how i grew from a junior staff to a manager in 2 years

15 39
Avatar for Cryptowriter
3 years ago

Everyone in their career desires to grow at least by one step with in 2 years but unfortunately most people get stuck in one position for several years without find growing. As somebody who has been able to grow in a less time, I feel I should share something.

After my Accounting degree, I really wanted to have a successful career working with multinationals or International NGOs and I did all it takes to find such opportunities including applying for every opportunity I came cross bit in the newspapers or online.

I know there are people who still believe that you can’t get a job without connections but myself will testify that I have been able to get several opportunities in just a very small period of my career without any connection.

Back to my story. So, I was working with for one of the telecoms as an account assistant about 4 years back and I really felt my Job at that time wasn’t giving me a ground to grow based on many factors and I realised it was time for me to move on which is the same advice, I would give anyone else who feels their current job doesn’t give them an opportunity to grow.

I wanted to switch my career to NGOs and I started by researching about their work from Internet, consulted from friends who were there and aligned my experience to match what these organisations do.
After 3 months of applying, I got an Interview invitation from one International NGO for an Accountant position and I will tell you that this was my first interview with NGOs and I got the Job.

After joining, I prioritised finishing my professional course and in 6 months, I was done. I emailed my certificate to the HR to update my employee records. If you too finished any academic qualification, let your employer know!

I did my best at work and showed that I was capable and one time one of the finance managers, I was reporting to resigned. I acted for them in that position until they found a replacement. While acting, I did my best and the bosses in the organisation got to know that I was a valuable employee during that time.

After one year, there came a manager vacancy in the organisation, it required 5 years’ experience, I had only 3 but wasn’t afraid to try it out. Guess what I shined in the interviews because I had mastered my work and showed I was ready to grow.

In just one year as a finance manager, I was voted the best male employee of the year.

I know you are wondering how I have achieved all these in a small time and I believe this makes you believe that you can grow in your career if you are aggressive enough to go after what you want.

25
$ 0.83
$ 0.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Cryptowriter
3 years ago

Comments

It's very inspirational. You know the thing was you set a goal and you work hard for it. You're in it to get it no matter what. Some people just want a job nowadays as long as they have a job their okay. I used to work in financing company although I didn't have any promotion, I always aiming to be on top of the board as we have monthly quotas. And I always looking forward to our semi-annual evaluation to see my progress. I think setting a goal and making your way to reach it is the key.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This your story it's really touching but well am really happy for you and congratulationsbro

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow what a really really nice story congratulations I wish you well in your new found job

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The first thing is to determine, have mindset and be focus. This also pertaining to my story as an entrepreneur

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed you have given a lot of important information and I really appreciate your effort on this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, it's magnificent

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow this your story is a motivation, congrats and keep wining

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So I need to be aggressive enough to get whatever I want

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes dear thats what you need to do

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for sharing your personal experience.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great artical bro

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You did well sir and you deserve that post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

congratulations you deserve it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow This is really motivational The moment we know what we want and go after it, we'll achieve so much success. Congratulations to you, I've learnt so much from you

$ 0.00
3 years ago