The wasteful nature of man.

12 35
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Bonjour mes Amis,

I want to take this time to celebrate all great fathers out there. You guys have been awesome and fantastic. Just so you'd know, I am not only referring to those who have given birth but to all guys and men out there that are already shouldering the responsibilities of their family or that of a group. You have been wonderful.

To the matters of the day, I was surfing through the internet when I saw a title that caught my attention. It read 'the main cause of species extinction'. I was about scrolling up from it, reason been that as science student, the topic as been treated many times in the different levels of education. So I didn't seem it worthy to still waste my time reading what I know. But I decided to read this one, who know, I might learn something new? Or did I? After reading about 5 paragraphs, I deduced that three things are mostly the cause of animal extinction this are;

  1. Andropological activities (that is the various activities of man and the consequences they have on the ecosystem).

  2. Animal and population factor; this includes the number of the species of the animals (the fewer they are, the higher the probability to become extinct), introduction of endemic or non favourable species that can attack and reduce the number of another species to near extinction and lastly diseases and famine.

  3. The last one is loss of habitats, weather and climates; animals live comfortably in their habitats. They can grow, multiply and even evolve when they have all the necessary materials for these and all these materials are found in their natural habitats. Destroying their habitats is equal to killing them off.

After taken a careful look at the three major causes, I concluded that man is indeed wasteful. Reason been that he is involved in atleast 2 of the major cause of extinction. We burn, we kill, we take, we destroy, we evaporate, we eat, we wear and do all manner of things even when we don't have to do them. Take for example, I read a journal during the covid lockdown times. It said of a cure that was under way to be produced by I think UK or so. One of the materials that would be need to produce this cure was the blood of a horse-shoe crab. It was said that it was going to be an Herculean task to get sufficient amount of this animal to be able to mass produce the vaccine. When asked why, a medical lab scientist said it was because they have been over exploited and harvested from the shore. He said the local folks that live around the seashore which was the natural habitat of this crab had over harvested for food, games and entertainment. He even said them turned it to a contest show where the person that capture and kills the most crab is the winner.

That's indeed fun, right? But this is what an ecosystem conservationist has to say; He said by due to this over exploitation and harvesting of the crabs, it has adversely resulted to the reduction in the number of that particular species and one of the implication is this is that it has really affected the food chain and consecutively the food web. Animals that once feed on this species will have to either switch to another species of animal (which may lead to the decrease and near extinction of that other animal and also an increase in competition for the same animal) or they would died off since they are not able to find suitable substitute to feed on.

Another implication it has on food chain and web is that the animals or plants this species of crab used to feed on will definitely grow and multiply unchecked and out of proportion which may lead to them dominating an area, causing spread of diseases if they are vectors to some parasites, block waterways or water tunnels, occupy useful space, etc. Now that is just on food chain and food web, what of every other sector both the relating to the species itself and other species it interacts with?

Now, an unforseen event occured where when the world needed it the most, the wasteful nature of man denied it! It is said that not much by man is needed to destroy the both man and the world at large.

This made me remember a day a frog (I thought it was gold frog, a critically endangered species of frogs) was killed in my compound. It was at night and we were preparing to go to bed. Being the last person outside, I was told to pack somethings inside and lock the doors. As I was about to take the last item inside, I was something jumped out of it, I dropped the object and decided to look for whatever it was that jumped out of the object. Lo and behold! There it was a shiny gold colored frog. I have never seen any beautiful frog like that in my life (for the note, I am not a frog lover😂). So, out of my excitement, I called my mom to come look at this beautiful creature. I wished I hadn't because immediately she came out and saw this innocent frog, the next was that she was looking for broom to kill the frog. I tried all my best to protect the frog from be murdered by my mom but when it felt like I was gonna lose the fight, I decided to play along with my mom. So I collect the broom from her and told her that I will kill it. She asked me to do it in her presence. I raised up the broom, brought it down with force but gentle landed it on the frog. So I trapped the frog in the broom, went to a new by burn and set it free there. If it got into a thick forest or bush, it is safe, but if another person meets it then death may be inevitable.

Anyways, I don't know why humans have to have that character of killing and destroying and eating everything up. Thank God for conservationists and animal rights, maybe most of the animals we have around today would have gone into extinction.

Some animals that have gone or about to go into extinction

  1. Sabre tooth cat; Extinct

https://onekindplanet.org/animal/saber-toothed-cat/
  1. Wooly mammoth; Extinct

  1. Dodo; Extinct

  1. Tasmanian Tiger

Source; one of a kind

I'll stop here for now. But know that it left for us to protect and preserve what ever we have either monetary, assets, relationship, environmental or nature wise. Protect and preserve so you can use it next time.

9
$ 0.37
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @beyourself
$ 0.02 from @Kushyzee
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Omo, thank God that sabre tooth is extinct, we already have enough wild cats to deal with right now 😆 the wooly mammoth is just the ancestors of elephants, too bad they got taken out during the ice age. Why you no include dinosaurs for that list? 👀

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's generally known na. The list even long but I say make I shorten am to these ones. How far your report writing dey go na?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just resumed yesterday, I will just do the little I can for now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really nice to see that there are still people who cares about our nature😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I know you care also. Right? 😏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes... I also care about our nature😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really would have loved to see the wooly mammoth right now...so sad

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Isn't it? For me, I would love to really see that Dodo bird. It looks like those birds from mythological legends

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are a life saver ....you just saved a beautiful frog.....I love the way they sound at night especially after rainfall

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Right? I hope people will stop killing animals indiscriminately and embrace nature

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for a beautiful write up. I don't know if those animals haters are reading this post. Man is indeed wasteful.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes indeed. Thanks for visiting my channel spartacux🥂

$ 0.00
1 year ago