Kids and me.

17 57
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Good day y'all and thanks to all those who wished me a happy birthday on my last article. Thanks for all the well wishes, prayers, compliments and blessings. I wish you all same too, I felt happy and loved when I saw all the messages 😍😍🎈. Indeed I have awesome friends here!

I don't really have much to write about today as I have been feeling rather demotivated since my a day before my birthday, burn out I guess, happens sometimes to me. So allow me to introduce you to these two lovely children.

I had wanted to post them here on children's day but they were nowhere to be found when I got ready to take their photos. We call them Mama and Zully. They are my cousin's children and they came to visit for sometime. Now the interesting thing about these two children, despite being 5 and 3 year's old respectively is that they are much wiser than their age, of course that's not so surprising of children of this generation but these two have a sort of wisdom that just leaves you in aweπŸ˜…. They have great observation skills and while they seem like kids outwardly, they've got really old soils.

The other day, the one with the blue hijab who's the elder one, that's mama, saw me going chatting on whatsapp with a friend and we were sending voice notes back and forth to each other. I got called so I dropped the phone on the bed without locking the screen. I got back to see this girl recording her voice on WhatsApp with the voice note icon and I seriously cannot remember when she saw me doing that because I hardly even chat on WhatsApp let alone do voice notes, for a kid her age one has to do something repeatedly for her to be able tp grasp it. Neither her mom nor dad uses an android phone so there's no way she would have learnt that from them. The most annoying part is that when I caught her recording a voice note, she was singing nursery rhymes!! When I asked her how she learnt how to do that, she just smiled a knowing smile and I was like, "oh...".

The other one whose mouth is wide open like crocodile's, is the most mischievous and cunning amongst the two, despite being the younger one. You could tell that from that hilarious smile on her face πŸ˜‚. She's the plotter, planner and master strategist. She's exceptionally good with numbers for someone her age. She's got the moodiness of a teenager and the charisma of a successful business person. Sarcasm seems to be her think even though she barely knows how to pronounce words. She's the one who always hides their school uniforms or the books in hopes that their mother won't force them to go to school since they can't find them, but little Zully isn't that good at hiding and always gives herself away in the end. Gets easily annoyed when not in the mood to play, you could just touch her and risk hearing her cry for the next hour!!

Are kids in today's generation wiser than us when we were kids?

I am sure that we all know that one little kid who's too smart for their age when we were kids, but do you realise that most of today's kids are smart? You do know those cute little children who belong to your sisters or brothers who are pretty smart for their age because I am sure I am not the only one. Kids these days pick up cues easily and have great deduction skills. They easily put two and two together and make sense out of something in their own way. Perhaps the latest developments in technology and science have something to do with this trend I don't know. Perhaps it's just evolution thereby sharpening their senses, this too, I don't know.

For this reasons, now more than ever , there's a greater need to be extra careful with our words and actions when the kids are around. They pick up cues in instances and before you know it, they start copying you. I somehow envy kids for how fast they are in learning new things, the brain is still fresh, the mind still innocent, and endless possibilities ahead of them. I think I would be way less of a dumbass than I already am lolπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

Thanks for reading guys.

Yours Layly,

πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

15
$ 4.02
$ 3.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 11
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Comments

I was just smiling all along especially the mischievous acts done by Zully, trying to hide school uniforms so she wouldnΒ΄t go to school πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Kids nowadays are so smart ehn, you would wonder if they arenΒ΄t disguising as our forefathers 🀣but I love them that way. It shows how smart they are and also intelligent.

Happy belated birthday. Perhaps I missed your post to know yesterday was your birthday. I wish you the best in your new journey.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I tell you. That's just the most basic of the things she does. Very savvy πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Thanks alot princess for the wishes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would say it is evolution + technological advancement. Children now are exposed to things we weren't exposed to then all these play a factor. The other day I was attending to an eight year-old girl who was speaking English fluently! Tenses, pronunciation and all. I had to ask how old she was because I was so impressed. If I wasn't looking at her, I'd think it was someone in the diaspora who was speaking πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nawaoo. That's very impressive. Na those kine people sabi speak 10 languages before they block 20 hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Children of this day are extremely wise, if we are to compare their smartness to that of when we were at their age, certainly they're more smarter than we were. Like many do say, they are in the digital age.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's it. Their brains seem to have evolved wifi civilisation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Children can easily pick up things just by observing, that's how we learnt how to do many things. Nobody taught me how to operate a phone at a young age, I just saw my mom doing it and I learnt as well. She always hide her phone from me back then because I ended up knowing more than her when it comes to her phone πŸ˜†

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The curiosity of a child is unmatched. If we're to go through life with that level of curiosity we'd all turn our geniuses πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have smarter kids now and see how life works, I just drafted my post about my daughter being so smart even for a 2 year old and I saw this post of yours. Yes, we need to take extra caution with our words because these children pick things faster than usual.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's great sir! You're right about that one. I am scared for the future generations because of how loose we've become.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's getting scarier day by day my dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kids of nowadays are far more smarter than we were when we were kids. It might be something as basic as the improved nutrition and healthcare our generation have, which results to better development of the foetus in pregnant women. Their brain is probably far more developed than ours at birth

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah. That's a good theory to describe it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People also get updated with the generation, The more updated that era, the more updated the generation of that era. I think our kids are more updated than us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes clearly they are. What we learned about technology at a later time, they learn now. Only God knows what they would learn by the time they are grown like us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The kids of these days are getting smart and they are usually limited by the environment or perhaps the economy they live in, if it was to be more developed country, these kids would have know more about the digital work.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree with you. They have sharp senses and would be able to do more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago