Power Rangers Absurdities

16 27
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Good day wonderful people. How is your day going so far? Mine is going well. I have a lot of work to do but I'm not worried, it's something I can finish once I concentrate, which I'll be doing now. For some reasons, I woke up feeling sleepy and I think it's because I spent a lot of time working yesterday on several things that I didn't feel rested, so today I'll make sure to rest. Also yesterday, I got 500 views. It may not be a lot to most people but it's a mile stone for me and I want to thank everyone here who has made that possible. I love you guys!

Screenshot from read.cash

My little brother has a habit of watching power rangers. He has so many different power rangers series from power rangers mighty morphine, power rangers samurai and power rangers mega force with the OG theme song (Go go power rangers!), power rangers space patrol Delta (SPD), power rangers Dino thunder (I can't remember) etc.

Power rangers is a show I enjoyed watching as a child. I loved how the teenagers had a device that changed their normal clothes to their rangers costume after they yell some chants and do some moves. They even have vehicles that when put together, can form a giant robot like The Transformers. The giant robots is usually used to fight biggerband stronger monsters and the rangers always had a master to guide them on their quests. One unique thing about the power rangers is the colours. Each ranger is identified by a colour and that colour will also be the colour of their rangers gear, vehicles etc.

As a child, we had different rangers we wanted to be like. My close friend wanted the pink ranger and I wanted the red or black ranger. The red ranger was always the leader of the group and the black ranger, though very rare, was considerably the strongest power ranger of the series we was watching at the time. My younger brother wanted to be blue and he would wear his blue shirt and trouser to that effect.

Now, watching the different power rangers franchise as an adult, I'm realising just how ridiculous so many things are and I wonder how I didn't notice them as a child. I figured the things I consider ridiculous now were probably the things that appealed to me as a child and to other children currently. The ridiculous things include:

  • MORPH TIME: Changing into their robot-like costume is usually called morphing. They yell some things like "Red ranger activate..." or so, I don't remember. The transformation process usually takes a little while. They make some exaggerated moves with their hands and legs, bright light engulfs them and they show the change into their fighting suit. This is shown for all the rangers and while this is happening, the monsters they are fighting would stand patiently, waiting for them to transform one by one before attacking. What's worse is when the transformation happens in the middle of a battle, the monsters who were trained by good parents do the polite thing and let them finish their Morph sequence. I assume the monsters are usually like "oh, you want to change and also get your weapon? Oh, that's alright. Even if our main goal is to kill you, we'll be kind enough to wait for you to get your weapons in order to make our jobs harder." Who wouldn't love that lol. It's just ridiculous to watch the actively fighting monsters take a step back, yelling and staggering for several minutes till, waiting for the rangers to finish dressing up and looking pretty for the gram.

  • SHOTS:

    If you've watched power rangers, you'll notice how no one ever really dies during a battle, they don't even get slightly injured. This is because both the power rangers and the monsters never make an accurate shot. No matter how close the target is, they will still shoot just in front of or before the target, making the target fly or fall forward, sometimes in slow motion. We're led to believe the power rangers spend their whole lives preparing to defend their planet, yet they didn't learn the basics of shooting or throwing weapons? They just go out there wasting time, energy and weapons. They eventually do get rid of the monsters but that's after they've used up what I assume will be more than half of their ammunition. I believe this is done not to showcase a large extent of violence to kids who are watching. No matter how ridiculous it may seem, I believe it works.

That's all folks! Thank you so much for reading!

(lead image from unsplash.com)

9
$ 1.77
$ 1.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 4
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I watched a lot of power rangers when I was younger, courtesy of my younger brother who was obsessed with them. I enjoyed watching them back then, but a after a while I started seeing the different flaws they have, especially that morphing time, that thing takes over 5 minutes and the monster will just be patiently watching. Another crazy absurdity is that they don't bleed 💀 even when they are heavily hit by a monster, all you see is electrical sparks, even when their uniforms are just regular clothes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 It feels like the morphing takes a whole year! That's true, they never bleed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol... Really funny stuff happening in power rangers... The morph time was really funny too me too...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's just ridiculous lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think anyone that didn't watch power ranger while growing up especially the males born in the 90s, well....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 Something must be wrong somewhere if they didn't watch it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When my son was little he never stopped watching these power rangers. And I must have watched them too along with him 😀.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, it's interesting to watch for kids

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My son knows a lot more about these than I do. My son sees Power Rangers, and now I see Power Rangers with him. And I like it fairly well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, kids love it, it's actually fun to watch

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My favorite 😍😍Power Rangers. Even today I let my kids watched it too so they will have a glimpse of what my favorite was when I was young...Btw, congrats for the 500 views

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, it was so much fun watching it when I was younger, now my brother watches it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah mine too, me and my siblings has our own favorite in those power rangers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's cool haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My childhood 😍 You just sparked the memories of childhood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 You watched power rangers too! So much fun

$ 0.00
2 years ago