Our Senses

8 22
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Well recent events have motivated me to write about this topic. I'm sure everyone learned that our 5 basic human senses are touch, smell, taste, hearing, and sight at an earlier age in school. Let's look into them a little bit.

Touch

So we use touch for determining temperature, pressure, pain, light touch vibrations, and many other sensations. Think of drinking coffee we often often take a very little sip to test it's temperature. Our hands get cold outside we put gloves on. We might test the pressure of a ball to see if there is enough air by placing both hands on it. It's a known fact that compassion is felt through touch. A good hug, kiss, and of course love making all involve touch. You might be at the hardware store looking for a particular type of sand paper to do some sanding. You will most likely touch the various kinds to find the texture that will be best for your project. Think of being in a meeting with a cell phone in your pocket but with the sound turned off but is on vibrate you feel an incoming call. I think it would be difficult loosing are sense of touch. Touch protects us from dangers and comforts us physically.

Smell

We often think that are furry friends win at this sense but did you know we can distinguish better than them. While they can pick up scents obviously better we have a better ability knowing what we smell. Sure our loving fur mates can be trained to certain scents but they don't reminder all their smells this is because we have superior brain power over them I love my dog and I'm not in anyway putting him down here. Any dog for that matter, would you want to be able to pick up a scent from a long ways away? Smell I see as a good sense after all we have heard the saying, "Does it meet the smell test?" It's also sense that many of us have lost temporarily to a cold or illness. I for one know a few people who can't smell well or not at all.

My English Bull Dog, Watson 😘

Taste

So many of us test out of taste buds on our favorite foods. This is done by determining if it is spicy, bitter, sweet, salty, and savory. We often decide after one bite if we like something or not. I believe smell and taste go to together like peas and carrots. I think our brain determines how somethings will taste based on our smell of things. This was probably a well used trait for our very early ancestors who lived strictly off the land. Smelling something not so good or tasting something too sour probably protected them from consuming poisonous fruits and plants. I think some of us really enjoy our sense of taste and have happy bellies to show for it,lol

The last meal I really savored

Hearing

Certainly our hearing plays a big part of are senses. It's the main way of communicating in our real lives. My hearing is ok but times I have a case of selective hearing, haha. Our hearing like other senses protects us. The sounds of a car honking, yelling for help, back up sounds on some vehicles, and countless others. Hearing can be relaxing as well by the use of Music. Unfortunately hearing can be a nuisance too through loud unwanted music, a heated argument, someone else's crying baby, and probably any noise that interrupts us while we are sleeping. Ever wonder why your voice sounds so much different on a recording and to others. Well this is because of the vibrations you make by speaking and your ears here it differently due to that. Do you like your real voice if not do you know someone that does? I always find mine a little weird when I hear it.

Sight

I for one take this sense as the most important one. It's really the reason I'm writing this article because I have had recent events that has made me question about which senses are the most important to me. I think this might be the sense that we would have to rely on others the most if we didn't have it. Think of all the things we would miss if we were blind. For me I come up with driving, walking, watching TV, and of course communicating online in environments such as this. I know our bodies adapt in many ways and if one is either blind at birth or becomes blind their other senses will probably be enhanced.

Alright I'm not going to leave you hanging I give you brief story of my recent event. So Friday I started to have some vision issues in my left eye. They gradually got worse over the weekend but started to steady at the condition by Sunday. Best way to explain it I was only seeing 3/4 moon in my left eye. The quarter part was like a curtain on my inside part of my vision. Other back ground information, I have already had 3 surgeries on the same eye. So I made an eye appointment Monday and it was determined that my retina was about to detach. So they scheduled me for surgery a few hours later. Oh one the worst surgeries I have experienced, so painful as I was not knocked out. Well doctor's orders were to sit and sleep looking downard. Well there's not much to do in these positions other than read and write using my cell phone, haha. I guess I will have to do this for just 2 days. Anyways I go to post surgery appointment today to find out more.

Final Thoughts

As humans our senses are being utilized at all times. Might not seem like it when your sleeping but know they are on alert. One could probably make a strong case stating their most important sense. You already know mine and if I had no choice to lose one it would probably be the sense of smell. Which two would you choices?

Lead imagine from Istockphotos.com

All other photos are mine.

Take care and thanks for dropping by 😁

6
$ 0.55
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeuplincs
$ 0.05 from @Duvinca
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

It is a Very unique and beautiful article I have ever seen.You Have described the topic so well.I like it very much.Have a nice day.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for the kind words

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hehhehe, this was my lesson yesterday with my tutor. The five senses and their important functions in our body. And maybe without any one of these makes our life harder because they play special roles in our body. People should be grateful for having complete senses and be considerate of those who are not.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Too funny maybe I watched as a distant learner 🤔 lol. Yes I totally agree be graceful and considerate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I understand a bit... I had a problem in an eye, and well my eyes are delicate plus the myopia. And in that moment I felt how important our senses are, we need them and give us a lot of information, we should be grateful because we are lucky if we can see, smell, hear, touch and taste. Get well soon!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I thought I replied already it must not of took. Yes a full armor of senses is great and we should be grateful. Thanks hopefully recovery will speed up soon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sometimes, I also wonder what is the most difficult to lose among of those senses because they are all important for us.🤔 But for me, I think it is sense of sight because it seems scary to live in the darkness...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes they all are so beneficial to us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago