Why I choose rabbits?

27 39
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago
Topics: Pets, Choice

Greetings!

I am so happy today because there are great blessings come in our family. We received 1 sack or 25 kilos of rice from my grandmother, my other cousin visited us as well, and my first published article now gained $12. Pardon me, but it was my first time having this kind of reward from my writing.

On the other hand, the weather was hot but the wind was strong. It adds to heat factor and I was lying here at my hammock to enjoy the beautiful view of farm while writing this article. My mind is so at peace and I love the events happening today.


Introduction

Commonly households had their own pets at home. There are various reasons why they have pets at home. Some are for having a buddy because they are alone at home. Some family has culture of adopting street animals and care for them. Some just received pets from their family or friends. Whatever the reasons you are for raising a pet, one thing is clear. You have heart for animals.

Rabbits are friendly animals. They have two long, sensitive ears. Their fast and athlete legs can run up to 35 mph or 56 km/hr. Quite fast right? You cannot outrun them if they have the intention to run away from you.

Apollo and Athena in their old cage

Rabbit facts 101

  • Do you know that the baby rabbit is called kit. There are two type of rabbits, of course - male and female. You can call female rabbits as doe while male rabbits as buck.

  • When baby rabbits born, their eyes and ears are closed. Also, don't be surprised when you see them furless because it's totally normal.

  • Rabbits can last up to 8 - 12 years of age. It is depending on the environment they are living either in the wild or domestic one.

The reasons

I frequently saw my friend's my day in her messenger account. She was holding her rabbits and it seems she's having fun playiny and caring for them. At first, I thought they are not worth it to raise or I just have no interest. But the more I see her my day in everyday, the more I had this urged to buy one.

My mind was telling me to buy one. "Buy those rabbits". Actually, I totally have no idea how to raise rabbits, what they eat except carrots. What they drink and do they need vitamins? Are they biting? These are some of the questions I had in mind. But through it all, I had this list of reasons why I bought rabbits.

Athena when she's so scared of me.
  • They are quiet - I love quiet place because that's the kind of environment my parents raised me. Especially my father who hates noise so much, just literally. Rabbits are quiet and they don't bark or something which is perfect as pet at home.

  • Low maintenance - one thing I noticed about raising rabbits is that they don't need much of injections, vitamins, shampoo, and pet leash. This is also perfect for me because I don't have much money to spend for pets. Saving and investing is priority.

  • Unlimited source of food - this is one the main reason why I bought rabbits. I have unlimited source of food for them. We have hays, different grasses, leafs and pellet's price is cheap. I saved a lot of money for their foods. Be wise!

  • They don't smell - rabbits are odourless and don't have strong body odor. I hate foul and unpleasant smell for animals. It makes me irritated sometimes. I can bring my rabbits in my room and play them for an hour.

The struggles

It is inevitable to encounter problems and struggles while raising our pets. Especially when they are puking, poops are not normal, skin rashes, and etc. I know you are encountering them because some of you have pets at home.

Apollo who's quiet and shy.

My struggles in raising rabbits are the following:

  • They poop a lot - yes, you read it right. They poop a lot which I have to clean their cage every 6 hours. Especially when their cage is not that big and I have to pull out the beddings below - full of poops and urination. Then when I finally made their cage big and I don't need to clean their poops every 6 hours. I just clean it every morning.

  • They gnaw their cage - one of the most common problem in their cage is that they are gnawing the plastic mattings. When you are going to make a cage for rabbits, make sure it was made of woods or metal so that they can't gnaw it. You might be surprised when they are no longer in their cage in the next morning.

  • Scratches - sometimes when I hold them or trying to hold them. They unintentionally scratch me and it hurts. They have small yet sharp nails. But now, I learned how to get and hold them properly. Yet sometimes you still get scratches. Bad rabbits!

Realizations

Our pets can be a source of fun and happiness when you are stress or having a hard time. Just get your pet and feel their fur. Sometimes you bring your pets outside and have a good walk with them. Both of you are happy and getting exercise as well.

Our pets are worth taking care for. If you still have a doubt that I can't raise a pet or whatever animal it is - belive that you can. Choosing a right animal to pet is important because their characters and needs are different.

Appreciation

Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

Another sponsorship I received yesterday. Thank you for believing and trusting me. Also, thank you dear readers, commentors, upvoters, sponsors, likers and subscribers.

All images are owned by me. 
Blog #4
1/30/22

13
$ 3.40
$ 3.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 10
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago
Topics: Pets, Choice

Comments

I also love rabbit and we have them before, they are really cute

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, they're cute little creatures. A while ago, I got few scratches from them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang kyut ng name haha the goddess of wisdom and the god of archery haha. But I guess cookies and cream sounds kyut too 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww my heart is melting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saamin naman nung bata kami guinea pig ang meron kami. Prang same lang din sila sa rabbit tas ayun pala ibebenta ng kamaganak namin kaya di ko na sila nakita magmula nuon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko din sana guinea pig pero nag aalangan ako kung saan ko sila ipwesto dito sa bahay. Baka ako'y mapalayas na samin sa dami ng alaga ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had my own rabbits before. You are right, they were the source of happiness to me. I am missing them. Btw, I didn’t know much fact about them before. Keep it up, mate. You can get more from here. Keep doing the hard work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko din sana mag alaga e kaso diko maasikaso tsaka di rin ako marunong. Kawawa din lang sila saken huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well that's nice. I always thought rabbits are challenging to raise because they seem sensitive :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are not that challenging to raise. Actually they are easy ones. Just provide them foods and secure cage then they can live.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know anything about rabbits until I read this, thanks for this information. I also don't like when animals have strong smells

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's great that you knew now about rabbits. You might consider buying two and raise them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I just might

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda din talaga mag alaga ng rabbit. Hihi cute2 p nga eh. Anyways, nice meeting you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. Baka balak mo din mag pet, mag rabbit ka nalang din. They are cute and low maintenance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like so much rabbits. My son love it. Before I had rabbits in my house. But not anymore. I'm thinking of buying again. It looks like so cute. It feels good to be in my lap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, please consider buying again and care for them properly. I think it will awesome and your son will like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

rabbits are really adorable creatures and they can be very friendly... I once had a rabid before but lost it to a strange illness. I was very sad for days and mom promised to get another for me. But I think she probably forgot about it... Wishing you more happy times with your rabbit ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks friend. Yeah most of the time when rabbits died was because of their foods. It might not suitable or just contaminated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've seen a few rabbits reproduce very quickly, released in a large fenced yard. They are very good in size as they are in a natural environment. One of the animals I might want to raise in this type of garden is the rabbit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, they reproduction was quite fast because rabbits can give birth within 5 weeks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May nag aalaga ng rabbit malapit sa amin pero pang business po lechon rabbit yung sa kanila dami din bumibili ng lechon rabbit nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga po ate. Masarap daw po kasi ang karne ng rabbit pero di ko pa na susubukang kumain non. Parang di ko kaya. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wanted to established my own rabbitry. But also for food purpose and lot more research. I bought 2 female and 1 male as kit now they grown up with 1250grams which passed 1000grams when I purchased them haha. I suggest you much also research on thier foods, when you just give grasses, hay and raw and high moisture of the greens. That's makes thier poops not normal. Also try to record thier weight so you had reference in if they gaining weight or not. Keep up also research lapan meat hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They are actually gaining weight these past few weeks. Based on my observation, they are healthy and their weight is just okay for their age. For food purposes? You eat rabbit meat? I don't think I can do that now. Haha. They are for pet only.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love rabbits too because they look super cute! I am also saving my energy and time that's why I prefer pets like rabbits, hamsters and hedgehogs.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. You don't have to pet them every time. They are not attention seeker as well so you can your jobs at home freely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago