Let's talk about kebabs, the Cag Kebab

37 160
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Hello, my fellow Read.cash readers. Have a good day, those that are waking up. And good night, for all of us on the other side of the world.

One of the things I love to write about is my travel experiences. And of course, about food. And if it's a combination of both, much better. And here I have published some articles related to food. But not with travel experiences. So today, I'm going to share one.

Something I love about travel is that I live the experience in all its stages. The before, during, and after. I'm freaky when it comes to looking for information about the destination where I'm going. It doesn't matter if the destination will be a city that I will visit for the first time on the other side of the world. Or a town a few hours from where I live. I always want to know more about where I'm going. What foods can I try, and even learn something about the customs of the place.

Kebabs are grilled meat dishes eaten in the Middle East. So if you are a vegetarian, sorry if I hurt your susceptibility because here I'm going to tell you about one of the types of kebab I ate on my visit to Istanbul.

I'm going to start with what, outside of Turkey, is perhaps the least known of the types of kebabs. The Cag Kebab, or as it's called in Turkish Cağ kebabı.

Cag Kebab - Photo by me

In the Cag kebab, the meat is cooked in a horizontal skewer with a wood fire, unlike those kebabs that can be found outside Turkey, in which the meat is cooked in a vertical big skewer. This kebab is originally from the Erzurum province in Turkey.

Cag Kebab is made solely with lamb meat, actually with fatty lamb meat. The lamb meat is marinated for hours in a seasoning made of onion, sweet basil, black pepper, and salt before cooking.

Source 1, to know about the origin of the Cag Kebab. And how to cook it.

Looking for the best kebab

Sehzade Cag Kebap - Photo by me

I did my homework before traveling to Turkey and had searched the internet for the best places to eat kebabs in Istanbul. One of the many that caught my attention was the Sehzade Cag Kebab, which happened to be very close to the hotel where I stayed.

And where according to The New York Times, they make the best Cag Kebab in Istanbul.

NYT article displayed in Sehzade Cag Kebab - Photo by me

And a note aside on the subject of kebabs about something that caught my attention in Turkey, It's that unlike in other places where people don't like to be filmed or photographed. In Turkey is quite the opposite. They rather like to have the attention. They like their places to be photographed and filmed. They see the value of the potential free advertising like this one ;). It's no coincidence that they have a reputation for skillful merchants.

So back to Sehzade Cag Kebap, they proudly display the New York Times review for them. And in this place, you won't find any other dish on the menu. People go to this place exclusively to eat Cag kebab. And they are really delicious.

Lamb cooking at Sehzade Cag Kebap - Photo by me

Inside the premises, you can see how they cook the lamb meat in the wood fire.

Kebab with Lavash flatbread - Sehzade Cag Kebab - Photo by me

They served the meat in a skewer with lavash flatbread, fresh tomatoes, cucumber parsley, raw seasoned onions, lime, and a mezze (Turkish word for starter) called Ezme.

Ezme and veggies -Sehzade Cag Kebab - Photo by me

Ezme means crushed. And it's a starter made with tomatoes, green pepper, parsley, garlic, onion, freshly squeezed lemon juice, olive oil, pomegranate molasses, red pepper paste, and salt. It's super tasty. And It's usually served as a mezze in kebabs places. But on my trip to Istanbul, we even had it as one of the dishes in the breakfast, too.

Source 2 to know more about Ezme and how to cook it.

In case you travel to Istanbul. The address to get to this place is Hocapasa Sokak No: 6 Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey.

The price of the food in this place and in general in all those we visited in Istanbul was very affordable.

In a future post, I will tell you more about the kebabs I ate in Istanbul.

Disclaimer: I'm not related to this place. And I haven't been paid to write this article. It's just some notes based on my experience visiting the place.

To all my dear readers and wonderful sponsors, thank you so much!

All images and writings are my own. Copyright CoquiCoin 2021.

Until next time! ;)

July 31, 2021

15
$ 5.46
$ 4.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 9
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Take me to Turkey now, please!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I had to grab something to eat for this one lol! I am with the idea that they should be photographed and filmed. In this world of instagram and youtube, that will be free advertising to them. Businesses should be open to that idea now for times have changed. People are in search for places to eat and social media is the best way.

Anyway, I haven't had lamb kebab but that looks something I will try. Turkey is one of the places I wish to visit someday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh yes, It's a good free advertisement. And Turks seem to know it. I could notice it everywhere there. And yes, this is very tasty. I'm sure you love it since you like meat.

I've been in Istanbul for only a few days. It's a very beautiful city, a paradise for photographers. For sure you will love it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I got interested in Turkey when someone posted a travel blog in one of the platforms that I used to belong. It was amazing!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it's amazing. I love Istanbul and I would like to return. And also would love to visit Cappadocia. Maybe I will post some of the places I visited in Istanbul because I have very good photographs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww so yummy, I usually watch some videos about kebabs and I was curious of how does it taste. Hehe i love food blogs!!! Newbie here👋 this is interesting💕

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you!:) And welcome to Read.cash!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes to travel and food blog articles... seeing how our food is cooked and prepared is definitely a good thing and a plus to the restaurant...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I think so too. But in many places, they don't like that people take pics. Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah and that's why we ask permission

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, in other places to ask permission is needed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a must-try :D When I'm gonna be able to is the question lol! And it's really good they allowed you to photograph them, quite smart of them, like you said, free advertising :) They perhaps know you're a blogger and like to have their place promoted hehehe.

I'm suddenly starving :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Actually, it was something common people taking photos of the food. Also, when you eat on a site, they ask you to do a review with photos on Tripadvisor if you like it, LOL. They are very clever, that is free advertising, hehe. I hope that one day you can try them. Maybe, when BCH mooning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's right, we want to document much as long as we can hehe.

Haha they're indeed clever on that advertising thing, and they get it for free! I do hope I can, although Turkey is not on my countries to visit but who knows hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Turkey is a good destination, I would like to go again. And Istanbul is a city with a lot of magic. It is the largest city that is between two continents, Europe and Asia. If you do a little research, I'm sure you will cheer up to visit it, haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe you as you've been to the country already :) I will need to put that up in my list then haha. Thank you :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I never ever tried yet 😳

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you could soon since it's so tasty!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And now I am suddenly craving to eat something because of this. Mom is still cooking our dinner for tonight. Faster, mom! I am suddenly hungry! It's Coquicoin's fault! 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂😂 I'm sorry! I hope you enjoy your dinner :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mouth kept watering when I look at that huge Cag kebab. If I ever have the opportunity to go to Istanbul, I'll go there. Thank you for sharing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe! I hope you could someday ;) Thank you for stopping by!:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do have a wonderful kebab selling that is at the downtown which I eat often before the covid period. The chefs came from Turkey and the food was really good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

How lucky you are! I love kebabs, unfortunately here we don´t have any. The closest thing we have are some spots that sell shawarma. Thank you for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let just hope that the turkish community in your area will start their kebab selling careers..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Let's hope so!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss kebab, my favorite! But i love the chicken more than lamb meat. I once worked somewhere in the middle east years ago and the hospital's canteen sells yummy kebab.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

How nice that it brings back memories to you. I like kebabs of all kinds, with lamb, chicken or meat. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't tried "Kebab" before but now I want to try it. It looks tasty to my eyes 😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you can try it someday!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Someday 😇😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My kind of kebab, I want I want already!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha, I want too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That cag kebab looks really delicious, makes me hungry😍 thats the joy of travelling you get to eat different kinds of food😊😋 and thank you for the sponsorship🥰🙏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My pleasure! You are very welcome. And agree with you, one of the joys of traveling is trying new food. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a difference in relation to the countries. Koreans can't be photographed and these Turks love photos. Which by the way these pictures you took are great. Just looking at them whets the appetite.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, in many places, they are bothered by photos. But the Turks know how to do business, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago