My Introductory Post

2 30
Avatar for Denka
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Hobby, Purpose, Life

Hello, world!

I've been here for a week already and it took me several days to publish my first article, Disposable Relationship.

And as promised, I'm going to write about myself in my next post which is this one. Hurray!

So, why am I here? To be honest, I need extra cash to help with the daily expenses of my family. Currently unemployed because my contract with a BPO company just ended last March. And being here in the city makes it hard to budget finances because prices are high, compare to where I live before we moved here. I lived with my mother and siblings a year ago in the suburbs near the city where I currently reside. And the merchandise there is way cheaper than here.

It's undeniable that the prices of goods are gradually increasing as the years go by.

And it's becoming the main source of stress for us because the basic pay from my partner's regular job is not enough to sustain necessities.

So I guess being here, my main reason, for now, is to earn. Just being practical. Though I really like to get my brain to pump creative juices again.

Yes, again! Because back when I was a child reading and writing are my past time. I'm from the '90s and kids back then waste their time playing outside, watching animated series. But I also remember the family computer and the famous Duck Hunt, and the gamer part of me was born.

I guess reading was instilled in me because my mother was very strict and focused on teaching me when I was just starting school. Guess I can call myself lucky because my workbooks were free. My father used to work in the printing press (not the mechanical device but I just remember that's what he calls their company, though they print books of SIBS and Phoenix Publishing). And I recall he would bring home the rejected ones. That's why I have so many books and blank notebooks back then. And that was when I started my habit of reading and writing.

I can vividly remember a 5ft bookshelf filled with different books worth reading.

Speaking of that, let me share with you some funny moments I've had back when I was in grade school. My best friends and I would skip boring classes and you won't guess where we go. Instead of going to the playground, we joyfully run our way to the library. Yes, we skip classes just to go to the library and read our favorite books. You may think that going to the library in skipping class is lame, but our library was never the boring type. It has a special area for presentations like puppet shoes or where we can watch educational shoes, plus the very comfortable bean bags. And it also has a computer room for doing paper works and some research.

This was the only picture I saw on the internet.

Okay, you may say I'm biased and there are lots of pretty good libraries in some schools. But please forgive me, I just got excited remembering the details and how fun those moments were.

As much as I love the smell of books, I also loved my blank notebooks. I would write about my day, my observations, but mostly what I did back then was draw things.

My cousins and I were so close back then that we watched animated series together and chose characters that suit our personalities. And one of our favorite past time was to draw our little village. We used to draw our dream houses together back then on my notebooks and we planned on owning houses next to each other.

Please pardon me for being so nostalgic. I guess I just have to write more about it in my next article.

What do you call a person who only talks about his past? I'm not sure. As of now, the things I can say about my current status are limited as I feel like I'm constantly on the run to find myself and figure out what I really want to do.

But for now, all I know is I want to get out of this situation. I will try to make a living on this platform and hopefully learn a lot also by reading people's articles.

I'm really not a good writer, but I will do my best to make good articles that will value to people who will be reading my posts.

Thank you for taking the time to read my introductory post. Godspeed.

Image sources:

The lead image is my digital art.

Montalban Rizal Towncenter Xentromall

The Story of Duck Hunt

Esteban Abada Elementary School Library

4
$ 0.13
$ 0.10 from @keeneek
$ 0.03 from @Willtravis
Sponsors of Denka
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Denka
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Hobby, Purpose, Life

Comments

Welcome to Read, Denka! Hope you'll find the light and your purpose. I have the same sentiments as you. :) Anyways, I also love books! I don't have enough books when I was still a kid but was lucky enough to be allowed to borrow books from our school's library. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, keeneek. Hoping here that I can sustain the drive to write more. :) I really going to the library, the serenity of just sitting there reading a book, and I won't notice the time that passed by. Anyway, hope you are doing well. Stay safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago