How to Sleep

24 84
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

First I'll like to apologise for not being able to read on comment on most posts yesterday. I had too much to do and I didn't use my phone till about 10pm. I was exhausted and I tried to read articles but I was also having a headache. Today will be just as busy but I'll try to be more active.

Remember when I said I was going to sleep earlier last night because I didn't get enough sleep the previous night? Well, it didn't work out. I ended up sleeping at 4am and waking up less than three hours later. Thank God I have gone through my deck properly last night when I couldn't sleep, so I had no adjustments to make before this morning's meeting. My boss said I did a good job but gave me more work (I'm not gonna cry lol). Anyway, last night, I kept falling asleep and waking up only a few minutes after, sometimes seconds. It was as if my brain was still active and unwilling to rest. It didn't help that I didn't eat last night for a good reason though (because I forgot that I hadn't eaten and I refrigerated the food. I remembered a few hours later when I was hungry 😂), it's a really good reason I tell ya haha.

Well, since I already gave my genius tips on how to stay awake, I think it's time to give real tips that can help you fall asleep (none of which I did yesterday but used the staying awake tips instead lol)

  1. LIGHT EXPOSURE

If you're like me who enjoy staying indoors and basking in dim solitude, I'll recommend that you expose yourself to more light during the day. This could be sunlight, light from a bulb etc. And at night, make sure you have only little exposure to light. Doing these will let your body adjust its internal clock and understand when to stay active or make you feel sleepy. Exposure to light at night deceives your body into thinking that it is still daytime. To reduce light exposure at night your can avoid using your phones or any device with light, you can also put your phone in dark mode and reduce the brightness and blue light, you can even go far as putting on sunglasses.

  1. BLINKING FAST

I read this somewhere that if you blink fast continously for a minute, your eyes will get tired and you'll fall asleep. I tried this before to see if it would work but I don't remember what happened after; maybe I feel asleep haha. Try it out though and let me know if it works for you. It really sounds like a cool party trick

  1. NO SLEEP IN THE EVENING

Remember I talked about this yesterday. I mentioned how sleeping at late evening times can affect your night sleep. If you intend to have a good night's sleep, avoid sleeping anytime from 4pm. Naps helps us feel rested and relaxed and when we wake up from them, we're ready to carry out any necessary activities. Sleeping in the evening will therefore keep our body and mind active at night rather than shutting down. So, this is something that should be avoided.

  1. AVOID CAFFEINE

One cannot talk about things to avoid when trying to sleep without mentioning caffeine. Caffeine keeps you hyper and very active. I was had so much coffee that I stayed awake all night doing nothing. It is literally a dm engine that will keep you going and going. Any form of caffeine where coffee, kolanut, drinks etc should be avoided at all cost. Rather, one can have chamomile tea, I hear it works wonders.

  1. Work Out

This sounds stressful right? But it works, trust me! Okay, hear me out. Have you ever been so tired that all you want to do was lie down, that's your body's response to any form of stress. If you work out, you'll tire out the active part of your body and you'll be compelled to sleep. You can do some push ups, take your bath and then lie down and sleep will come knocking in no time.

  1. MELATONIN

When all these does not work. Consider taking a melatonin supplement. I didn't know about melatonin until my sister was having sleeping difficulties and one was administered to her. I remember looking it up to be sure of what it did and apparently, it was quite a popular prescription.

9
$ 3.44
$ 3.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 4
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I like to create a very dark environment where I sleep. Because I can't sleep in the light. I often have this problem, I go to sleep in the evening. And that has a great effect on sleep at night.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love to sleep in the dark too, I don't like light on my eyes when I'm trying to sleep

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Caffeine is what we take those days we go for overnight and to avoid sleeping we drink excess and If you really want to sleep avoid caffeine

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes! I once took two sachets without milk or sugar. I've never taken it like that again because I was awake all through and my heart was racing the next morning

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just other day, you gave us tips about how to wake up and today you're betraying yourself but giving us how to sleep 😂 All those things which you said, I really practices for a better sleep. Thank you for sharing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 Yes, someone may need it haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The other day you were telling us how to stay awake, now you're giving us tips on how to fall asleep, see cruise 😂 That caffeine should be avoided at all cost if you want to sleep early, that was how I was awake until 4am last night after I took predator energy drink, my eyes were shining like torch 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 Serious cruise. I have to give the people what they want lol.

Why will you drink Predator at night, when it's not like you were planning to gym lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I usually take energy drinks when I plan on reading over night and don't want to sleep (it works like magic), so with time I just love taking them at night. I prefer fearless energy drink, but predator is cheaper

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, that's actually cool but don't drink it to much of mix it with anything

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have only drank it twice this year and I don't do mixing 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, alright

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I love my room when it's totally dark for sleeping night. I don't sleep with lights on no matter it's intensity.

I'm gonna try the FAST BLINKING TONIGHT let me see if works.

Talking about caffeine, during school period I usually take coffee and cola-nut to prevent me from sleeping but it always gives me a negative result... that's when I enjoy the sleep the more🤣🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Let me know if the blinking works if you try it. I love sleeping in the dark too!

😂 Why is your own different? Funny how that was actually my first reaction to coffee in school, I slept immediately but the second time I took it black, without milk or sugar and it felt like I was high or something 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It doesn't work for me, even when I tried the natural , cola-nut, it was still the same.

Body differences🤷.

By the way, do you have a val to celebrate with it, or them dn collect you? 🤦🤦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, your body is strong.

Haha, which one is collect? 😂 They've collected me sha haha. This reminds me of "we have seen a flower in your garden and we want to pluck it"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol🤣. Wahala for single me🤦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hug your pillow eh 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stop na😭. Let me stop it here first before I get noticed by others. Letme find way to get to any DM🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to add one thing. Avoid taking dietary supplements containing vitamin D on the last half of the day. Vitamin D keeps you awake. If you take it as a supplement, take it in the morning.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh really? I didn't even know about that, thanks for telling me Mictorrani!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like I am going to literally try all of this I always have trouble sleeping... thank you so much. it's a nice article.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, I hope this helps you. Sorry about your sleeping difficulties 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No problem this will help me indeed

$ 0.00
2 years ago