My SlumBook

21 36
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Good day from a tired and sleep deprived person. One thing I'm sure I need now is cuddles and sleep. I'm going to work really hard this morning so I can finish earlier and get some rest. I doubt I'll be able to sleep but I'll lay down till my next meeting with my colleagues in the evening. I hope everyone's day is going well, if not, how can I help?

I remember in secondary school, we filled slum books giving informations about ourselves with slangs and quotes we thought were cool at the time. We even went further to design the books and people who filled each pages also gave the pages their own unique designs. I didn't keep a slum book but I enjoyed reading from the ones I filled (if the owners were fine with it). Sometimes, a slum book was usually the easiest way to know about your crush (wink) and "I read a slum book you filled" was usually a a surprisingly good conversation starter then. While I didn't have one myself, during our last days, I made a sign out book (or something) instead. People designed their nicknames and the pages, some added a few quotes; it was like graffiti in a book and it was beautiful.

I was proud of myself for coming up with it because people who didn't feel comfortable sharing about themselves really liked the option of just signing their names and being as creative with their page as they wanted without restrictions. Those who weren't artistic also wanted to give it a go and try. There were even people who practiced their designs on a sheet of paper before transferring to the book and others who returned to touch up their pages with new designs or shadings. It was really fun.

So today, I have decided to write my own slum book and talk about myself just a little bit. Here goes:

  1. Name: Daria. It's meaning in translation varies but are similar such as royal or kingly wealth, owner of goodness, prosperous, maintainer of riches or possessions, God's gift. It is the female version of the name Darius. This is the name given to me at baptism after Saint Daria whose feast is celebrated two days before my birthday. I like that it is a rare name. In my country, I've never met my namesake. Fun fact: St Daria, before she was martyred, was once protected by a lioness from being forced to live as a prostitute.

  2. Country: As I've mentioned before, I'm from Nigeria. I belong to one of the popular tribes (Igbo). The Igbo people are known to be business savvy, industrious and well spread out. Igbo people travel a lot and will work anywhere as long as it's going to better them or their families. Most Igbo people have been/lived in other states and province apart from the East where we're from. We have a lot of festivals and foods and we have really strong cultural practices. Fun fact: The name "Igbo" is sometimes corrupted by some people as Ibo which has no meaning and is a word that doesn't exist in our language.

  1. Last movie I saw: I watch more series than movies. The last series I watched was "How I Met Your Father". I watched how I met your mother a long time ago and I was surprised to see this. Out of curiosity, I watched the first episode just some hours ago. It makes use of the same the song as the older series and the house where the previous characters lived is also used in this series. I can't judge how good it'll be yet, but I'm hopeful. I'll watch more episodes to find out. Fun fact: Other series I recently watched are Euphoria, Bob Hearts Abishola, Black-ish, Young Sheldon and The Neighborhood.

  2. Favourite Colour: I have five favourite colours and they are Black, black, black, purple and red. I don't know if I mentioned it earlier but I love black haha. "Black is such a happy colour". Black just gives you the opportunity to be creative with other colours, be adventurous and daring. It also gives you the chance to hide in the background when you don't want to be out there. Of course, my phone is in dark mode and so is my read.cash. As if my body agrees with me, I have astigmatism that hurts my eyes when I'm exposed to light that is too bright, so my glasses are tinted. I emplore you Al to join me and embrace the dark side muhahaha!

That is all for today. Please share about yourself too, I'll to read and get to know you all.

11
$ 2.00
$ 1.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 8
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This is my first time knowing that you're from Nigeria. My most favorite color is black too. Nice to meet you Daria

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's awesome, black rules!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I absolutely love your name Daria, gives me "brave" like person vibes.. and heyyyyyy, Black is favorite colour too.. anybody's who's fav colour is black is my soul mate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, thank you Yay!!! Black lovers!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really only have myopia problems and I love colors. I love black at night to sleep the rest I love all colors!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, people with astigmatism can have myopia too. They actually have it most times

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I had both all my life but now I only have presbyopia which is not even myopia. I say this in relation to visual problems that have nothing to do with color appreciation such as color blindness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh OK

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never knew you were from Nigeria, Igbo to be precisely. Nice to know you as a Nigerian

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, yes I am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first I thought Daria is a nick, so it's really your name from baptism....100% foreign. Igbo and Ibo, to be sincere I hate to here People pronounce or spell that. The worst is that even the Igbo are flowing the the Ibo. I'm a little bit from that part of the country and once I hear your trying to describe my region with Delta ibo, I look you as dumb🧐

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, it's my real name. Yeah, some Igbo people are joining them to say Igbo, it's ridiculous.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though I know you before but I must say it again. Hello my dear. Nice to meet you Daria.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, thank you Lucifer. It's nice to meet you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😏, I love how you always start your article with how deprived of your sleep you have been, also I was thinking you would write about your crush

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 No oh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't seen such a good movie for a long time. But I think I have to watch a good movie. I know you will laugh a little with my favorite color because my favorite color is white.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 🤣 You love my opposite colour. Isn't Mazekin in the series supposed to be a demon lol and she likes black too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Last movie I saw is Cinderella and my favorite colors are blue and black...Almost all my applications are on dark mode too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, dark mode is just awesome! You also love black, that's so cool

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it really is, it's not painful in the eyes...Yeah I love black

$ 0.00
2 years ago