The Boat Cruise

10 14
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Dera tried on the new shorts she had bought, they fit snuggly on her body like it was made just for her. She crossed her legs and struck a posein front of the mirror, admiring her outfit (or lack of it)

"Ada, we're going to have so much fun on this cruise," she said to me as I laid down on the bed still clutching my bathrobe.

Two days ago, Dera excitedly ran into our shared room jumping around and filled with smiles as she yelled continuously,

"We got in! We got in!"

Knowing Dera, she only got excited when there was a party or an event. When she even got her first B in her result, she didn't show much emotions especially for someone whose highest score was usually a C.

After what seemed like hours of jumping, she finally told me about the exclusive boat cruise organised by one of the rich students for his birthday. She managed to convince him somehow to grant her two passes. While she told me this story, I felt it was odd. Despite being roommates, Dera and I were like two opposites. We're able to coexist by not interfering in the other's personal or social life. So, it was odd that she would try that hard to get a a ticket for the birthday.

"You got me a pass, why? What's the catch?" I asked with raised eyebrows

"I remember you saying you had never been on a boat and since this is our last year, I thought it would be nice for us to do something together."

I instantly felt bad for being rude to her when she was only trying to be nice. Despite our different lifestyles, Dera wasn't a horrible person. Even though people said she was, I never really saw her do anything terrible to anyone. I know she started the rumour about Clara but it wasn't her intention for it to travel that far.

Dera went all out with her preparations buying new outfits for the cruise and paying a makeup artist to do her makeup. I took my bath and laid on the bed, chatting with my friends about my expectations for the birthday event.

"Ada, get dressed so we won't be too late,"

"Aren't we already late though?" I asked

"Yes, we're just the right amount of late for it to be fashionable."

I smiled. Dera always had weird rules she lived by and I always found them funny and sometimes, ridiculous.

At the boat cruise, I felt a little out of place. There was an abundance of drinks and about the same amount of drunk people. I couldn't find Dera so I took myself to the deck to watch the ocean. It was deserted as It was getting late and most people had gone inside. The ocean was getting more agitated but not enough to cause any damage. I observed how the water seemed unending and wondered how the it wend and what laid beyond the horizon.

I was still lost in my thoughts when I saw Dera stumbling towards me. She had obviously had enough to drink so I walked towards her and together, we observed the ocean.

"You're right where I want you, you know?" Dera said with a giggle. She had the tendency to say wierd things when she had had too much to drink.

"Yeah, you invited me, remember?" I asked, smiling back at her.

"I know, just like you invited Tobi to library at night with you haha. I wonder if it was just to study."

"Err, I'm confused. Is that a problem?" I asked with a waning smile

"Yeah, you see, I kinda like him and now he likes you. Fun fact, do you know that if someone who can't swim mistakenly falls off this boat, they'll probably not make it? Haha, can you swim Ada?"

She said those words so calmly that it sent chills to my bones. I began to retreat, putting each step behind the other. She followed me in the same manner with a creepy smile on her face.

"I'm physically stronger than you, all it'll take will be one push. No one will ever notice you're missing. At least, not till Monday. I'll probably be the one to make the report, I'll lead a search team and I'll write a beautiful eulogy for your funeral."

As she spoke, her frown slowly changed into a frown and her voice showed so much hate and determination. I had no other choice but to run while yelling for help.

She ran after me and pushed me down to the edge, I cried even louder for help as I struggled with her. Her grip was so strong, she held my neck making me struggle to breath. I could feel myself losing my strength and I begged God to spare my life. I kicked, pushed, thrashed but I was fighting a losing battle. It wasn't long until I felt my leg slip making me fall over. I braced myself for impact. As I awaited the contact with the cold water, I felt a strong thug. Someone caught me.

The birthday boy whose name I still didn't know had heard my screams as he was strolling on the deck. He ran towards the noise and was there just in time to save me. With some struggle, he pulled me up while Dera sat on the floor sobbing.

The overnight celebration was cut short and we were back on the shore in no time where the police took Dera away.

8
$ 1.61
$ 1.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Jeeeez😴😴. Matter of life and death and it look like a play. Haaaa!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shey you will finish the story or you will allow me to be thinking of how it end. But this is a wonderful write up, aha, I had all the pictures on my head, I was thinking it was your story from the start how you enjoy a boat cruise with dem girls

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, it's fiction oh, it's not me they will try to kill lol. Let your imagination do the rest lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's mystery genre. Have questions in mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What are your questions?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to do the story, however, what kind of story it takes how to do such stories. I'm trying to understand why he's planning to kill him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She wanted to kill her because the boy she liked likes the other girl

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still do not understand this: does this mean Dera hates Ada? Why did she planned killing her friend she invited to a party? Was her intention to throw her into the ocean? Why would she do such thing? 😔😔 This means no one is to be trusted oo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, those were her intentions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago