Insecurities.

13 54
  • Lead image by me.

*Deeepensiverse signs in*

We all have insecurities; those features we have that make us feel inadequate, that quality that crumbles our self-confidence every time we think about it. It could be your height; you wished you were way taller, it could be your weight; your self-confidence dwindles as you think about the folds at your back and your stomach, your arm fat that gets in the way of wearing that nice armless top you got months back. It could be your stretch marks that seemed to appear on every part of your body. You probably wished you weren't skinny, your thin legs that you try so hard to hide, or wearing brassieres with foam because you feel your boobs are minute, or you avoided situations that made you not wear brassieres because your boobs aren't the standard perky ones.

It could be the size of your weeny that made you opt for enlargement creams which only seemed to drain your pocket rather than cause an increase in the supposed area. It could be your looks; you wished you were lighter in complexion, you wished you had smaller eyeballs or a smaller nose, a bigger lip, or that perfect hairline unlike yours which seemed to recede more every single day.

You wish you had money, they say money makes the ladies flock around you. You couldn't change your features but you could at least throw money around to be accepted and your lacks ignored.

We all hear motivational speakers talk about how embracing insecurities are vital and it shouldn't make us feel less of ourselves. We should stay strong despite the insults that might be hurled at us.

I agree with them, we should really do that but when are we going to talk about the real problem?

The bullies especially internet bullying, is famously called trolling. You would know what I mean if you use Twitter.

These people hurl insults and pick out faults in people bits by bits without regard for their feelings. Sometimes, I get the urge to shout "Do you realize you're talking to a human being with feelings? Not a doll"

All those slight comments you make jokingly actually hurt, they take a toll on their self-esteem. I know how this feels because I had a really low self-esteem growing up, comments made by people about my looks made me self-conscious a lot, I wanted to look a certain way and have a certain type of body.

It affected my confidence, I would always stammer when I spoke in public, I would always doubt myself. I would say to myself "Dee, you aren't this, you aren't that"

It took years for me to get over it and right now I'm in the process of building my confidence.

You have no idea how that slight comment can shatter a person. Preying on a person's insecurities isn't fun, it isn't being Savage, it's just being insensitive.

Sometimes, I see people make certain comments about me, I look at them and see various things I could make fun of about them but I just laugh it off because it's so not worth the disgusting way I feel after that.

When I was ten, I had just finished primary school and was attending a tutorial to prepare for secondary school. There was a boy there who usually picked on me, calling me blackie and hurling insults at me. I knew who he was, we both did, he was the son of one of the cleaners at my primary school, I guessed he probably lied about that in the tutorial centre. I felt it was stupid of him to insult me when he knew I could tell everyone who he was and he would be laughed at. The boy continued and I just swallowed it all in, there was a day that he went over the top, I got angry at him and reminded him that he shouldn't insult me when he was just a cleaner's son. They jeered at him, he looked at me spiteful and never talked to me again.

I thought he had it coming but then I regretted it a lot, I kept thinking about it. I wished I could rewind time so that I would ignore him and deal with the hurt by myself as usual.

He reported me to his mom, of course, and she told my mom. I apologized but I still wasn't sure if I did the right thing.

Rather than pick out people's insecurities, let's make conscious efforts to compliment someone from today. Let's make someone smile, "Hey, you look beautiful today". It won't take anything from us. Let's do better.

Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty
Please check them out🤗🤗🤗

Thank you @BCHouseVE for renewing your sponsorship.

You can check out my other articles here.

Thank you for reading🤗

©Deeepensiverse

December 12, 2021.

11
$ 3.11
$ 2.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Greatwolfman
+ 8
Sponsors of Deeepensiverse
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I used to feel very insecure especially when I was in secondary school. I was so conscious about my weight but later on I decided that I was bigger than that and moved on

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the spirit 💃💃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have lots of insecurities, but it was before. I learned to embrace my flaws and just live by it. I learned to become contented on what's with my me, especially my physical features. I seek own ways to improve it, little by little by not feeling envious on others. "We are beautiful! We just have to confident and believe that we are." "We are unique in different ways."

$ 0.01
2 years ago

👏👏👏, being envious or comparing ourselves to others causes low self-esteem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said it right.. We should learn to be contented on what we have. And focus on improving it in the next..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel only insensitive people as you've said would make a mole out of others imperfection especially that of their body. This trolling has lead many to commit suicide or lack self confidence.

What a wonderful and we'll written article. I had to check my dictionary for the meaning of "weeny" although I guessed right.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, people commit suicide cos of those statements. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I enjoyed this, I've always suffered from a lot of securities that affected me as a child, some still linger but I have learned to focus on the good because I believe everyone is perfect in their way, we are not born to please everyone but to live our best selfs

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, sometimes those things we call our insecurities makes us unique

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because of someone's insecurity it can turn him/ her into a person which is the worst and after mistakes to you or to me. Because of that we called sinner, for we put the attention to others, but the is BAD ATTENTION

$ 0.01
2 years ago

great success

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were young and i think ,at that age the best way one can fight back is by throwing harsh words back. I can understand how you felt after that, it happened to me once too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, that was the best way we thought to fight back

$ 0.00
2 years ago