The Blessed Child (A Short Story)

14 51
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago
Date: 21st of March, 2022.

If you are reading this, how are you doing? Today is the 21st of March, the international world Downs syndrome day. Downs syndrome is caused by the tripling of the 21st chromosome which is why it is celebrated on 3/21 every year. Other people have just 2 out the chromosome but people with Down syndrome have three. The extra chromosome is nicknamed the love chromosome because people with Down syndrome are the loveliest people you will ever meet. Having them in your life is like having someone with constant love and joy that is so infectious and therapeutic. To celebrate Downs syndrome day, we wear bright colourful and playful socks. Happy International World Down Syndrome Day! #LotsOfSock #InclusionMeans

I don't really know how I feel about today in general though and I don't really know what to write bout I think I'll write a fictional story. Here it goes:

In my family, I am the third daughter. I come from a tribe rich in customs, beautiful traditions, as well as strong superstitions. In my custom, the third daughter is believed to belong to the gods. She is considered special and sacred. All through her growing up, she is to be fed, pampered and we'll groomed for her big departure. The big departure is the day the girl leaves her earthly family to be with the gods.

As a child, my mother took care of me like I was an egg that must not be harmed. She ensured that I had no scratches or blemishes. At school, my classmates envied me and other third daughters like me. Was I uncomfortable about it? Maybe a little. It was my reality, it was all I knew. I was used to having other kids dislike me because I was treated better than them. Mama would feed me first before feeding the rest, even my younger brother. I got the biggest piece of meat in the pot, and mama always ensured I was full before dishing out seconds to whoever wanted them. Whenever we went to the local school with our slates and white chalk that stained the nylon bag we used as school bags, I would walk in the middle of my siblings to ensure no harm came to me, after all, I was the daughter of the gods.

I don't know what I did to be so lucky to be born as the third daughter. Although, mama said it wasn't luck. She explained that I lived amongst the gods and I have come to bless my household. I remembered looking around to find any traces of blessings in my family because I knew we were not rich and were even barely comfortable. We were tilting between the edges of living for sustenance and abject poverty but despite how much we lacked, mama and papa still spent a lot of money to take care of me.

As I grew older, I started to realise that what was normal for me wasn't necessarily fair to others. My siblings would walk under the scorching sun to the stream while I sat back at home to ensure I didn't get sunburnt or fatigued. It was during one of these trips that I watched as my little brother balanced the oversized bucket in his little while wobbling with each step he took as he approached the house that my heart broke. I was starting to see that things were unfair to others and that my parents had put in all they had, including their savings into making sure I was living well while my siblings fed off scraps. When I brought it up to my mother, she shunned me and accused me of trying to take her blessings away.

One day, I enquired about the blessings and how I was supposed to hive it to them and my mum told me that on my 16th birthday, I would be taken to the village shrine where I would be beautified with clay and marked with calabash chalk in preparation for my divine departure. She told me I would go to a place where there is only joy, a place where I would sit in the table with immortals and have unending feasts, a beautiful place reserved for only a few. It is after my departure that the family's blessings would begin to flow. I marvelled at the thought of travelling to this paradise she talked of and I looked forward to it.

The day eventually came on my 16th birthday. That night, I was taken to the shrine and just as mama said, I was highly beautified and I glowed. The chief priest said some incantations before asking my family to leave. Mama cried as she hugged me and papa stayed sullen and silent. I didn't understand why they were crying because I thought I would be back with many blessings but I was wrong.

After they left, the chief priest resumed his incantations and sprayed some powder on my face which made me dizzy. As I felt my body begin to weaken and my eyes began to close, I noticed the bloodied machete the chief priest wielded. As my body was slowly reaching the floor, he raised his weapon to strike a fatal blow. With the adrenaline that comes with the innate need for survival, I dodged the blow and took to my heels. The old man could only chase me as far as his weak knees could carry him. As I ran, I begged my family for their forgiveness as they would continue to live in poverty, I prayed to the gods to have mercy as I didn't want to join them like this and I muttered to myself to keep going and never stop till the moon gave way to the sun.

The end!

(Fiction)

Thank you all for reading! And thank you so much @fantagira the salsa goddess for renewing your sponsorship!!

9
$ 1.60
$ 1.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 6
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Oh God, I’m happy it was a fiction! 🙈 And Im always happy to sponsor good writers 💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much!! I really appreciate you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I know the name of that nature, is that not ogbanje? The spirit from the waters. Lol. I've longed to see a real mami-water, the black skinned ones not the bleached ones.🤣🤣.

Nice story 🎉

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 I need to see the dark-skinned ones too oh. The ones in Nollywood are always very fair while they leave the dark-skinned ones to be ordinary witches lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please, just tell me the story I just finish reading is fiction and not really yours😨😮

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, it's fiction oh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You almost gave me a heart attack

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, sorry. Heart attack cannot kill you lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Who tell you it can not till, I have see it on tv. You will just hold your chest and peme

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 Stop watching African magic

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have been hearing about down syndrome but I haven't really read about it, I had to go research on it now and I learnt quite a lot about it. But this story is crazy sha, at first I thought it was something that happened to you but later on I just realized it isn't your story because it's just too crazy 😆

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 I should probably include that it's fiction

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please tell me this is fictional. Like something they would act in Nollywood 😅. It is a good and captivating Story

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it is fiction. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago