Adults, kids, and Lies

17 27
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Friday. February 25, 2022.

So, I mistakenly opened this draft yesterday but I couldn't figure out how to delete it and I decided to write on it today.

To our friends in Ukraine, I can't claim to understand what you're going through but from what I've seen on the news, my heart is broken. War causes pain to everyone involved, the Victor, the vanquished and even the survivors. I hate that this is happening. I will keep praying. I pray for peace and protection. God saves us all.

With all that is going on, I needed something to lift my mood and that of others so I decided to visit one of my favourite site called Bored Panda. That site will definitely keep you hooked for hours! It is the place to go if you're bored or in need of something funny or interesting to keep you busy.

While I was going through it, I saw where they shared storied about lies that were told to people as kids which they believed. You know children are gullible little humans and that is because they don't yet know a lot about life. They still look up to their parents and environment for new information and experiences. This therefore creates a level of bond and loyalty between the child and the provider of their first-hand knowledge. And when that provider has consequently provided credible knowledge for the child, their trust increases. It is for this reason that children will easily accept some obvious lies from adults because they trust them. Even when they have their doubts, they mostly still choose to believe because they believe they won't be lied to.

Now, here are some hilarious lies posted on bored panda (first sourced from reddit) that were told to kids, leggo!

I lost my white stuffed animal, a dog and later my mum bought me a brown one and told me it was found at the airport and was brown because it got a tan in Florida. I believed it for a few years. Now, that dog is my son's."

This is hilarious! Imagine getting a stuffed animal and thinking it had an everlasting tan haha. How do parents even come up with these things haha

My dad would say no when we asked for Mcdonalds but he would still drive in and tell us the car was driving in by itself. I always believed him and I thought the car just liked me

He thought the car had your back all these while hahaha! The dad is a genius though lol

"You won't get in trouble if you tell the truth"

Oh, this one! πŸ˜‚ The moment you see this lie unfold as a child, you start to lose your trust for adults

"My dad told me it cost 25cents to change the radio and I believed that till I was 14" (sic)

This is so cool haha. I wish I could have pranked my brother with a lie like this when he was younger

My dad told me reading books will give me the power of telekinesis like the movie Matilda and I spent many years thinking I wasn't doing enough

πŸ˜‚ If you have seen the movie called Matilda, you would understand how funny/silly this is haha

"That adults know what they're doing"

No, they don't! Haha. As an adult, I can confirm that we're just children with more years of experience lol

Watermelon will grow in your stomach if you swallow the seeds

Haha, we were told this as kids haha. The thought of this always filled me with a bit of dread and curiosity

That's all for today, have a wonderful Friday!

10
$ 2.92
$ 2.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @fantagira
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 6
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Haha, you just made my day. I started remembering my childhood. Hehe, my mom was every time used to say this I will not beat you if you tell me the truth hehe and she had always beaten me even more. Haha, keep it up, mate.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🀣 🀣 After saying the truth you'd think they wouldn't beat you but they would

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, possible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lmao, I can remember my parents telling me some of these lies, I believed them for years. One of their legendary lies is that children shouldn't drink coconut water because it will make us dull. I started avoiding coconut water like a plague πŸ˜† but I figured it out years later that they were just lying

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh no! πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ This is so funny! Your parents cornered the coconut water, sounds like something mine would do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hilarious πŸ˜‚ I can’t recall watching Matilda, but this made me laugh so hard πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Just the a idea of a child who reads to be able to move objects and thinks he’s not doing enough reading πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That was hilarious! It must have been frustrating to keep waiting for the powers to come haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Hilarious. That "You won't get in trouble if you tell the truth" probably contributed to me having trust issues now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🀣 I know, right? After saying the truth, the punishment comes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"I wil not hit you if you tell me the truth" is the biggest lie in the history of humanity ever lol... hilarious

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🀣 🀣 Such a big lie!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed the reading, funny how I laugh after I was sad from the beginning

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, sorry about the sad part πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Daria I'm devastated too! As a Venezuelan I know what it is to feel abandoned while your country collapses. However, we cannot compare what they are experiencing

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sorry about your experience. It is really sad that these things are happening.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That water melon lie is still valid and we are still using it to freak little children hahah🀣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🀣 Yes oh, I still tell my little cousins haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago