Hydration Tips

29 49
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago
Date: Friday. 15th of April, 2022. 

Hey, beautiful people! How are you doing? My day today was hella stressful. I went to the market with my friend, the one whose cloth was botched by a tailor, to get new fabrics. We got lost for an hour trying to locate a particular place but we found it in the end. While going home, I encountered a terrible traffic that had us stuck in one place for almost an hour. Funny thing is that despite being stressed and extremely tired, I still had fun and I'm glad I went to the market today. The down part will be the part where I got so carried away that I forgot to eat or drink water. This brings me to my topic of the day.

Today I want to talk about hydration and dehydration.

Our body is largely made up of water and is dependent on water to survive. Dehydration sets in when our body does not get enough water that it needs. It has been said that the moment you start feeling thirsty, you are already getting dehydrated. So what are the signs to watch out for concerning dehydration?

Dehydration can lead to the following symptoms: thirst, dry lips, Amber coloured pee, light-headedness, fatigue, loss of appetite, kidney stones etc.

Our body needs water to function effectively, like oil to our engine. It is even more important to drink water if you find yourself in a warm climate, if you have been physically active, if you have diarrhoea (the spelling of diarrhoea is so unnecessarily complicated lol), also, if you have been having a fever or throwing up.

With that, here are some tips to help you stay hydrated:

  • Carry a Bottle

Carry a bottle of water with you all the time. This makes the water accessible and within your reach when necessary. Having water with you will also compel you to always take a sip every now and then which could enhance your water drinking habits.

  • In the Morning

Drink a glass of water first thing in the morning when you wake up. If you're used to first brewing coffee or even eating, it is better to drink water first instead as you start the day.

  • Flavour

I believe you can attest to the fact that while water is tasteless, it makes it not enjoyable to drink unless you're thirsty. People won't just drink water for the fun of it and usually wait till they are thirsty before drinking. The solution to this is to naturally add flavour to the water. The most common way of doing this is by adding lemon slices into the cup of water. The flavour makes the water less bland and make you more likely to want more.

  • Other Sources

Drinking water makes up for 80 percent of the water we take into our bodies, while the rest comes from what he eat. It is good to eat water based food such as fruits (pineapple, watermelon, cucumber etc), vegetable juices etc. You also have to reduce the intake of alcohol, coffee and sugary drinks.

  • Reinforcements

If you are the type to always forget to drink water until you start feeling thirsty or you need a bit of a push or some motivation, there are apps that can help. These apps set timers to remind you to drink water. You can also measure your water intake to measure how much you have had for day and how much more you should take. There are also water bottles that marks the quantity of water in the bottle to let you know how much you've drank. Some bottles even have a time frames written on it which is the time you're expected to finish a certain quantity of water and some bottles also come with motivational speeches written on them to keep you going.

So guy, endeavour to drink water. Be conscious of your hydration level and safe!

Thank you so much for reading!

13
$ 2.11
$ 1.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 9
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I can remember one time I was walking down my street alone and no store was open due to the lock down.. I kept looking for bore hole to get water coz I was so damn thirsty, I had to beg for water from a total stranger I don't know... These are good tips for me I always carry a bottle of water wherever I go

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That must have been awkward lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That must have been awkward lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Friend I hardly even drink water, I have to put it on my list of goals to achieve because I really feel that I get dehydrated and I don't feel very good when I don't hah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you are able to achieve this goal

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I usually just drink water when I am thirsty. Perhaps I should start drinking more water

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, yeah. Start drinking more

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Water is so important especially drinking first thing in the morning as it keeps you active for the day's activities. I didn't know being dehydrated can make one's pee colored! Just reading it now. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're welcome Princessbusayo, thanks for reading!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Water is very necessary to our body and also it is the need of our body. Nowadays we should always stay hydrated. Nowadays I am not drinking much water because of my holy month. I only drink 3 to 4 glasses in the evening and in the early morning and that's why I am feeling pain in my bones.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right. When you can, it is essential to drink water

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I once used an app some years back to remind me to always take water, I uninstalled after some few days because I couldn't keep up and it felt like I was drowning myself 😂 these days I am able to remind myself on my own

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha, sounds like my experience but it helped be start drinking more water and still continue even without the app

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you very much for the tips Daria. I do follow some of your tips thankfully. Now that I am fasting, I make sure I take oral rehydration salt to keep me hydrated throughout the process

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's awesome. Thanks for reading Ulquiorra!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are some amazing tips, I actually came back from uor doctor's right now and she told me to drink as much as water I can durig this summer

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, what a coincidence

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If it's drinking of water, I have been enjoying it recently and that's because I have access to chilled water. They should stop saying that intake of chilled water has effect na🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Cold water actually has no effect and doesn't cause any problems on its own. The problem is that some viruses,m or bacteria thrives in cold environment but the cold water doesn't cause any harm itself

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always encourage my self to drink 15 glasses of water a day, also for water therapy to clean my stomach...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh wow, that's nice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is my routine every morning, drinking water before anything else in doing activity. Before eating as well, I drink water. I am responsible as well right now that I have an acid reflux, l avoided soda and I always bring my tumbler with me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's nice, it's good that you're doing this

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Water is another name for life. No animal can survive without water.

And the demand for water increases a lot in hot weather. If we follow your word, we will not be thirsty.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's true, the demand for water during the heat is high

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In this time, especially summer time. We have to drink a lot of water. It is freaking hot and you will just sweat every hour. I bathed twice a day if the weather is too warm.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww, I can relate to that. It's hot here too and it's making us drink water a lot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Before, i only consume small amount of water but when I started getting fit again, i drink water a lot especially now that it started getting hot again in our area...Anyways, thanks for this helpful tips to keep being hydrated Daria.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice to know, thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago