Tapas in the city of hot springs

55 125
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Hi! beautiful people of Read.cash.

These days, I've been short of inspiration to write. Maybe because I've been trying to do too many things, and it has been hard to focus. But then yesterday, I read an article by @Peter-Molnar, Some Of The Many Famous Cuisines Around The World. And it inspired me. I always enjoy writing about food and if it goes with some travel experiences, the better. One of the famous cuisines that Peter mentioned in his article is the Spanish.

I have eaten a lot of Spanish food in my life, and sometimes I've even been able to do it in Spain. The last time was in December, two years ago, when we went to meet my sister-in-law. She lives in Santiago de Compostela in Galicia. However, today I'm not going to tell you about Santiago. But about Ourense, another Galician city, much less touristy than Santiago. But to which we went by chance. And we were pleasantly surprised by its atmosphere and also its food.

When I say we visited Ourense by chance, it's because circumstances bring us there. We hadn't planned. We had made our trip to spend Christmas in Santiago with my sister-in-law and her family. And at the end of the year, we would go to Madrid to the house of her in-laws. But we were too many to go in their car, so we decided to go by train. But there wasn't a direct train between Santiago de Compostela and Madrid. We had to change trains in Ourense. And since the train was so early in the morning, we decided to spend one night there.

We arrived in the city in the afternoon. And after check-in in a hotel near the train station, we went for some tapas. Here, I will share with you the ones that we enjoyed the most.

Ponte Romana

One of the rivers that run through the city is the river Miño. And over this river, there is a bridge built by the Romans called Ponte Romana or Ponte Vella. The bridge is pedestrian. We cross it to go to the historic downtown from where we were staying.

View of Ponte Romana, Ourense

The Spanish Tapas

Tapas, for those who don't know the term, are like appetizers. And one of the things that I like about eating in Spain is the tradition of going for tapas. Going from bar to bar, grab a glass of wine or a beer with a tapa. And in Galicia, this tradition is deeply rooted, and Ourense isn't an exception.

Casa do Pulpo, Ourense

First, we visit a place called Casa do Pulpo. Where we had one of Galicia's most typical dishes, the Pulpo a Feira.

Pulpo a Feira, Casa do Pulpo, Ourense

The other thing we tried at Casa do Pulpo, were the zamburiñas (small scallops). And they were so tasty!

Zamburiñas, Casa do Pulpo, Ourense

After our passage through the Casa do Pulpo, we walked through the streets of the historic center and had a coffee in the Plaza Mayor. We also took the opportunity to get to visit the hot springs.

The Plaza Mayor

As in all Spanish towns of a certain size, the historic center is developed around a square. The Plaza Mayor in Ourense is quite nice and is full of cafes.

Plaza Mayor of Ourense, Spain

The hot springs

If the city of Ourense is famous for something, it's for its hot springs. There are the As Burgas hot springs in the center of the city. And it was the ones we visited. Although the pools were closed at the time we went. We were still able to see the place. And see how hot the water was in one of the fountains.

As Burgas hot springs in Ourense, Spain
As Burgas hot springs in Ourense, Spain

More Tapas

In the late afternoon, we continued the tapas route. And the best one we tried that night was in a place called Bar Fuentefria, a very crowded spot in the city.

Bar Fuentefria, Ourense

This place is known for its mini pork sandwiches. But what we loved the most was a tapa Tosta de Anchoa. It was a thin toast with a creamy tomato sauce, and on top of it, the tastiest anchovy I have ever tasted.

Tosta de Anchoa, Bar Fuentefria, Ourense

That night, the city was lively and had a good vibe. We toured various places, trying some other tapas before going to the hotel to rest a while before heading to the train station to take the train to Madrid.

Street in Ourense, Spain

This was our trip to Ourense. A city that left a very good impression on us, despite not being among the most visited in Galicia.

To you, my dear readers, thank you so much!

Thank you to my wonderful sponsors! You rock!

Disclaimer: I'm not related to any place mentioned in this article. It's just some notes based on my experience. 

All images and writings are my own unless anything different is stated.

© CoquiCoin  

#ClubBrokeBCH

Until next time! ;)

October 4, 2021

27
$ 5.02
$ 4.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 23
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Gosh. That sure does look like some amazing food as well as of course amazing travels.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amazing both the food and the travel, hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gracias por contarnos tus anécdotas y deleitarnos con tan lindas fotos.

Doblemente gracias por traerme tantos recuerdos bellos de cuando estuve en Galicia, todo maravilloso. Es una lástima que no conserve ninguna foto, pero los recuerdos no me los quita nadie.

Las vieiras, riquisimas.

Las tapas, es a lo que le decimos aquí pasapalos, puedes ir probando cada cosa diferente el mismo día.

Y si sales a tomar algo no te quedas en un solo lugar, sino que puedes visitar diferentes lugares, con ambientes distintos a pesar que pueden estar uno al lado del otro.

No he visto nada parecido aquí en donde vivo, como lo que hay por esos bellos lugares.

Mi venezuela es hermosa, lastima que no la he podido recorrer, pero Galicia y todos sus alrededores es realmente hermoso.

Me encantó el templo o no recuerdo cómo se llama de Santiago de Compostela, era como un castillo, una iglesia gigante, donde llegaban peregrinos caminando desde muchos lugares.

A lo mejor también lo visitaste.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

La Catedral de Santiago de Compostela es una de las iglesias más importantes de España y uno de los lugares de peregrinación mas importantes del cristianismo en Europa. Me alegra que el articulo te haya traído buenos recuerdos. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Que ganas de conocer la Casa Do Pulpo! Me encantan ese estilo de bares. Esos tapeos se me hace que son como una cena y por demás tentadores y originales. Esa Tosta de anchoa! Por favorrrr!

Además una buena excusa para beber unas cervezas 🙃

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Una excusa más que buena para unas cervezas! jaja ;) Gracias por pasarte por aquí.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tapas, tapas everywhere! This is a so cool way to be a tourist! My curiosity has grown up with this post, and now I would like to do that tour! Will I get drunk? Of course, is it gonna be a great experience? Damn yes! Thanks for showing us this adventure

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you don't get too drunk, so you can enjoy the food and the ride, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best thing of having a foreign friend, we can get introduced with new things, new places and obviously foods. Love this one.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, Luci! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love those vintage buildings, amiga. Everything stone or brick architecture is very attractive to me. The scallops looks so delicious too! Thank you for the virtual tour! Xoxoxo

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are welcome, amiga! xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this virtual tour, my friend. I get to see how it is like in the city of hot springs :) And the foods you have included are mouth-watering. I drooled looking at the scallops, lol! And the sandwich is really interesting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That pulpo looked just mouth-watering and delicious! I've always wanted to go to Spain and go for Tapas. My brother took me to Casa Urrutia in Caracas several years ago, just to replicate the experience haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That was a super good Basque food restaurant. I ever ate there in my other life when I was a corporate worker, hehe! I hope you can visit Spain someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh, those food and tapas were mouthwatering! Spain is another country that's on our list😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You'll love it. I wish you could visit it soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dad moved to Spain a while ago. Since he got there, his diet has varied considerably. Now eat the opposite of what I ate here. They even varied their meal times. Only two a day and very late at night.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, meal times in Spain are a little different. And they don't use to have a big breakfast. They usually just get a coffee and a Magdalena (muffin).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The food pictures category was my best part of this article,maybe because i love food a lot...😋😋

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I enjoyed reading through, you had a lot of fun with so many wonderful pictures...Spain dishes are making me all hungry and need to just stop by maybe teleport my way through....

You really didn't have what to write but you gave us the best articles today....

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, Gozie, for your kind words. I hope that one day you will visit Spain, and you don't have to teleport. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Something I like most is getting to see other country's tradition and how they behave especially how their dishes are and how they taste like. I hope to visit a country someday and learn more about them. Thanks for taking us on a ride to Ourense.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome, Princess ;) I hope someday you can travel to visit many other countries.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the past, I used Google to see places. In the past! Lol now I read you, Is there a place where you have not been? Do not answer me, the good thing about reading you is that I learn from two things that I like, knowing new places and food, now I want to eat everything I saw in your photos.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, I've been to some places. But not as many as I would like. When I was younger, I tried to travel whenever I could. Now it is much more difficult. Saludos! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't get my eyes off those scallops 🤤 I really love scallops and unfortunately, we rarely have it here. It's only offered mostly in far provinces or hotels. The hot springs look so enticing too. I can imagine how relaxing it is there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Here in Venezuela, we rarely have scallops too. And they aren't as good as those.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The city of Ourense is very beautiful. The Casa do Pulpo where you ate that tasty dish of octopus a feira, its owners are probably from Portugal.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Galician and Portuguese food has some similarities. They are very close, and it's easy to go to Portugal from Galicia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although it can be so embarrassing making a food review on your trip but sometimes, it's worthwhile

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The foods are making my mouth watery 😋😋😋. Probably when my dream of watching a match at camp nou (Barcelona-spain)comes to pass i will taste one of these

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, I wish you fulfill that dream of watching a match at Camp Nou :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful view, the best of the Spanish food, it looks delicious, you can tell it's a charming place.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's a nice place. Charming indeed, and we didn't expect it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the food the place 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm getting more excited to see these amazing pictures and food gonna visit their soon added in my dream place list to visit

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you can visit it any time soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those were really delicious and mouth-watering. I guess, I'll believe that unplanned trips and journey gives you more memorable moments.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, in this case, this unplanned trip indeed turns to bring great memories. Thank you for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unplanned trips are the best! Thank you for giving me a tour of that beautiful places and delicious dishes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome, B Champ! I hope you feel better. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am done eating my lunch and now I feel hungry again after seeing those mouth-watering food. Omyyyy💛

Unplanned trips are really the best, Coqui!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are rigth. Unplanned trips sometimes are the best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are great and lovely sites to behold. The only thing i've eaten of spannish is the soft chicken and it was very tasty cos i have an uncle in las palmas spain

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! The place is really beautiful ma'am especially the Plaza Mayor of Ourense.😲 The dishes are calling I want to try it also.🥰 How I wish someday I can visit this kind of places too maam.🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wish you can visit it someday. Blessings to you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much ma'am CoquiCoin..🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The city of Ourense should become popular by now. The photos of food, streets, plazzas etc. Looks so gud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't been but if I didn't know to go there, now I sure have a good reason to visit Spain someday, food.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wish you can visit it someday. The food is so tasty and there is a lot to visit there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful places and great dishes you have here. I know that traveling to new places gives you good experiences that helps you discover stuff like this new recipe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Visit new places is always a nice experience. Thank you for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you were not meant to visit Ourense but by chance you visited there,but I am glad to know about tapas, and hot springs which is famous there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Unplanned trips are often the ones we enjoy the most. I'm glad you get to know some things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago