Ophthalmology: Do humans have the best eyesight?

26 38
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago
Topics: Facts, Animals, Vision

Considering the fact that we have a good vision that can see afar of images, colors, and motions. We can also differentiate hundred of colors which uniquely and completely different in shade. I knew that each of us have favourite color that suits to our personalities, types, and preferences. But will it be sufficient to call that we have the best eyesight?

To tell you the truth, I don't have a good eyesight because sometimes I do wear my eyeglasses to make blurry things clear. I know some of you wear eyeglasses as well because I noticed that some of your profile wore eyeglasses. Some of your wear anti radiation eye wears to protect your eyes to radiation coming from various forms of technological devices such as computer, laptop, smartphone, and tablet.

The unexpected rain

We were hit with a strong rain and wind last night. I do not expect to rain that hard because we didn't have any rains these past few days. It was 5 o'clock in the afternoon when I noticed that the sky is becoming grayish and I saw blackish gray at somewhere part of Manila. I reviewed my phone and checked if there is an early sunset, but what I see is not.

It was exactly 5:45 o'clock when it finally rain, drops by drops. Every drop is a big drop that I can hear from our roofs and I saw it outside as well. My father called me to heat and boil some water because he will drink hot coffee. Since it's already 6 o'clock, I decided to wash the rice and cook it. I forgot to tell you that we had no water yesterday because our subdivision is cleaning the tank every quarter. It is also for the safe of everyone because to avoid moss inside the tank. We were advised three days ahead to saved water and prepared from the incoming days. Currently, the water supply is back and my mother is busy washing some of our clothes at the back.

Finding my dog and chicks last night

Suddenly I was hit by a thought about Polar, our dog. She was outside and she is the only dog who don't have its own house. We have three dogs, and the two has its own respective dog house. I went immediately outside to check where she is. Actually, we don't have light in front of our house since we already have enough light coming from street light. I cannot find her due to strong rain and my back is so wet. My umbrella was kept hitting by a strong wind too.

As what I have said earlier, I have poor eyesight most especially at night. Although our eyes can adjust in its environment, but my eyes can adjust just a little. I found my dog inside the tricycle my father owned and it's time to find the chicks which nest in the Alitiris tree (Kerson tree). I cannot use flashlight because it might caught water and will not function anymore. I picked up those chicks and put them besides my rabbit house. They are safe and the rain cannot penetrate inside.

Eyesights comparison (humans vs animals)

There are a big difference in terms of physical and visual pattern of our eyes from animals. Animals have various forms of pupils such as circular, sub-circular, vertical and horizontal. Some eyes have rotate independently, squiggly-shaped pupils. Some eyes have exerting blod and protective eyelids. But if we compare our very own eyesight to animals, who nailed it?

Based on my research, there are several categories which divides the excellency of a certain eye. Are you curious which animal has the best sight? It is the colossal squid. Colossal squids lived at the bottom part of the Antarctic ocean and it is said the they have a soccer ball size of eyes. So big! Which animal sees best in the darkness? It is the Arctic Reindeer. Artic Reindeer is the only animal which eyes respond to the seasonal change. In summer, their eyes are golden, but in winter, it changed to blue and it has 1000 times sensitive to light.

Who sees the most color? (based on spectral sensitivity)

Our eyes are the most unique part of the body. It has the function to view our environment and enjoy its beauty. So how we see the images and its processes? Our eyes are sensitive to light and we have sensory stimuli. The waves of light we see was detected by photoreceptors which converts the light into neuro signals. These neuro signals travel to our brain and process the image.

Based on the spectral sensitivity, surprisingly, dog only have two colors which is blue and yellow. Humans have three and they are blue, green and red. But let me surprise you a little more. Bluebottle butterfly has 15 colors and Mantis Shrimp has 16 colors. Can you imagine if you have a Mantis Shrimp eyes? You can see the world in a whole new level with broad varieties of color.

Meaning, the more types of color photoreceptors we have, the better our color vision is. We cannot say who really has the best eyesight since every creatures made has their own unique and exceptional eye characteristics. There are animals excels in sensitivity, color vision, motion vision and resolution. We, humans placed only moderate compare to those animals, but what's important is how you take care of your eyes. Your eyes are the most beautiful part of your body and that beauty cannot take away from you.

Thank you for reading!

12
$ 4.69
$ 4.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @yhanne
+ 6
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago
Topics: Facts, Animals, Vision

Comments

So far okay pa naman ang aking eyesight kahit almost a decade na akong nagtatrabaho sa computer shop.other people told me na magsuot daw ng anti rad eh nahihilo ako at nasusuka pag ngsuot ako ng anti rad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is educative! I'm just imagining how the eyeballs will be in the face of the colossal squid. Let me go and browse it๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jusko po mata ko malabo na talaga haha. I use eyeglass like right now typing this. Di ko talaga kaya nang walang salamin. Pag mga kapatid ko sinusuot ito e nahihilo haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Malabo rin mata ko eh AHAHAH kaya I have a plan to undergo Lasik eye surgery in the future if ever na magiging qualified ako sa surgery. Ang hirap magadjust pag malabo mata ๐Ÿ˜ญ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh? So ang labo ng mata mo bro? Ilan na grado ng mata mo, same ba? Sorry, medyo na shock lang ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yepp malabo siya mga 400 ata grado ng mata ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy ang taas na grabe. Omo. Nagcocontact lens ka rin? May napanuod ako kagabi na eyelaser surgery

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nope, ayaw ko magcontact lens AHAHAH. Salamin lang bet ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yong eyesight ko di na rin ganon kalinaw. Dati basa ko pa sa malayuan, now hindi na. Kakaselpon din kasi ee tapos pagod ang mata bigla maliligo aigoo ewan ko talaga kay self abusado.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo iwasan mo na ate ang ganyang ways. Baka anytime, biglang manlabo ang mata mo ng hindi mo alam. Do not self-abuse. Take care of yourself and have fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your eyes are the most beautiful part of your body and that beauty cannot take away from you.

That beauty is ours to lose. And how we take care of it, determines how long it will stay beautiful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said it well. Our eyes cannot be taken away from us, but to what we see is our decision us well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Before, I am using eyeglasses for my eyes pero hindi ko ma sinuot kasi pag hinuhubad ko mas lalong lumalabo mata ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka near-sighted ka kuys? Pero siguro depende rin naman yan sa ating mata. Basta mahalaga may makita, oks na. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga heheh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fortunately at my age I haven't wear any glasses. Malaking tulong cguro ang kalabasa which is one of my favorite vegetables. Nakakatuwa naman ang mantis shrimp ibang dimension na cguro ang mga nakikita nya๐Ÿ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whoo! That's good to hear ate. Favourite ko din ang kalabasa pero madalang lang kami mag luto nun since hindi masyadong nakain mga kapatid ko ng gulay.

Oo nga po ate. Feeling ko yung Mantis shrimp na to, mala rainbow ang nakikita sa dagat. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was strugling before sa pag blury ng mata ko, and that time na realize ko talaga kung gaano ka importante yung mata natin. Hahah peru ngayun bumalik na mata ko sa normal. Peru I plan to buy anti radiation glasses din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap kapag medyo blurry na ang visiรณn. Need na ng proper checkup and eyewear solution. Yup, mag buy ka na ng anti-rad kuys kapag may budget kana. Very helpful yon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Blury na talaga kabila kung nata peru nasanay na namn ako sa una lng siya parang anghirap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In this era, due to the more use of computer laptop and Mobile most of the people have weak eyesight. But there is no doubt that the cat and dog eye vision is more sharper than us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right! We cannot deny that fact because that is happening. I love cat's pupil.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, back in the old times humans have the clearest eyes however in this generation, there are many people experiencing poor eyesights due to the technology.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that's fact! But on the other hand, we can see how much our lives became easier in previous decades. Although one of the problems are poor eyesights, we can still manage and protect our eyes in proper way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are animals who has a clearer vision than humans. My eyes now are also hurting from too much exposure to gadgets but I still dont have anti-rad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. Oh, you have to use anti-radiation eyewear now. You might get sick and your eyes are too important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago