From 90s to present : those 8 bit games and stuff

4 44
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

I am one of the last generation born in 90s. Belonging to that tribe, I really have seen a lot of changes going around which many of us here can relate to while those who are from 2000s here can feel terrible about. As per me, it wasn't at all terrible though in fact, present generations might be missing some really cool things in their own. Today, I wanna talk about the life we lived being in those years vs changes now and the awesome things my childhood has revolved around.

Being phone less :

All time legend of course

Back in times, having a mobile phone was really awesome thing. I have my DOB : 11 january,1999 and far as I remember, my dad bought his first phone "Nokia 1100" when I was in third or fourth standard. No other member had phone back then and believe me, I haven't heard of internet then. But evening used to be awesome as people used to interact and not just peek in their phones to check social media every seconds or to share snaps and tiktoks about every second of their life. There used to be no phones while we had dinner and families actually talked about how your day had been. There was also this thing that since only working people had phones, there was no unnecessary communication to waste one's time and thus more and more time for family, friends and relatives. I used to enjoy the space impact game on my dad's phone and I remember that spaceship of level one till date.

8 bit video games :

Me and brother would play this all the time

When I was in sixth or seven standard, me and my brother got a video game which used to get connected to our television and OMG I can't tell you the feel we both had when we put Double dragon, Snow Bros, Street Fighter, Super Mario, Duck Hunt etc on. It used to be the best moment of day for us. We played till mom would push us off the television to see shows and would shoo us off to studies. That video game was like our personal treasure back then, having console in hands was the best feel for us. In 8th standard, I got a computer and it had good specs as per that time(2 ggb ram and a core to duo processor, Dell). I can bet, having a computer in that time would automatically mean playing Vice city on it. Along with it, POP warrior within, POP two thrones, Mission IGI 1, Total Overdose, GTA San Andreas and many more.

Sassy bonded evenings :

Unlike present times, evening or pretty much any time in vacations used to be our outdoor playing time. While there used to be the school days, we would go out and play in evening everyday. It was games like hide and seek, fire and ice, chiklairs, hot chocolate, chase etc while I was young and more professional team sports as I got in fifth sixth standard i.e. cricket, football. Friends would shout for me and my brother from outside my house and then after mom's permission we would leave for nearby ground to play cricket(all time favorite back then) and enroute, we would discuss team division for the day. It used to be real fun to actually play in ground while at present scenario has completely changed. I sometime feel bad about how technology have changed those precious aspects of our life.

Power outages :

Unlike present times when every house has an inverter, when there were power outages in my childhood, we had no choice. I don't know how many of you have faced this or agree with me on this but we really had to literally wait for electricity to be resupplied. We could barely manage to contact hydel department for the delay and then they would tell us that this is the fault and will take this much time to get rectified. During nights, when my brother and me used to study(6-9pm) doing homework and all, that power outage would mean our escape route and break from the mom's surveillance to roof and we would giggle and play childish games enjoying outage. I have even faced a power outage for 3-4 days in monsoon once in childhood.

Collecting material(cyber cafe) :

A typical indian cyber cafe, source : google.com

As I mentioned earlier, phones were there and by 2010, a variety of those but internet wasn't available at cheap rates back then and people hardly had phones compatible with internet to this scale back then. Also, households rarely had a wifi connection and in case I needed to collect some material for school project or debate etc, I would go to cyber cafe, pay 10 rupees for half and hour and would download necessary data in pendrive. Many people also used to surf facebook as I used to observe back then. Cyber cafes are hardly visible these days with internet reaching every corner and even if they are there, very few people tend to actually use them. I would often see people sending important mails, downloading software and many other things.

Typical 90s audio players :

Image source : amazon.com

In present times, everyone has a phone to listen music during workout, jogging or in free times also. People would just go to spotify to find their favorite songs or wynk music or i tunes or youtube music and what not. But back in times, typical audio players used to be there which were pocket compatible and had an inbuilt memory of 1 GigaByte or so. They had to be preloaded using a data cable to listen form them using ear phones. I really feel nostalgia after mentioning them here. We would hardly find anyone with those in possession these days but you can still find them on amazon.

A lot has changed but it's inevitable also to witness changes with time. Technology has brought a revolution of its own transforming everyone at a really fast rate. Introduction of online payment, shopping, touch screen phones, tabs, computers and what not all very highly efficient and robust, has changed the entire picture. So much is going on at present that it's even hard to be informed about all of it. Being a computer science student, I am really excited about technological revolution going on as we enter in age of artificial intelligence and space travel but at the same time, I do fell bad somewhere about how kids of present generation are deprived of that awesome 90s feel.

Thanks for reading!!!!

Thanks unsplash.com for awesome free images!!!!!

3
$ 7.22
$ 7.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
Sponsors of DM
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This is just a short sweet nice drive by memory lane. Aside from the 8-bit games, I can totally relate to all that. My first phone then was Phillips Savvy I think. I used to spend a lot just to load my phone so I can call and text. Yes, there were no smartphones then so we would go to internet cafes where it was expensive to rent. Like you, power outages were common and we would experience having no power whenever there is a strong storm that threatens to knock down everything on its path. The one I miss the most is the socialization and playing with others outside with neighbors.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes bro exactly so!!!!

$ 0.00
User's avatar DM
2 years ago

omg HAHAAHAH i still remember the retro games before HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thankyou for sponsoring me!!<3...Those games were love

$ 0.00
User's avatar DM
2 years ago