Lessons I Learnt From a Certain Popular Song.

4 27
  • Lead image by me.

Good evening, friends. How did your Tuesday go? Mine was cool, it rained and I was happy because of the cool breeze.

I was mostly busy though, today was so stressful that I barely had time to do anything for myself.

I kept thinking of what to write about, then my sister suddenly started playing this song and I had this aha moment.

Most of us know this song by now, it has been overused for TikTok videos, I got tired of it.

Can you guess the song at this point?

Yes, you're right, it's Kwaku the traveler by the musician, Black Sherrif.

If you haven't listened to it, please do.

I think the reason the song is so popular is that a lot of people can relate to the lyrics. I love songs with good and relatable lyrics.

Of course, I f*cked up
Who never f*ck up hands in the air, no hands?
Still, I can't believe
You know what I mean
I was young, what you expect from me?
It is what it is
But I keep going o
More like a rolling stone
Cause I have no stopping time
Can't nobody stop a man
Oh I keep going on
More like a rolling stone
Cause I have no stopping time
Can't nobody stop a man
No, I go dey run my race
I'm gonna keep my pace
Cause I really have no one to blame when I fall again
I can't stand this pain
I can't watch me fail

This part of the song I quoted is the part I can relate to the most and I guess that's the part a lot can relate to.

Lessons I learnt

1) Recognizing you've made a mistake is the first step to moving on. We're humans, we make mistakes, and it's understandable to a certain extent.

Refusing to acknowledge mistakes is a big problem, trying to pin mistakes on another person is also a big problem.

I know someone that would create a big mess and blame everyone except himself. He even gets angry when someone tells him that he's made a mistake. It's an attitude that won't get anyone far.

2) No one has the right to make you feel less about yourself because of your mistake. Once we accept our mistakes and faults, no other opinion should matter. We have to learn to tune out other people's derogatory comments to move on from them.

If we don't, we'll keep rethinking it and dwelling on it and it slows down our moving on.

I'm guilty of this, I'm working on myself though, I used to welcome every Tom, Dick, and Harry's opinion on certain mistakes I made.

I would face-palm, rethink the whole situation and accept those comments as facts. I then overthink the whole situation and hurt myself even more. I learnt to realize that those people are just people like me and they are entitled to their opinions. Dwelling on those opinions is the wrong thing to do.

3) Resilience. Don't let mistakes hold you back, rise from them, learn from them, and succeed despite those mistakes. Keep grinding, keep pushing, and it'll work out at the end of the day.

We can make those mistakes our stepping stone, everyone successful has their success story about the mistake they made about certain things, you could think about that too.

I know I do, when I make some mistakes, I think about when I'll be successful and how I'll make those mistakes part of my success story.

I know I'm digressing but this just made me remember all those motivational speakers that would come to my school to speak to us and we would believe them. Now, I just think about how gullible we were, they were probably hustlers looking to sell their motivational books to us the gullible humans.

I remember how we fell for it and bought those books that told us what we already knew.

I don't want to be that person that would have to lie for people to think I'm a great person.

The funny thing about this part of the song I got my lesson from is that people used that part of the song to justify the unjustifiable, you should really watch those Tiktok videos.

It's hilarious.

I choose to see the song in a positive light.

This is the part of my article where I show off my sponsors.

Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty

They're beautiful people, please do check them out😁


Thank you for reading🤗

April 12, 2022.

©Deeepensiverse.

4
$ 1.40
$ 1.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
+ 1
Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Deola the kwaku traveler 😂😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes oooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such lovely things you learnt from a song. You're right, learning to accept one's mistakes is the first step, not giving in to hurtful words from people Is another and trying not to dwell in such mistakes. I guess this is where those last lines come in. ,"Can't let me fail."

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago