Meetings and Diversions

7 24
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago
Date: 28th of March, 2022.

I had breakfast by 3pm today. Word of advice, never do this. I really thought I was going to meet my maker today. Well, tomorrow will be different. Anyway, how has your day been? Monday comes with a lot of work for some people right? While for others it could be boring, normal, fun, exciting, who knows?

My day started with meetings and the second of these meetings started with a random discussion. We were having a virtual meeting and we had to log on right on time or before the time but guess who was a bit late? My boss. He's usually never late so I assume there must have been a reason for that. Well, before he joined the meeting, someone started talking about the trending topic concerning Will Smith and Chris Rock. I'd you don't know the gist, I summary, Chris Rock was telling jokes and making fun of people and he made a joke about Will Smith's wife with regards to her hair (apparently, she has an issue that's affecting her hair growth) and Will Smith slapped him.

During the meeting, everyone was giving hot takes on the issue. Sides were formed and arguments ensued all in good spirited fun. One of us even shared his screen for us to watch the YouTube clip and analyse the situation. We continued talking without noticing on time that our boss had joined the meeting haha. I was the one who called everyone's attention but we were already caught.

The person who was sharing the video on their screen turned it off and everyone greeted our boss and turned off our mics haha. Everywhere became silent like we were just innocent employees who were just there do work and only work but my boss wasn't having any of it. He told us he saw the video we were watching and that we must put the video back up and everyone must share their opinion before the meeting starts haha.

My boss then asked us to go one by one in sharing our thoughts and the people who were just having a spirited argument about the matter were silent including me lol. He insisted until one of us decided to break the ice after which another person spoke before I then did the same and the discussion was back on haha. We kept arguing, some people kept shifting sides when they noticed a side was winning lol.

As the argument went on, I realised we had spent quite some time on a meeting that was supposed to last for an hour, yet the meeting hadn't started. Funny thing is that during regular meetings, I usually get tired just twenty minutes into the meetings and longing for it to end but today, I actually lost track of time. Did I mention I had also not eaten but I didn't feel hungry because I was occupied with the discussion.

My take on the issue though (not like anybody should care lol) is that they were both wrong. For Chris Rock, I know Oscar hosts make jokes about people in the audience but it is actually in bad taste to joke about something someone has struggling with and probably feels insecure about. People joke about Kevin Hart being short because it is not a health problem and it is a trait he has accepted and has no insecurity about but people won't joke about someone struggling with an eating disorder because it's wrong. It is similar in this case, he shouldn't have made fun of something she was obviously struggling with.

For Will, there were so many right ways to go about addressing the situation but he chose violence. Now, people don't really care much about what Chris Rock did or have much sentiments concerning how it affected Jada because Will's act had overshadowed Chris'. This sucks because he is one of my favourite actors if I had to list them. What's funny is the fact that he also laughed at the joke at first but then changed his mind when he saw Jada's reaction. Maybe, he only laughed to be polite and did not realise his wife would be much affected by the joke. This then begs the question, if he didn't realise the joke would be offensive to his wife, how then was Chris supposed to realise it? Also, did Chris know that Jada's her was cut because she was struggling with something?

Anyway, my opinion doesn't matter much lol but I'll like to hear what you think

8
$ 1.24
$ 1.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 4
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

When I saw, I had breakfast by 3pm.. I was thinking it was that breakfast naija people know😏😏, and honestly when I saw the video and also all the recent news about their past relationship, my mind itself divided into two and pick to argue against each other, I was the one that suffer the most from it.. I don't even know who was wrong or right anymore, beside, some ladies tweet on twitter about the issue was very annoying, how about ruger, what that lady did to him.. Plenty gist everywhere

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No oh, not the other breakfast oh, normal one. That girl that harassed Ruger should be arrested, God knows

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly she should

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Breakfast by 3pm???? Omo! That's the height of it all, most people won't even call that lunch, talkless of breakfast. As for that Will Smith issues, I watched the video last night and it was very awkward for me. But what I observed as well was that Will Smith laughed at first, but changed his mood because his wife wasn't cool with the joke. So why will he punch Chris Rock for something he laughed at in the first place? And yes, that joke was a very expensive one coming from Chris Rock

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, he laughed first, the punch was too far. And to think I used to crush on him when I was small 😂 Chris Rock also went too far

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like the way Will apologized says it all. A person with stable mental health doesn't react like that, Will reacted from repressed feelings that he surely hasn't brought out. The violence is not the solution, but he gave a nice message and apologized

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm also glad he apologised for his actions

$ 0.00
2 years ago