Avatar for DavidRAllen
3 years ago

My Guiding Principles in Bitcoin Cash

In my 68 years, being able to determine who is nasty and who is nice, has helped me through the roughest of times, and certainly enhanced the good times.

When I got involved with Bitcoin a little over 7 years ago, it was not always obvious to me who was nasty or nice. People who hid behind fictitious names were most often the nasty ones, however that was not always the determining factor, as some people who used their real names could certainly stand on their soapbox condemning those of perceived lesser intellect.

Still, for the most part, I had no trouble figuring out who to stay away from. But as time went on, some folks whom I considered friends began to develop nasty streaks, or maybe it just became more obvious their flaws were seriously impacting their relationships with me and others. Many of my early Bitcoin contacts, through my involvement with the Bitcoin Foundation, Counterparty, and the Let's Talk Bitcoin network turned out to be a little more nasty than I would have thought possible, but then I was naive. I had figured that people who knew what bitcoin was about all shared similar values. I could not have been more wrong.

In those heady days of 2013-14, there was a sense that we were all learning about the Joy of Bitcoin and exploring the best ways forward. A few oddballs wanted to post unrelated fodder to set up an argument, but for the most part they were ignored and moderated in the same way you might remove someone from your home who decided to break objects or strike out at family members. Some of my favourite people went on to become unreasonably argumentative and even fanatical in their opinions, to the detriment of any further civilized discussion. If you went looking for trouble on social media it was guaranteed they would be there to drag you into their conflicts. Not everyone was a "Reasonable Person".

The role I took on in those early days, was as a helper, mostly to assist people to understand each other and express their concepts in positive ways, by bridging some of the communication gaps. As I was explaining to a non-cryptocurrency friend the other day, my success rate in the past four years has been about 40% due to the volatile nature and misogynist attitude of people in the space. Before I got involved with software programmers in Bitcoin, a communications success rate below 80% was totally unacceptable for me and I certainly could not have worked with a group where clear communication was not of the highest priority. Times and standards change, but striving for 100% effective communcations is always the goal.

The internet world has changed a lot in the last 30 years, slowly and sometimes painfully ignoring the importance of interpersonal relationships. However, video conferencing came along at the right time with the potential to open positive communication again. We push forward to maximize the effectiveness of the tools at our disposal. When people become nasty they seldom try to communicate. They remind me of the stupid, poorly raised kid throwing rocks from the overpass at cars below. They lash out as Anonymous Assholes under the guise of "I was just trolling" or "I need my privacy" as if their type of nasty behaviour has value. It never does, and mostly I feel sorry for the shallow lives of those whose only purpose is to bully others from behind a mask. But as someone named Gump might have said, "Nasty is as Nasty does", and even those using their real name can be toxic.

On the other hand, when I have noticed otherwise reasonable people spewing nonsense and attacking others, it has sometimes made sense to gather them into a Zoom call and see if a common ground can be determined. I have had the privilege of working with a lot of people who have something to offer and are interested in the success of Bitcoin, as a p2p cash. But an unfortunate pattern has developed where many people have the attitude of, "I am not talking to him, because it just wont make it any better and besides, he is wrong and I am right."

So I am reviewing my tool box and asking myself, "Where do I want to put my energy now, where I may be able to add value?" The video conferencing tools in Zoom are excellent and people who only want to fight can be easily identified and ignored.

You see enough of them in the everyday battle for control of the Bitcoin Cash Protocol. It is actually very easy to ignore them, if you don't hang out in their Social Media fortresses.

As I mentioned in my previous post, the time for building on Bitcoin Cash and SLP tokens is now. Find the people who are building interesting and forward thinking projects and offer to help them in any way you can. Stay positive, and ignore the assholes.

Read.cash is a great example of where you can put time and energy for a positive outcome. Many thanks to the team here who are putting Bitcoin Cash on the map.

For the coming week, let me leave you with this...

"Avoid loud and aggressive persons, for they are vexatious to the spirit. Never compare yourself with others. You may become vain or bitter, for there will be always greater and lesser persons than yourself. Enjoy your achievements, as well as your plans."

From Desiderata - written in 1927 by Max Ehrmann, writer and lawyer (1872-1945)

Peace,

David R. Allen

TheFutureofBitcoin.cash

18
$ 5.83
$ 2.00 from @micropresident
$ 1.00 from @Marco
$ 0.50 from @Cain
+ 12
Sponsors of DavidRAllen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DavidRAllen
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

What happened to the 200 BCH the community donated to your "General Development Fund" at the time called FVNI during Fundraise 2019 ? Do you think it's "nice" not to reply to any of my messages? I donated a big part of that, very dissapointed in you David R. Allen

$ 0.26
3 years ago

Imagine BCH breaking because of this person being salty at ABC for something, that wasn't even their mistake.

I pointed out miscommunications, others pointed out personal squabbles amplifying the contention. Such comments are exemplatory. just my 2 sats.

At this point I don't know if "sitting down and talking to DeMesel to clarify" is the right approach.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Isn't it a valid question? The guy donated (a significant amount) and wants to know what happened to the money... Why isn't it a reasonable question?

$ 1.03
3 years ago

I have not said, that it isn't a valid question. I know he raised that question countless times and I at this point suspect, that he simply doesn't want to accept an answer, that was made long ago. To the point of getting a nuisance that even as a potential donor was not worth it.

I emphasize on my previous comment: Events that were not the fault of ABC and lot of miscommunication and personal squabbles are at play here, at some point you simply ignore someone that doesn't want to get it.

His comment sounds like he never got an answer from anyone at ABC. But not knowing anything about what went on, I bet a dollar paid as read.cash tip, that they did take time to explain all that mattered to him and now don't deem it worthy to. Anyone, who can prove me otherwise in a comment below, will get that dollar.

In my (certainly subjective) opinion, he is trying to raise more suspicion with these kinds of comments. Not find the truth. We are way passed that it seems, anyway.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

he simply doesn't want to accept an answer, that was made long ago

Do you have a link to that answer? I assume Marc haven't heard it either.

$ 1.10
3 years ago

I don’t want to embarrass anyone, read.cash, so please feel free to contact me privately anytime with any questions about my history, personal commitments and tolerance for nasty people with power seeking agendas.

As much as I love read.cash, there is a time and place for everything. As my mother told me very early in life, “if you can’t say anything nice about anyone, don’t say anything at all.”

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thanks for the explanation!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Sorry, but did I call it or what?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't yet have an opinion on the situation. My interactions with Marc De Mesel were always very professional, so I'm a bit confused by the situation. I will contact David to hear his side of the story out of curiosity (if he would share it with me of course), but I won't discuss it publicly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure, I haven't expected or even asked for your opinion on that matter. I just wanted to make clear that it is kind of obvious, that there was more to that, then what such a comment would make people in your position think. Fwiw I wouldnt even say it's intentional. Because if it would be, well then... shit's got real.

I don't like shooting around here within the BCH circles and losing the support or tolerance of most of the people I was affiliated with over the last years, but I think it is important to make some things like that absolutely clear here. Especially when things seem to be pretty self-evident but not recognized by people, who I don't want to get duped.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What? :D We never interacted other than a video call a year before Fundraiser 2019 where you asked for funding and I declined but left with good impression of you.

On Fundraiser 2019 I discovered you were behind General Fund, and also had seen you on YouTube monthly developer updates so decided to donate big this time.

However, why you never replied to me, I don't understand. It was only later I started to speak up angrily, so where your bad impression of me came from?

Anyhow, I looked for answers and found this: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc/comments/f89tez/important_information_about_david_r_allen_and_his/

Do let read.cash or anyone else know what happened with the 200 BCH and why you never thanked not even the community in simple public statement?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sounds like zoom is your personal golden hammer (https://wiki.c2.com/?GoldenHammer). Perhaps the other tools collecting dust in your toolbox could help you get beyond the 40% figure.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the comment Dagur, however I am perhaps a bit thick and don’t really understand your comment. Zoom is just one of many tools I have used that lets me connect with people directly, in a respectful way, showing facial expressions and the nuance of voiced language and it’s intent.

Your implication that I have dusty tools in my tool box seems to imply that you think I am doing somethings in less than efficient ways. We have known each other for some time, and when I see a gap in this communication (as in I don’t know what you mean, but want to know quickly and easily) I simply pull out the tool that seems to be best used for the job.

I am the first to admit that I can be (and often have been) wrong.

Much of what has kept me quiet on social media these last 7 years, is knowing that words alone are often not enough to create understanding, especially in tense situations.

This (read.cash) is my attempt at using another tool which I can appreciate, that aids in communication, and it seems to be working now as we have not spoken for some time.

David

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Note: I found another tool in my kit, Telegram.org which resulted in a pleasant conversation with an old friend.

Thanks for the private chat, Dagur. As with most things we can sort out our misunderstandings easily with one-on-one conversations, regardless of the medium, and in this case, my misunderstanding required a little extra effort to sort out a proper reply.

I didn't realize that there were people in particular groups who saw themselves as the focus of my "Anonymous Asshole" comment. (If I was a prick I would say "If the shoe fits...") It was intended to be much more general, although I will admit I have had negative thoughts about at least someone in every group since I got involved with Bitcoin. Fortunately most of the experiences with have been positive.

The people who rail on others before attempting to understand the motives or situation, fit the "Anonymous Asshole" category. Not because they don't want to attend a zoom meeting. I have never held that against anyone. Freedom to participate or not. Freedom to be private in your thoughts. Basic human rights, right?

The people I was suggesting be ignored were not those who failed to participate, but those who make no attempt to understand. You know who you are :-)

Looking back at what I wrote, I see I could have been a lot clearer, and my only excuse is not enough writing practice. I will try harder.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the article, it was nice to read! The great positive effect of read.cash is that here people share their thoughts and knowledge and there is no need to challenge or troll someone. He collects intellectual people. They don’t have time for stupid arguments.

$ 0.50
3 years ago

Thank you for your kind words. It has been a Ƀit of a challenge for me to become more public, but I think it is now required that anyone who actually builds on BCH should receive positive attention, and those that want to focus on the failure of others to make themselves look good may be better off in another sandbox where throwing sand is the norm.

Let’s continue the journey towards inexpensive fast global peer to peer digital cash together.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As I mentioned in my previous post, the time for building on Bitcoin Cash and SLP tokens is now. Find the people who are building interesting and forward thinking projects and offer to help them in any way you can. Stay positive, and ignore the assholes.

Great advice :) I do agree that this is the best time build and help others rather than watch on their debates over their social media accounts which is frustrating.

$ 0.50
3 years ago

Thanks for you comment. It highlighted a typo I was able to change in the original. "pervious" (adjective (of a substance) allowing water to pass through; permeable) should have been "previous".

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I changed my comment too... I didn't even notice that...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have been really helpful, and always very diplomatic in the BCH teleg chat, keeping it professional. Great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you but I must admit, I have succumbed to the pressure of the weasels on occasion, and lost my cool. Oh, the joys of being human and of course flawed. One can only hope we are all getting better and learning as we go.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Honestly, these days I find people that have opted to stick behind a pseudonym are a lot nicer than most. Might just be the groups I run in though.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for your comment: I can’t disagree as there are plenty of people who provide value who choose to hide behind a pseudonym rather than expose themselves personally to the nasty folk. I could have been clearer by saying that not everyone who stays anonymous is an asshole, but then now I have said it.

In an upcoming article I will dox myself further with a story of how and why using a pseudonym and not being in the limelight has had some distinct advantages when I want to get things done.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate your energy in the crypto space, David!

$ 0.50
3 years ago

Thank you Naomi. I hope to continue to contribute for another 68 years. Lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago