Wrong Suitcase

16 57
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Hello wonderful people. I started my day with mixed feelings. My little brother is travelling today and I feel a bit down. I really don't want him to go, I'll miss him so much. We stayed up till midnight last night talking. He was mainly asking me about things and general and what I will get for him when he gets back. I promised to get him things I know I can afford and he was happy. He's my partner in crime at home. Even when we have disagreements, they never last. Whenever I tell him not to disturb me, he should "I'll disturb you!" and it'll make me laugh. He's really nice, hardworking and very generous. Whatever he has, even if I bought it for him, he'll always try to share it with me. I'll miss his behaviours both good and bad, his kindness and his personality. He is the kind of person who keeps a home lively. I'm looking forward to when he'll be back to disturb me again.

Well, enough about my brother. I noticed I usually try to write stories on Saturdays. I don't know when I formed that pattern lol. I didn't write one yesterday so I decided to do it today. I looked for prompts online and I settled for this one "it all happened when I accidentally picked the wrong suitcase at the airport"

____________________________

It was the day I had waited for, I was going to start a new life. I got the job offer 7 weeks after I had applied. We went through a rigorous series of interviews, tests and other forms of verification. I didn't think I was going to get it. So much time had passed and I was losing hope. Besides, it was a big job. The pay was good too. So good that I was willing to move across the state for the job.

I remember I was in shock when I got the call that I had passed the interviews. I checked my mail and saw the new message in my inbox congratulating me with my offer letter attached. I stared at the message for a while and I read it again and again just to be sure that my eyes we're seeing what they were looking at. I was so excited, I couldn't even eat I called my friends to inform them and they were happy for me.

Before traveling, I made preparations for things I would need. My mum prayed for me and wished me success in my journey. Together, we went to the market to get things I will travel with. I got some essentials like clothes and some rare food stuff which may not be available in the state I was moving to. I carefully packed my necessary documents, means of identification, clothes, shoes, and cash. The company had offered me a place to stay. I never planned to stay there forever, maybe till I save enough and am able to get myself another place.

My mum insisted I got to the airport 2 hours earlier. It was a cold morning but I went there and waited till it was time to board the plane. The flight only lasted an hour while normally, it would have cost me eight hours if I had taken a bus, good thing the company decided to sponsor the trip. I got to baggage claim and was excited when I saw my bag immediately. I grabbed it and headed out. A taxi was waiting for me and I was taken to the company's lodge. It was a cozy space. Although, it was small and only had necessary furniture like a table, few chairs, mattress etc, I still liked it.

I had to report to the office in the next hour which was in the next building. I was to be shown around and granted the necessary emoloyee access against the next day; my official start of work. I needed to take my bath and change my clothes so I opened my suitcase and what stared at me was male boxers, hair clipper and some other masculine clothes. It was obviously the wrong bag. My palm became sweaty and I started freaking out. How do I explain that I had no clothes. I was wearing a pink spongebob hoodie and shorts.

Ding! My phone went off, my 30mins reminder. I had spent so much time freaking out that I didn't have enough time to get ready. I searched for a body soap in the bag and surprisingly, there was a good one there and I took a quick bath with it. I wore one of the oversized shirts, tucked it in an equally oversized pants. I had folded each legs of the pants and ironed it hoping it would stay still. It ended up looking like a malformed palazzo pant. I picked up the big suit which went down to my knee when I wore it. I decided to hold it in my hands only to put it on if they insist. I topped my bad dressing up with the sneakers I travelled with and ran to the office.

In the elevator, someone rushed in before the door closed. He was wearing a red feminine blouse which could pass for a crop top and a tight pant. He looked even worse than me! I was so happy that I wasn't alone until I realised those were my clothes!

I think I'll end it here. Remember, this is fiction.

8
$ 1.75
$ 1.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I imagined the wholes scenes and wanted to see a picture of you looked on the dress.

Fictioned🧐

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it's fiction. I have the image in my head lol but I can't find anything that really depicts it online

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Once when I was going for a walk, something like this happened to me. I left with someone else's suitcase. next part please.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 Were you able to return it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your brother's journey is also fiction or just your story afterwards.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just the story afterwards

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe, I knew it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No no.... Please continue. It's getting interesting

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 You like gist

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣 Perhaps fate would bring both of you together. It will look so funny when both of you later find out you guys switched suitcase. Can you just continue this story? 😃

Your bro is just like my younger brother too. Very lively and respectful too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 Imagine showing up in each others clothes Aww, God bless your brother

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shey you will not be writing TV movie like this.. And I like your bro already

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 Come and hire me. Yeah, my bro is really cool but he can disturb eh. Although, I now miss that disturbance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats you get your suitcase back to you. I laughed at the word male boxers hahahah..... Moreover.. Prayed for your brother's success in life... Keep rocking

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, Rashid!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago