How much coffee is too much?

38 62
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

My yesterday's post about the events in Caracas in recent days left me feeling a bit down. Some news of arrests circulates today on social media. There is no news of more clashes, and life goes on. So today, I'm going to write about something much more inconsequential, the purchase of a new coffee maker.

If you'd asked me the question in the title of this article a couple of days ago, I would have answered that coffee is never too much for me. I'm definitely a coffee person. Although from time to time I can enjoy a cup of tea, without milk, please.

But for a few days, my son was with the idea of ​​buying a new coffee maker to make espressos and cappuccinos at home. We usually brew the coffee in a Greka. I drink it black, not too strong. And I usually have several cups a day. Cappuccino and espresso are for occasions in a coffee shop and a good chat with friends.

Last Saturday, my son insisted on the coffee maker. At first, I didn't agree because I know that when they get bored of using it, the coffee maker will go to the back of the kitchen cabinet. I think I've already have too much stuff that I don't use to have one more.

But on the other hand, the proud mother within me knew that I could give my son the coffee maker. After all, he deserved it, and I hadn't given him a gift for his excellent school performance this year. Also, the hubby agreed with the coffee maker. So I didn't have much of a chance of winning if I refused. It was already clear which way the balance would tip.

So, ta tan, the coffee maker on Saturday came home. Not without first going to the supermarket to buy coffee beans because they didn't want to use grounded coffee. Fortunately, we already had the coffee grinder at home, so there was no need to make another purchase.

Between yesterday and today, I have lost count of how many coffee cups I've had. My son has been trying to make coffee over and over again to improve the result.

We've learned that to avoid bitterness tasting in the coffee. You have to grind the grains until resembling salt grains. Not too fine or too coarse.

As a result of these attempts, and being myself one of the official testers. Last night at 2 a.m., I was still around reading articles on Read.cash. Today, I should be very sleepy, but it's not the case. And we'll see at what time I'm going to sleep tonight. So, I'm unintentionally applying the motto of a friend of my dear @FarmGirl. Sleep less and live more.

So I've been curious and asked myself, how much coffee is too much? And I've looked it up on the internet. And the answer is:

Up to 400 milligrams (mg) of caffeine a day appears to be safe for most healthy adults. That's roughly the amount of caffeine in four cups of brewed coffee

Between yesterday and today in this house, we have exceeded that amount. So I think it's time to put the coffee maker to rest for a while. Some of the side effects of having too much caffeine are high blood pressure, headache, and abnormal heartbeat. So far thank goodness, I haven't had any of them. But at least last night, it took away my sleep.

Of course, the coffee in the picture is from a coffee shop. And here in Venezuela, we ask for a coffee like this, Un marroncito, por favor! And if what you want is a black coffee, the way to order it would be, Un negrito, por favor!

And you, my dear Read.cash's friends, how do you like to drink your coffee?

If you've reached this point, thank you for reading me.

To all my wonderful sponsors, thank you all!

All images are mine.

Until next time. :)

July 11, 2021

14
$ 0.76
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.10 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 9
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

I drink 2-3 coffees with milk a day. :) Congratulations to the new coffee maker!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, dear Judit! And thanks for dropping by!♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't take 2 cups..I'll palpitate.. the coffee maker looks cool..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you! Thanks for dropping by :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes there are things it's okay to give into with your kids, such as a coffee maker. Hehe

As he experiments with it, it'll help him learn skills that'll be useful in the future, even though the coffee maker might eventually be forgotten.

I think I like, "Un blanquito porfavor" 😉 haha mainly milk and a a couple of drops of coffee just enough to barely smell it with 2 teaspoons of sugar. Mmmm...

I have to go now and make me a coffee. 😄 😄

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Jaja. In that case, we say, Un con leche, por favor! ;) Enjoy your coffee! And thanks for dropping by! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Personally i don't take coffee. I know it sounds weird because i myself wonder why i don't take it when every other members of my family do take it. Everything good has a disadvantage too especially when taken in excess. Just slow down a bit on it ma'am.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'll do it! ;) Thanks for the advice! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to be a coffee lover before. But I've gone stop it a long time because they say that if I drink much coffee it will trigger to my nervousness mode.😅(I get easily nervous especially when I'm surrounded by lots of people.) It makes sense tho, so I try to minimized my cravings for coffee and as of now, I more love to drink milk. There still times that I wanted to have even just a sip of it but I chose not to.

Thanks for sharing this one.😉

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If it affects your nerves, you better not take it. And milk is a good choice. Thank you for stopping by! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will really do that..

hmmm..You're welcome..💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest I like coffee but I need to stop it.Because I think its not good for my body. My sugar is high and they said coffee is too much sugar.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maybe you can try to drink it just a little and without any sugar added. Thank you for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay I will. Thank you too for the response.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like mine black nothing whatsoever added. To me and some of my friends, this is a downer for us. I drink coffee before going to sleep and it makes sleeping all better. For now, I just boil coffee in a pot. I can have as many a cup of coffee in a day but what I do is fill my cup and when it's halfway, I'll add water and repeat the process until there will be no trace of coffee. That's when I reheat the pot of coffee and start again. Sometimes though, I don't add water. I'll just add more coffee :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I usually drink mine black too with nothing added. Sometimes if it's too strong I also add water. And I drink several cups during the day. But it seems you drink more coffee than me, hehe. Good week for you, my friend!:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's more like I am drinking more water than coffee really :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly my mother always drink coffee not twice but 5 or 6 a day😅 I already said that coffee is ok but don't drink to much because too much coffee can harm you. Wala eh hardheaded si mudrables😅🤦🏻‍♂️ so after she drink coffee I give her water always. My mother is so addictive to coffee

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think I'm then like your mother. A bit addicted to coffee. Thanks for stopping by! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yo soy una amante total al café, mínimo tomo una taza de café diaria, y cuándo hay mucho trabajo en la universidad, tomo por la noche otra. No puedo vivir con el café, lo amo con leche, en realidad yo lo prefiero 80% leche y 20% café. Es una bebida más que exquisita y que además a pesar de solo tener un 20% de cafeína, me pone despierta.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Aquí al café cuando tiene más leche que café, nos referimos a él como un "con leche". A mi la verdad me gusta con más café que leche. Y también suele quitarme el sueño, hehe. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's seldom, I don't even much drink coffee. It's depend also for the taste. I like creamelatte. But I prefer to drink a milk. Since coffee is not good to our health.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think you make a good choice by drinking milk rather than coffee. Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also like coffee very much but I learned to dose it. It contains caffeine and theobromine as well as other compounds. But caffeine is the cause of the alteration in heart rate, vasodilation, stimulation of the central nervous system. It helps to keep us more lively and awake. That is why it delays sleep. Too much can cause harm.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for all the information. I think I will have to dose the use of the coffee maker at home as I did with video games when my son was little. Thanks for stopping by. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Un negrito por favor :) I like my coffee black too, and just about 3 cups in a day.

Your son may have been excited to test and taste what he makes you had too much for the day 😊 I hope you will use mr coffee maker for a long time before it gets stored in the cabinet.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

He was testing all afternoon yesterday XD. And since the first ones were a bit bitter, he did more and more, hehe. And I hope so, too! Have a wonderful week, my friend! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I imagine you'll be enjoying your coffee out of that machine every day :) and enjoy your week too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, well, I actually like the coffee from the Greka. Because I don´t like my black coffee too strong. But I guess it will be nice to have a marroncito from time to time ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, yes, that could be a diversion from having black all the time :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like my coffee with cream or milk but with no sugar and yes i think 4 cups is still reasonable but more than that is too much.... And if you think you have more than 4 make sure to drink lots of water to plush some of the caffeine in your system. Have a great day!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's good advice. I shall drink a lot of water :) Have a great day, you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I can easily have upto ten mugs a day :) I love my coffee, quite strong with creamer or milk please. That looks great, but I do wonder how long it will be used for.

Yes you will get outvoted 2 to 1, some battles you won't win hehe but that was a good purchase.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha, I'm taking note. So I won't make a mistake with your coffee. You could have been one of the tasters here. And I wonder the same myself. But you're right, there are some battles I won't win, so I better not try.;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe now that would have been fun !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a coffee lover! Before, as I was drinking too much coffee three times a day haha, I always palpitate and I become acidic. So now, I seldom drinking coffee because I need to. It is not good to drink too much coffee.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it's not very good to drink too much coffee. But I can't help it. I deceive myself saying that I don't take it too strong, hehe. Thanks for stopping by! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Indeed. Me too, I am deceiving because of the aroma! I can't stop myself. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago