I agree!

It was a hot day also earlier today when we went out for a walk.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is somehow cold today ARTicLEE. I am glad you enjoyed reading it. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am such a "Look at the moon and stars" person. Just like you, watching it in the vastnessof sky made me realized important things in life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's correct. I always say that nature has interesting stories and lessons to pass on. Like growing and withering of leaves can signify how fleeting life is... and many other examples.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How you have crafted this from watching the moon is top creativity and intelligence. Beautiful Layla!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow thanks! I am glad you enjoyed it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God created nature for our benefits.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agreed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything about nature is great, the moon is a beauty on its own and one unique gift of nature. It symbolizes a lot and the love part interests me more.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes nature always has messages to pass on. Thank you George.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi DocLayla, Pleased to make your online acquaintance. I loved your beautiful analogy with the moon, and I like the way you made the connection to sticking with your friends even when you go through phases. I also love the moon. A full moon is breath taking on a clear night.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice making your acquaintance too trifecta. I am glad you enjoyed reading it. The moon is a very wonderful creation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is beautifully written. It draws out some emotions :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you farmgirl. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also like the moon. Especially when I was in college. Our boarding house was near the seashore. Everytime there is a moon, we always stay the seashore at night looking at it. It's so relaxing and you can think peacefully. ☺️ That's how I deal with ny depression before, staying in the seashore while looking at them moon. And during the day, I stayed there to look and listen to the waves.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow that's really an experience. I can almost imagine it. The moon used to serve a similar purpose for me when I was little, and it still does.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis, I even remember how we used to play duirng night when moond shines bright. We have fun also and sometims walk back and forth telling the moon is following me hahaha. And it somehow reminds me when I am sad that every darkness in life, there will be light in it. The solution is in there, We just need to accept and claim it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with you. Nature is indeed remedy for the soul.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Moon following us... That's the childhood thoughts. Are we in astrology class mam?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha I still very much have those thoughts Luci...and we're rather in a selenophile class. Capturing the essence of the moon

$ 0.00
2 years ago