Gratitude

12 29
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Good day beautiful people. Today had been weird; I got a big compliment from my boss and a title change. You'd think this will come with some salary increase right? But it came with a decrease. Apparently, the company has to make financial cuts and evaluate everyone's salaries for a reduction.

While all this is going on, I'm trying to take it in stride and do my best. I'm doing really well despite not being certified in this field so I need the work experience to continue in this line. Eventually, my actual certification may be needed in this field but that's still a future plan the company has.

I'm still happy though because it's my little brother's birthday. He's the one I'm closest to even though he gives me trouble haha, I enjoy his trouble. I sang him a birthday song and cooked his favourite meal. I'm going to make sure he's happy all day, and in the evening, I'll take him out. He deserves the best really.

On to today's topic, I want to talk about gratitude. Sometimes, it's easy to want something and have them happen to us than to show gratitude especially for the little things. I know someone who never said thank you when someone did something for him he considered small; he felt entitled or like it was unnecessary since it didn't cause the person a a lot of trouble to get it done. For that reason, people stopped helping him with anything and he called them bad names. When someone helps you with something, you have no idea what it may cost that person and even if you do, you have to show gratitude because they could have said no but they still chose to help.

When someone helps you, don't try to quantify the level of help they have rendered before being grateful, resist from having high expectations of things people should do for you and don't complain when they can't do as much because even the little they do might be costing them a lot.

For one to be able to show gratitude, one has to remove any and every sense of entitlement one may have because when you feel like someone is supposed to do something for you, you believe it is your right and their responsibility and therefore you will be lacking in gratitude. One also has to reduce one's expectations. Take what you're given because that may be all they can afford and show gratitude. Don't complain that someone is rich but is not helping, they may be going through some financial difficulties you don't know about.

Also, as a giver, give when you can, it is nice to always pay kindness forward and that kindness will also return to you in a bigger way. I once gave out the little money I have and because of the decisions I made while I didn't have any more money, I gained even more. I wouldn't have had the opportunity to make the extra money if I hadn't given out in the first place. I believe we may have experienced this kind of situation before, it just goes to prove that givers never lack. So, when you can, try to give but when you can't afford it, don't try to give in order to show off. As much as the saying 'givers never lack' goes, it does not mean you should give what you don't have or to receive accolades. Don't be the kind of person that wants to put on a show so that people can call you big names and rain praises on you; give from your heart and give what you can.

While we're at it. I want to give special thanks to my little brother, he is one person that has always had my back no matter the situation. He teaches me to let myself be happy and he brings our the child in me. Because of him, I'm also able to laugh and be myself. He's one of the two people who make me feel this way and as he celebrates his birthday today, I wish him triple fold of all the joy he brings me and I wish him long life and prosperity.

Thank you very much for reading, remember to show gratitude and have a lovely week ahead!

6
$ 1.11
$ 0.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Listen to wizkid - blessed, it will help you calm and feel alright, its the best song to relate with this article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really, I'll actually do that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I am always grateful with everything but I am not vocal in showing my gratitude Sorry to hear about the decrease of yoursalary

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Lhes 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats on the job I guess... Sorry about the payment though... Also happy birthday to your brother...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, I appreciate it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The word says that God blesses the cheerful giver. It is not only a matter of giving, you must see well who you are helping and let go, without expecting anything in return. Those actions are the ones that generate the cycle to repeat itself in your life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, exactly!!! Thanks for the input

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gratitude is a big thing. Gratitude does not work in everyone. Some people do not understand the meaning of gratitude. But you have tried to explain very nicely. I like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much Mazekin!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, "givers never lack" did not mean that you should go and give what you don't have to recieve accolades. Alot of people fall on this category, I used to be but I've outgrown it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great. Giving what you don't have is not the best choice

$ 0.00
2 years ago