The choices we make

11 18
Avatar for Danika
Written by
2 years ago

A beautiful afternoon to you dear readers. I believe you all are doing okay. I have been off for a day or two due to the power outage to at occured in my area. I really wanted to write but couldn't find anywhere to charge my phone. As it is now, I am going to have to get a power bank to keep being online.

Life is a choice.

Image source

I was reminiscing today about somethings I have done and others I didn't do. I also had a thought of things some people have done and things they didn't. Then I came to this conclusion that truly life is a choice. You choose what you want, how you want it and when you want it. I know many of us are probably aware of this phrase, but I'd like you to really think about it and let the words sink down into your heart. It is then you will truly see that what you have and what you don't is a ctually a product of some choices or should I say decisions you made sometimes ago. The actions you have taken and those you wish you had taken are all the results of the choices you made. You still being a loving being today is actually as a result of the choice your parents made and also that which you continually make day by day. To live is a choice, to die is a choice. Even the man on a death sentence row could have made the choice to stay clean and legal but chose to go against the law of the land. So, let this be at the back of your mind whenever you are able to do or think about anything that you have a choice. Whether or not you do the right thing(or should I say, the supposed right thing) is all your choice.

According to Wiktionary, choice is;

  1. An option; a decision; an opportunity to choose or select something.

  2. One selection or preference; that which is chosen or decided; the outcome of a decision.

  3. Anything that can be chosen.

Source

Noone is to be blamed for your actions.

Image source

According to the above definitions, you don't actually have to blame anyone for anything you do or think. Think of this way, if someone clap you, irrespective of how calm or aggressive you are, you have a choice to either return the favour or keep calm especially if the person is a stranger. I remember a time someone ask me for an advice, though it was on a joking matter, I gave what I though as right but it turns out it to be the other way. Then the person turned and jokingly said 'see what you have caused now. You made me chose the wrong one'. I also jokingly replied ' it was all your choice o. I only gave an advice o'. Though it was a joke, but so it is in real life. That friend never mislead you, you had the choice to pick other thing but you chose his/her own option! Remember Eve

Factors that influence our choices.

  • Image source

  • The first and foremost being our inner or hidden desire. Most times what we tend to see as good or bad is only based on a former perspective being subconsciously installed in us. Take for example a Boko Haram memeber will always ascertain that he is in the wrong while his victims are in the wrong based on what lecture or whatever brainwashing ideas they have giving him. He does have a choice to say No, but the his desires!!!

  • Peer pressure: friends are one major influencers of our actions. When I say friends, I mean both the physical and the internet or virtual ones! They give us their own opinions about a matter and we check it with our mindsets and passion. Then we choose. Remember you can make friends based on the kind of person you are. Hence, your friend's advise will be acceptable to you atleast 85% of the total times he/she gives you. I have posted an article on friends that matters sometimes ago, you can read it here.

  • Background: The backgrounds we come from, the kind of family we are born into and the kind of informal education these have given us all sum together affects our decisions. Take for example, a person from a ghetto is most likely to chose to become a rugged person with vile character. The better the background the better the choices to be made. Note: This does not in away means that all the people from ghetto will become bad and all the people from good homes will become good. It is in a most likely situation. I have seen pastor's children becoming evil. So once again, it all boils down to your secret desires.

  • The circumstances of the event: circumstances are part of those things influencing our choices. 45% of the choices we make are based on the circumstances surrounding the event. Different circumstances come with different choices.

To be continued...

Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty

Ok that's all for. Now guys. I will post the second part later in the day. I am actually on my way to Lagos where I am being posted for my IT. We will be arriving at Lagos very soon. The journey as really been interesting. Some of my classmates are gisting, some are watching movies, some are eating and I am typing😄

It's really nice to be back online after some days of no power.

Thanks for reading this article. Don't forget to hit the 👍 Love ❤️ you.

5
$ 1.50
$ 1.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Aimure
$ 0.02 from @Bilqees
+ 2
Sponsors of Danika
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Danika
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Life is a matter of choice it's up to us how to handle things but we must always remember to think hundreds of times before we choose so that we do not regret it in the end.

Nice meeting you Danika.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, that's is really true. Nice meeting you dearie

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People should always make sure that their background and peers don't influence the negatively

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's is truly life is a choice. You can choose to be happy even devoid of life. You can also be happy when have nothing to buy or no money but a happy lifestyle because you're healthy together with your family. It is your choice because you are the owner of your self and you have the right to choice what's you want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm. This is deep. We all have the right to choose what we want! Great one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's our freedom to be what we are. That's even good .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In actual truth, we are solely responsible for our choices, and we shouldn't let other factors not paramount to the kind of choice we make.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's true. But it takes absolute self reliance and stability

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I keep wondering how in this age and time, people can still be pressured by their peer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's shocking right?😒

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's shocking right?😒

$ 0.00
2 years ago