Challenge : Weight Loss

2 32
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

This cursed corona not only brought disaster by death tolls only but also by it's many other physical and psychological affects. Many of us face mental trauma because of new off track life in dwindling economy with their businesses being operable on a small scale only, others are sick of missing normal social life. Among all these issues, a major one is most of us putting on weight. In these quarantine times, we have been sitting home doing very less for our body and eating to our full. Work from home also promotes this and gives us liberty to eat much as we want same time as we do our work.

Pizza is just a phone call away, chips have been bought in stock already so as to fulfil any unforeseen cravings, ice cream and cold drink are resting in fridge and we tend to eat anything anytime we want. On the other hand, outdoors are a dream now, gyms keep on closing and opening as per govt. guidelines and not everyone has enough motivation or arrangements in house to work out. Also, not everyone of us knows correct form for workout. I myself put on 15 kgs weight in lockdown period and I am really struggling to shed it off since gyms have been opened again recently in my state.

My approach towards this issue :

I have been handling this very rigorously since 16th of JULY as I have a deadline for my medical and I need to correct my BMI.

What have I been doing?

  • Running : I almost burn 200-250 calories on treadmill running 4-5 kilometers. Its like I first burn 150 calories and then go do strength routine. After hitting schedule, I again rock on treadmill to burn another 100 calories or more.

  • Cycling : In the first week, I could lose only 2 kgs. Therefore, I decided to go for cycling in the morning. Though I have been done this on two mornings only but I really look forward to it.

  • Gym schedule : I have been religiously following schedule of hitting one part a day along with cardio. I have been doing chest, back, bicep-triceps, shoulders, legs on different week days. This way, I manage to burn more calories other than tiring cardio. On a harsh day, I manage to burn 500 to 700 calories or more.

  • Food : It's not easy to lose weight while on a normal diet. You need to go calorie deficit to see changes fast. I have been eating liquid food majorly. I have cut off oily food, fast food, chips, bread, milk products from my diet for now and I am vegetarian too so not consuming any of non-veg. I have been taking pulses, sprouts, fruits, 2 chapatis at a time, salad and low calorie food these days. If you burn more calories than you consume then you become calorie deficit. In such situations, body consumes fat deposited in it to produce energy and weight loss takes places.

Positivity it is bringing in :

With falling weight and growing muscles, there is a rise in confidence. I have felt this myself. Few days before, I could feel my fat while doing any activity, I couldn't run and even when I used to try, I would just tire myself out in few minutes. I was only consuming lots of fats and was not paying any heed to my inner health.

In very few days only, I have managed to change this by 30% atleast. Now I can run 4-5 kms with some breaks in between, I can participate in cardio sessions and I really feel mentally empowered after this. Workout brings mental peace and physical confidence. It brings charm to persona and I have started fitting in my clothes which were being discarded 10 15 days ago. I couldn't wear jeans due to uneasiness I would feel in it but it is also changing now and I really look forward to play football again. With rising stamina, I can participate in my favorite sport soon as I get a chance.

I hope that I will drop my weight in the range of 60-65kgs soon and I know you guys are also working towards your awesome health.

As wise people have already said :- "Health is Wealth!!!"

Thanks for reading guys!!!!!

Keep burning keep flourishing!!!

Thanks unsplash.com for free pictures always!!!!

4
$ 2.65
$ 2.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ZehraSky
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 1
Sponsors of DM
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DM
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Wishing you all the best on your journey! I am so glad that you feel better about yourself. Keep it up and keep positive. I used to be morbidly obese and hardly able to even jog a kilometer without wanting to collapse. It's been over 10 years this year that I've been a normal BMI 🌺🌻

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks man for motivating comment and upvote!!!! May you maintain your BMI and flourish like this only<3

$ 0.00
User's avatar DM
2 years ago