Meet the artist behind Abstract Dragon

6 130

I meet this artist on the Twitter last week and he is one of the very few artists that not only are they making NFTs and but he is creating music to go with each piece I have to say he is bringing something different to the market because at the moment I think there is only maybe 5 or 6 artist doing this so I was happy to chat about his project I also heard a little rumour that he might doing something with Yoshi as well .

 

Hey man

Hey bud. I'm currently sending out gifts.. Way more than I expected but I'm stoked about it

Take your time I am around !

Whew.. 41 tracks sent out. What a community! I'm so happy right now, lol So much fun man..

Glad to hear your enjoying it . How's today going for you ?

It's going pretty good man. The stresses of spawns but nothing out of the normal haha. How's your day going across the pond?

Cant really complain kept the kids alive for another day lol . Will you be doing any work on your project today ?

For sure. I put work in everyday when it comes to music. It tends to just flow out of me. Got a couple new ideas I'm tossing around as well.

I am guessing the music came first ?

Yeah it did. I started drumming at the age of 2. Actually have it on an old family Christmas video, lol. In school I started in concert band playing snare drum. I was awarded 1st chair(#1) and never looked back. I was classically trained in all percussion and performed in 100's of orchestral concerts. I also won many solo awards for snare drum and some state titles. I was an aspiring athlete in school as well so music and drumming wasn't quite on my radar yet as far as doing it outside of a structured school setting.

Oh wow so when did the NFTs come into it ?

Well, I've been in crypto for a long time now. My best move was getting into MANA Decentraland early. Researching them led me to NFT's which led me to Opensea and the ridiculous fees. NFT's took a back burner for me and I just focused on mastering my productions. I collect physical Funko Pops and on a whim caught word of the Funko Comic release on Wax. Created my wax wallet and drop account and purchased my first NFT's. I was super excited and actually got some physical redemptions from Funko NFT's. That got me into AtomicHub and then Neftyblocks. Being in many bands and touring in a prog-rock band as the drummer I did a lot of our bands artwork and flyers. I've always loved creating in many forms. The wax community was solid and genuine so I figured I'd try this NFT thing out and put some work on there.

So once you met WAX you knew it was for you ?

Most definitely. The low fees, the cost of waxp itself, and I found crypto.com charged 1 wax for withdrawals and I was set. I started surfing artists and was amazed by the talent.

When did you decide to start creating ?

Well as far as visual art I've been creating for about 5 years digitally. I've designed a bunch of logos for crypto companies and bands, you tubers and local artists. I figured I would design something vivid and eye catching to put on wax. I've always wanted to design NFT's since I heard about it because I'm an old school collector and love the idea. To be honest though if it wasn't for wax I wouldn't have tried yet.

Tell us about your project ?

Well my current project is focused on my musical productions. I am releasing beats that I have made, mainly Hip Hop ish and Rock. I have over 400 compositions completed in my library and create new ones daily. I also play drums in 4 different rock style bands and plan on releasing our material as well. I own and operate a multimedia company called Fuzzy Tongue Records. It's very fresh but plan on incorporating the 12 artists I currently produce and record for into the project. I have a lot of ideas. I'd like to take this project to the live stage and do live shows, jam sessions and videos. I would also like to do a producers pack where instruments are individual NFT's and can be blended with other instruments to make full songs. Right now though I'm very fresh in the NFT game and releasing mastered pro quality music I have completed.

And will the artwork represent the music ?

Yeah for sure. My current drop on Nefty is a beat called Lurk Bright. It's a spacey vibe with boom bap style drums and a wobble bass. I tend to easily vibe off of my surroundings and frequencies and my visual art comes from the same energy.

When did you launch on wax ?

I'm also going to incorporate Fuzzy Tongue Records as a main NFT focus. Helping my artists and new ones enter into the NFT space and learn the process on Wax. It's all about connecting and helping each other. My roots are in the music industry and it's a rough evil road. My first drop was a visual series I released Feb. 11th of this month. New Sumeria. My vision of what Sumeria may look like today. An alternate reality or universe.

How did it go ?

I'm one to do things myself and dive in and this first release was just that. I have no real presence as a NFT artist but love to create.

That's allowed they will start finding you . So I am guessing you haven't dropped many NFTs ?

For me it was amazing. I made some sales but I met some great people along the way that really helped me out. DBorjs PenArts being my main support. Such a great guy and artist. I also met a professional artist and graphic designer named Peter Wocken who has done work for some major companies. He liked my work and purchased some as well so I sent him a bunch of early mints of the release. Networking, the community and Wax in general have made this an awesome experience. No I have New Sumeria which is a 10 piece series and Lurk Bright which is a MP4 full length video and audio track. I have a new drop ready called dragonsmorph which is 10 different variations of one of my dragon logos. It will have rarities and limited mints.

DBorjs PenArts is brilliant love his work we did a meet the artist a while ago . Any sneak peeks ?

Oh man! That's so cool. I just busted open some of his packs last night and bought a bunch more of his work. Great guy! Stoked to read his meet the artist. Sure one sec for a sneak

That's cool .

Thanks man! That's variation #4.

What has been your favourite to create ?

I had a lot of fun with this logo actually. I'm still figuring out the right approach for my music but I love testing and getting my hands dirty.

What kind of music you thinking ?

Well that's one thing that separates me from a lot of producers, I don't sit in one genre. My main focus right now is Hip Hop. I'm an old school Hip Hop head but a fan of all music. I have compositions from country to metal, classical to EDM. Being a drummer and really working on my craft I felt open to accept all vibes and didn't want to limit myself to any kind of music. I just love to create and go with the flow.

What is the process behind creating your NFTs ?

Right now I'm using Photoshop and a video editor for music. I tend to grab a cup of coffee and just let my mind flow. I sit and focus and let what comes transform into reality. As far as music it's the same I'm just trying to tighten up my video editing skills and find something unique to visually present with the music NFT's.

How long does each NFT take to create ?

It just depends on how crazy my kids are, lol. I tend to take about roughly 4 hours total on a musical production. Playing, structuring and mixing. Then bounce that to my mastering software for the final touches. It all differs though. Visual art I retouch quite a bit. I want that vivid pop. I'm a bit of a perfectionist being a drummer though because I was never allowed mistakes, haha. I might remix a track 5 times for just the right sound and quality. Pretty much the same for the visual art.

As your so new I am guessing no collabs as yet has been done but would you do one and with who ?

I actually do have a collab going now. An artist PinkBunnyMoves@PBM_NFT contacted me about adding music to his visual art. I sent him a new track I just finished that is unheard with a nice fade in and out and it's a slammer too. He is currently working on a dragon for the release but that is all the info I have at this time.

Oh wow is there a dream one out there do ?

One of my main goals has always been to collab with other artist. I love to actually. In the NFT game I see a lot of amazing art that I would gladly add music to.

A dream collab..

Honestly right now I want to do something with Penarts. I love his style and ideas. I would produce an all original series of music just for him.

Il see what I can do . Have you collected many NFTs ?

I do have quite a few NFT's from many artists and projects. I own some from over 450 collections. Wax made that possible..

What's the biggest collection you are holding ?

I think Funko may be the most at around 200 NFT's and 9 physical redemptions.

Oh wow . What has been the best part of doing the project ?

Meeting great artists by far. This interview is at the top as well. I'm very grateful and still in shock a bit I was asked, haha. I've given away over 50 of my music NFT Lurk Bright as well which has been so fun. I think giving away my creations is a blessing.

Ever artist needs to be heard plus your doing something very few artists doing . What has been the hardest part ?

Well I had to learn NFT's from the ground up. Minting and collections, figuring out drops and ram as well as cpu. It wasn't very stressful learning, quite easy to pick up using the Wax chain.

What your family think of your project ?

I teach both my daughter and son how to produce music and play drums currently and they love my music and art. My Wife is a huge supporter and my rock and they all believe in my talent which makes it all the better.

Have you brought anyone into NFT world ?

Yes I have. Both of my kids and my wife. My daughter is currently working on her first NFT series that will be digital art. My father-in-law who is a rapper on my label got into the Funko series and now he's checking out other projects. I will also be holding a meet about the whole NFT process with my artists soon.

What you like to do to unwind ?

I tend to blaze a little herb from time to time and listen to some vinyl albums. I still favourite the show The Office and watch it quite a bit even though I've seen them all 100 times haha. Improvisation jam sessions with other musicians is one of the best to unwind.

Tell us a random fact about you ?

I was a state champ and pitcher for our elite baseball team in Springfield, Ohio. Still have the letter from our state representative

Oh cool . Where can we keep up with your project ?

You can stay up to date on

https://twitter.com/AbstractDragonJ.

I also have a very new discord but still trying to figure that out.

Where can we buy your NFTs ?

You can find my full audio track MP4 here: https://neftyblocks.com/c/adragonslair

You can find New Sumeria Series here: https://neftyblocks.com/c/newsumeria22

Any chance of a competition or drop for the readers ?

I would love to! I may need some help setting that up though I haven't quite got that far yet, haha.

Of course before we finish up is there anything you would like to add or say ?

I just want to thank you for this opportunity and it has been a blast! Thank you to the Wax community and all of the great artists sharing your craft. Thank you to PenArts for guiding me this far. Finally I want to say good luck to everyone and if you want to add music to your artwork feel free to contact me and we can discuss further. I like to give the artist I work with control over the finished product as much as they like and the freedom to create. I'm very open with the creative process and accept all positive vibes.

Its been a pleasure thank you for your time .

You're very welcome and thank you berry punch!

Anytime

I'm excited man thanks.

No problem

So guess check out his work while they are still quite cheap as I can see his work exploding give him a follow on Twitter and enter are competition below .

https://twitter.com/Crackers832/status/1497437635203137537?t=viA6jiEXZlRB1ow_-0iuSQ&s=19

21
$ 26.61
$ 25.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Pantera
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
+ 6
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

Oh! This is amazing! Indeed each one of us was given a talent for us to taken care of! So let's use it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool ones! Good article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait til you see the next one lets say GK

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those NFTs are so amazingly cool! Let's mint it. By th way, this is Kryptlook.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its minted on WAX

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Dragon looks cool with smoke puffing out 🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago