The Journey Through Hell

20 34
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Hey, why don't I tell you guys about the most stressful road trip I ever had.

It was December 2020, I traveled with my mum back to our hometown for Christmas. We boarded a commercial bus at the park as early as 6 a.m. but there was a delay, so we didn't leave on time. While we were at the park waiting, I got hungry. I usually don't eat whenever I'm traveling because I do get motion sickness, but I was so hungry I felt I couldn't wait for another 6 to 8 hours before eating. So, my Mum and I got something to eat. I usually I usually avoid eating while traveling long distance because the motion sickness makes me nauseous and when it's really bad I may actually throw up. I haven't thrown up in a long time and I always tried to avoid it; it's a very uncomfortable feeling feeling nauseous for hours while other people are eating different kind of food that makes you want to throw up or the smell of their perfume disturbs your stomach. I ate very little that morning so that I would have something in my stomach.

While at the park, we watched people selling their wares at increased prices because they knew people would not want to leave the park to go outside because their buses could leave without them. When we finally got on the road, I was not happy that there was a delay, but I was glad that we were finally moving, and I couldn't wait to get to our destination. The journey was cut short when after a 15-minute drive, the driver pulled into a workshop and said he had to work on his bus. I was so pissed that he waited till he had passengers in his car before deciding to work on it; he didn't work on it the previous day, or while we were at the park waiting, he decided to work on his car while he was carrying passengers on a long-distance road trip. During trips like this, it is unusual for buses to stop until they are at designated locations like when they get halfway, the buses usually stop for people to get something to eat, but that day we stopped, 15 minutes into the journey, we came down from the bus with nowhere to sit.

We were at the place for over an hour before we got back on the road again. Having spent so much time on the road, we encountered traffic almost immediately. We were met with people who we are hurrying to their different places of work or wherever they had to be, and the road was jammed. The traffic was so bad that even people couldn't pass through it. I got so tired sitting I decided to put my head on my legs and I slept off. Because we had to wake up early to get ready and go to the park that morning, I was still a bit sleepy especially with the fact that I didn't even sleep early the previous night.

When I woke up, I expected that we would be in another place, but to my surprise we were still in the same spot we were in before I slept off. I was so confused I asked my mum what was going on, and she told me we were still stuck in traffic. The traffic lasted for several hours. My Dad later called to ask us if we had gotten to our destination, and I told him that we were still stuck and haven't left the state. He was furious after I explained everything that happened. It wasn't till about 2 or 3 p.m. before we are able to leave the traffic. Remember, this journey was supposed to last for 6 to 8 hours, and we had spent a lots of hours on what was supposed to last for 1 hour, so, we still had a lot of time ahead of us.

When the road became clear, the driver, in his bid to meet up with time, started speeding. He was moving so fast that people were holding on to their seats tightly and screaming. Somehow I enjoyed the speed of the ride, and I hate to admit it but it was thrilling for me. But no matter how thrilling it is was, there was always also the chance of getting in an accident. The women in the bus screamed at the driver and told him to reduce his speed. The driver then got pissed and told the women that if they wanted him to reduce the speed, he would reduce its so bad that we would sleep on the road. True to his words, he slowed down so much that a lot of cars were breezing past us.

It wasn't until 11:30 p.m. before we got to our destination car park. It was too late for us to find a very cab at the park to take us home so we had to spend the night there. There were other travelers who had arrived late there and everyone was cautious my mum and I took shifts to sleep I couldn't even sleep until 4 a.m. and by 5 a.m. my Mum woke me up and we boarded a cab home.

I think that was by far my most stressful journey. Kindly let me know yours in the comments and don't forget to subscribe. Thank you!

6
$ 1.66
$ 1.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Jerrysavage00
+ 6
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Traffic can be so frustrating sometimes and all you can do is just be angry because I have been in a similar situation before

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's really frustrating

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was exhausted just by reading through this pot omg... you must have felt very dizzy and tierd..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I was. I was so tired and fatigued and I felt a bit sick

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please take rest :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is why I never took a bus again to go home in thw province after I experiences to much delay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Delays are annoying

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is! Its so tiring to have a long travels

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just traveled from Lagos to ilorin and I can relate very well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, that must have been hectic

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes o it was very hectic, I wrote about it recently

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh really, let me check it out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😁😬😅OK boss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stay safe un traveling and bring some emergency staff while traveling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Klarisse!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too I don't like a long travel, I feel dizzy and vomit inside the bus, I don't know why especially when we encountered heavy traffic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I feel the same way. It's really uncomfortable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I encountered this same thing when I travelled to Lagos from Delta State. The traffic delay was madddd coupled by the breakdown of vehicle. But I don't know why people don't like speeding 🤗,I loved it When the driver was flying in speed to meet up. I was feeling super then 🤸

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 Finally, someone who loves speeding vehicles. It's very exciting watching everything move past and getting to your destination in record time

$ 0.00
2 years ago