For Chicken Sake

16 24
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Why don't I tell you guys about my battle with chicken pox, but first, why is it called chicken pox though? What have chickens got to do with this? I do not tolerate any slander on chickens so, I need answers lol. Chicken pox was something several kids had when we were much younger but I didn't. I assumed I was immune maybe due to the vaccination we received as kids or something. Little did I know that the virus was just gearing up to attack me in the worst way possible.

In boarding school, 15 out of the 21 girls in my hall contracted chicken pox. I remember feeling envious because they got to go home. I was very exposed to the virus, my bunk mate had it, everyone on my row had it, I laid on the bed of someone who had it, I helped my friend wash her cloth when she had it and the blister directly touched my skin but I never got it. The good thing was that the rest of us left behind were under special watch and the hall was almost empty so we did as we liked during that period.

Several years later, while I was in my 3rd year in the university, I was enjoying feeling of having fewer courses, getting a project supervisor and just other things that made me feel cool until tragedy struck. I travelled home for the semester holiday and close to the resumption date, I started feeling really sick. It started with extreme fatigue, so bad that I could barely stand myself up. I also lost appetite and I didn't eat any solid food for three days. I remember drinking coke, and tea. My parents didn't believe I was sick for some reasons so they still had me do house work; I partly burnt almost every food I cooked because I couldn't get up to turn off the cooker on time lol.

The first blister appeared on my stomach and it scared me. I didn't remember what chicken pox looked like, so I didn't recognise it. My sister saw it and touched it (she got infected later). I was to travel to my hometown with my dad and younger for an event and my siblings would join later, and from there, I was to travel back to school. Whenever I'm travelling to my hometown, I don't bother with aesthetics, I just wear comfortable clothes and maybe transparent lip gloss. So, I didn't really have to look at a mirror but when my dad saw me that morning, he jumped a little. I remember asking him what's wrong and why he was looking at my face that way but he said it was nothing. When I tried to go look at a mirror, he told me we didn't have much time and needed to leave as early as possible and I ignorantly agreed.

On the way, I could barely keep my head up; I was tired and wanted to lie down. My younger brother placed his head on my legs to sleep and I rested my head on his back (he got infected too) I don't remember much of that journey because I didn't feel like I was part of it. I felt so sick that the journey seemed unending yet, short.

We reached our hometown on time. My dad sat outside with his brothers who welcomed us while my brother and I went inside the house. After a while, they heard a loud scream and ran inside one of the rooms to find me with a mirror. I was in shock at what my face looked like. I couldn't believe I had carried that face proudly while walking past people. I must admit it did feel a little rough but I thought I was breaking out for some reasons. My dad then explained to me that the pox had shown up on my face and that was why he didn't let me use a mirror in the morning because he knew I would be worried. When my dad's brothers found out what happened, they laughed so much, it actually made me feel calm and I laughed along with them.

A few hours later, I got my drugs and calamine lotion. I was told that I didn't start the treatment on time and I had one of the worst cases (the blisters were gigantic). After a week my little brother and elder sister started noticing the symptoms and began treatment immediately (even before the symptoms, I think). Well, theirs wasn't as bad and they had no scars while I've been left with permanent scars on my body and face. It made me really insecure for a long time especially with how obvious the scars are because of my light skin but I'm almost over it now. A lot of people don't seem to notice it as much anymore, I think they heal better over the years. I wouldn't want anyone to go through the same ordeal though.

Back to my question, what did chickens do to deserve this unfortunate tag? Is it because they crossed the road? Why?

Have you ever had chicken pox? let me know in the COMMENTS and SUBSCRIBE!!

6
$ 2.07
$ 1.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 5
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I had had this chicken pox when I started school and I took it as it's environmental change that caused it. It was worsrt for me because I couldn't take the face to attend lectures and also the feverish pain. Why they call it chicken pox? I think they found the symptom via a chicken or so..I don't know. How they find names to these diseases is surprising.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, sorry about your experience. You shouldn't have tried going to class since it's viral and the fever is just something else. Lol, the naming of some diseases is actually funny

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember my brother got it some years back and we were actually in my hometown when it happened. My mom told me it's because it didn't happen to him while he was still a child, that's why it happened to him now and also that everyone must have it at least once in their lifetime 😆 (I don't know how true that is).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 It's not a must but once you've had it once, you become immune to it so you can't have it again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smiles.. Nice, sorry light skin girl, I guess I'm mostly immune to almost all the disease most people have, even boil, the biggest boil I ever had was the size of a normal pinpus, and I would like to see your face too..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought I was bad assbut my immune system failed me lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe... Mine hasn't failed me once, I guess I'm still the strongest comrade

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I don't have faced this one as I can remember. Because if I had that experience I should have remembered.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, you probably haven't. It mostly happens to little kids though, and some don't remember it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah think so. Maybe it did not happened with me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never experience having pox. Thank you for sharing it. Atleast I am aware now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No problem, I pray you won't get it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry you got the pox at the wrong time... Also,,, sorry about the scars...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago