Tips to Overcome Creative Block

18 29
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Good day everyone! How is it going? I hope you're all having a great day. My network provider and my back are out to get me today but I'm not going to let them bring me down because its a beautiful day.

This morning started with work. I had some ideas for the project we are currently working on, and I quickly had to put them down before our presentation this morning. I was supposed to come up with the ideas yesterday evening, but you can't really put a timing on creativity. At first, I thought hard about what to do but nothing was coming to me, so I turned off my devices and decided to do other things. I had a long phone call that cleared my head and prepared me mentally for this morning. The moment I woke up, the ideas came to me, and I immediately put them down in a document. I knew my brain wouldn't fail me, I just needed to relax and so any other thing except work.

Who else have ever been in a creative rut? Maybe, writers block, the inability to conceive new or good ideas, lack of inspirationetc? Today, I'll be giving us tips that will help us overcome our creative rut.

  • TAKE A BREAK

One thing that definitely helps is to take a break from whatever you're trying to do and come back later to the project with a fresh mindset. I've noticed how in the heat of the moment, I easily make mistakes but when I abandon a project for a few hours, I'm usually able to spot mistakes and develop new ideas. The timing for a break is dependent on you, it could be minutes, hours or even days. And there are several things to do while on a break such as taking a nap. A nap let's you get the rest your body needs and keeps you more calm and relaxed. Exercise also helps you in similar ways and it helps your thinking process.

  • TRY SOMETHING NEW

While taking a break, this is the opportunity to try something new. Trying something we haven't done before gives us new experiences and enable us to have a different perspective on situations. The new experience can also provide the idea you need. The taste of a new meal, a new sport or activity, watching a new movie, trying out a new product, these things can broaden your mind as you undergo these new experiences.

  • CHANGE YOUR ENVIRONMENT

A change of environment have helped make significant changes in mindset on different occasions. When I write, I often find that in some locations, I'm usually overwhelmed with an inflow of ideas. Imagine being in a place where children are running about, traders are selling their wares, cars are passing or a place where there is silence except the sound of the wind and the twinkling of the night stars. It's quite surprising how you'll be able to take ideas from your environment or how you'll feel calm enough to expand your creative thinking.

  • ELIMINATE DISTRACTIONS

Sometimes, we're unable to come up with good ideas because we let ourselves be distracted while working. For me, it is my phone that distracts me. I'll want to check social media or do something else rather than work. If you start to lose focus on your work, you may forget your train of thought or creative process. There are times when I start with an idea but I don't follow through because I let myself be distracted. By the time I'm ready to continue, I may not remember why I was doing something a particular way. So, to clear distractions, keep your phone away, turn off the TV, stay alone or someplace where you won't be disturbed by the people around, just do away with whatever you think may distract you and it should help you gain more focus.

And most importantly, don't think about it. The most likely thing we do when we're in a creative rut is that we think too much but it is not a problem that is usually solved by thinking (at least, not in that moment). So, stop fixating on the problem and the solution or ideas to get the solution will come to you.

Thank you for reading! You're amazing!

11
$ 2.71
$ 2.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 5
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

If something doesn't work out there are a lot of things we can try out and we can perfect it but sometimes we don't want that because we want to follow the footsteps of our friends

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope that with all these alternatives you can open your creative thinking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, they do help

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I most times get my writing ideas from everywhere, especially where the another person had stopped or left ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha that's good too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wowwwwww have been distracted lately not knowing what to write but going through your article help me out Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm really happy my article helped! Thank you for reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why do I feel like you are talking me 😏😏daria well done o

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 Come and defend yourself

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm innocent of all allegations😐😐

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is me, If I'm having a writers block, I usually leave the scene and walk around, then a nice idea would pop up waving at me. Something new...yeah it works too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I do that too!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all need your pointers for us to come up with a good topic thanks, friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Cleophia! I'm glad these tips can help

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your tips are great and effective too. Thanks for giving these amazing tips to us. You have described the tips wonderfully and in a easy way. Hope that new users gets a lot of helps from your article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Rezanur! I'm happy you think so

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are always welcome my dear helpful friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago