My Favorite Basketball Player

57 85
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Hello I hope everyone is doing well. Today my article is sports related. The first thing I will mention is basketball's early beginnings. Second I will tell you about when I played the sport. Third I will talk about my son's basketball journey. So let's tip off!!

Early History

The game of basketball has been around for more than 130 years. I know its history well because I learned about it growing up in school and played it. Also the sport was invented in my country. The inventor was Dr. James Naismith, he was a physical education (PE) trainer. He came up with idea to give young athletes conditioning inside during the winter months.

The first basketball hoops were actually wooden fruit baskets. The object of the game was to get the ball in the basket. They were hung up high and when the ball got into the basket it had to be retrieved because there was a bottom. Eventually they removed the bottoms of the baskets so the game could go on quicker. Today it's an international sport played all over the globe.

As a player

I started playing as a toddler. I don't remember those days but there are pictures of me playing. I can remember playing in my early school years during recess time. I was tall for my age and I played the "big guy" position which is called the center. I didn't play organized basketball until I was in grade 3 or 4.

I was usually the high scorer in every game I played in. I was not much of a dribbler and I just scored right underneath the hoop. I was like a head taller than everyone else. So if I missed a shot and I did a lot, I would just catch the ball again (rebound) and shoot it until I eventually made it. See picture below I had an advantage, haha.

I was in grade 5 I believe, tallest pictured

I played some more in junior high but by this time a lot of kids caught up to me in height. So I accepted that my time was over as a basketball player. I did both basketball and wrestling all throughout my childhood. Once I quit basketball I did wrestling full-time in the winter.

Growing up I liked the Philadelphia 76ers. I did get the opportunity to watch Julius Erving play towards the end of his career. Some of my favorite players were Charles Barkley, Patrick Ewing, Michael Jordan, and many more. Today I like a couple of professional players.

Next up

Well my son took to basketball a little later than I did. He didn't start playing really until he was in grade 5. So his first experience was being on a small recreational league. He played well and was very much a regular player. After the league he really wanted me to get him a hoop for at home. I did and now he breaths, sweats, and bleeds basketball.

He would shoot and dribble for hours during that the summer. He was in a zone for basketball. Would watch training videos on moves and dribbling. When the colder weather came he wanted to go to the gym and shoot.

So along came the next recreational league season. He asked me the most points I ever scored in a game. I told him 26 points, so what's he do in his very first game of the league? He drop 31 points, haha. Kid only has only been playing a year to this point!! Sitting in the stands I heard from other parents telling me that my son is too advanced for this league. Once the season was over one of the referees told me he can't wait to see what he does in high school.

So for the next season we signed him up for a league that required try outs. There were over 200 kids competing for 8 teams. So only 80 kids got onto teams and a select 10 kids got to play on the top team. It took a few days to be notified but he kept talking and checking with me to see if the rosters were announced. When they were released I read from the bottom to the top. He was selected on the top team. Oh what a proud moment. I told him you will be playing with and going against some really good teams. I told him to use this opportunity to get better and not worry about statistics. So what happens? He turns into the leader of the team and led them in scoring, haha.

After this he ended up playing for many other select teams. He has accumulated a lot of medals and trophies for the teams he has been part of. Once he got into high school he got some varsity playing time as a freshman, which doesn't happen often. As a sophomore, he started on varsity and led the team in scoring. He decided to transfer high schools after his sophomore season. The school he was at was a football school and not much attention was given to basketball. He's a junior now and the basketball season has just begun, only 3 games played. He loves the atmosphere at the new school and enjoys being part of team that works hard.

One of his dunks from last year
Taken at last night's game he led the way with 18

More thoughts

I had some videos on my phone that I wanted to share but it wouldn't allow me. I could share some Twitter and YouTube videos but they are personnel and would reveal his whole identity. Well I had some favorite basketball players growing up. My all time favorite basketball player and will always be is my son :) Proud Daddy πŸ€ πŸ₯° πŸ€ May he keep knocking down walls and reach his dreams. Love you, bud.

That's all I have for now. Taken care, be safe, and enjoy the rest of this year. Love you all ❀️

Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty

Click to follow:

Read Cash

Noise App

For Noise App please like my last post so I can follow you back.

30
$ 3.36
$ 1.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Unity
$ 0.25 from @TheGuy
+ 20
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

Hey first of all thanks alot for this amazing link you gave me to figure out. Actually i have alot to say. Well i always wished for being tall, lol but i didn't get any of gene that make be taller than 5'4 (my poor height) that's why Guard position is assigned to me in this game of basketball and I'm quite good in shooting that's why I'm guard because I'm good in ball handling and in 3 pointer. You must be a proud father, the game which you quit Is leaded by your son. His dunk makes me feel like how good his game will be. I wish i could watch some of his video, so i can learn some tactics from him. Well sir, this game has made me know about you and your story. Indeed it was a worthy read, i love it. Thank for sharing with me. 😍 AND congrats your Son's team won the game with 18 points , more victories to him.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you I thought you may appreciate this article since it was a basketball article. There team is 11-4 and our starting to gel as a team. I think I may do an article after the season is over as sort of recap. He plays guard and is 6 foot 3 inches. He is hard to matchup with put a small guard on him he takes him inside. Put someone tall on him he drives past them or shoots on them when he fakes a drive.

So does your university have a team? You should try out if they do.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Inside university people prefer volleyball more than a backset. So i have to go to private school where with the help of coach i get to know about drills and other tactics. Yes, sir kindly do that write about recap. I'll be waiting for that 😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I will but it won't be until season is over which could be as late as March.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh ok ok

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love this sports. Especially when my partner is playing for being his number one fun and cheerer,hehehe. Anyways, you are so supportive of your son, I wish your son a success.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's a fun sport to play and watch. Thanks it's easy to be supportive he loves it :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome my friend☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh basketball is one of well known and played sports here in my country. Like all males are familiar and played this game.. Many were also a fanatic!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes it quite popular about everywhere now :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish your son success.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you sir

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your son was blessed with such a cool and great dad like you friend πŸ₯° Supporting him all the way for sure will make him feel that you are proud of him. It so nice to read that he is totally a great player indeed. πŸ™‚ I am not that sporty person but I loved watching basketball too! πŸ₯°β™₯️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you being a parent and having that pride for your child is an amazing feeling. Someday I hope you are blessed with a child, you would be a great mother. Take care friend thanks for stopping by always πŸ₯°

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am praying for that too friend, soon ❀️ Thank you so much, and take care too. Be safe always and God bless. It will always be my pleasure to read all your articles. πŸ₯°

$ 0.01
1 year ago

After football, basketball should be the next most popular game in the world. Over here, basketball is not talked about like the way we vibe for football, but my country's representatives are good though.

I know the basic on basketball because I studied that during high school but I don't think I can play πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yup football is #1 globally. I bet you could play. Like any other sport it takes dedication and practice to do good :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love that sports. I usually watched every game of my brother every league that they play

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's fun sport to watch. Best of luck with your brother's journey with basketball

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naah it just an inter barangay league just within the village

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your story and the pics are good enough pieces of evidence about how much you love basketball. I never played but saw others play. Basketball is a unique test for agility for all ages.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes much love for basketball I've always liked it but it wasn't always my favorite. I'm sure it's clear now why it is now, haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A proud Dad indeed. I don't know much about basketball. Lol. Hubby even had a game last night and he ask me if I wanted to watch him play and I said no. I am not interested about basketball.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's ok it's not for everyone. However I bet you change if your son gets into basketball :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Finally!! Your son really inherited his basketball skills from you sir and he can dunk too and the team score leader. I'm jealous haha. At a young age he accomplished a lot already. I hope someday we will see him in a big stage sir.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha I'm jealous too I wasn't half the player he is now. He has a few colleges watching him. His high school coach is all about getting his players recognition. I'm super excited about his opportunity beyond high school he has a good chance. Thanks to your article you gave me the push to pull this out of my drafts and finish it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awesome and lovely journey of your legand. I love his determination and passion. More success to him!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you sir :) Super proud Father here!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww....how proud you would feel to see your own son playing football. I wish him more and more success in coming years.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. I'm already proud of him so far for what he has done :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I would also be proud if my son had a good performance like that. I wish more win's for himπŸ’―.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. They all do things that make us proud. The older they get the more we hope they make us proud:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh lovely, if he wishes to go nuts in basketball I wish him success there.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks a sport he loves and I hope he succeeds

$ 0.00
1 year ago

During my youngers years hehe (im not still old) im joining in the school competition but because i got an injury of my hand (my litle finger)thats the time i stop to play basketball, then i decided to switch other sport like biking. It was so fun to play basketball because it take your cobfidence to make a teamwork to make success of your team. And my favorite basketball player is one only Tim Duncan basic and fundamental nothing flashy like others, the excellent footworks i always admired to him.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Tim Duncan was a great ball player. I remember when he first came up and was with David Robinson. Those Spurs teams got some rings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aaaw this is so sweet and you must be a very proud dad. I look forward to be like that to my daughter but for volleyball

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. Well best of luck to her in volleyball 🏐 how old is she?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She's 1y/o 😁😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So a future point setter, hopefully. It's fun to introduce them to sports but let them choose. My son tried baseball and he disliked it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oh for sure! I'd love her to try different things, that's the thing that I somehow didn't get when I was younger.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah you're very tall 😲 It's opportunity to use such height in that kind of game hehe I don't know much about basketball and all I can do is to shout and cheer cute players haha lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha that's funny were you a cheerleader?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My son started to love basketball when he was 7-8months.All the round things he seen was a ball for him.I do support what the tgings he love ,bought some ball and install a basketball ring but when he was 6 years old ,he lost his interest maybe because of gadgets and he did'nt see anykids playing basket at all.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's a fun to get our kids in sports but they have to want. We can't force them into things. How old is your son now Chelle?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He is 6 years old and he is interested in new things like taekwando but I am not sure to support this for him I am afraid that he will fight meπŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I was in Karate growing up. He won't fight you. You could always do it as a family. The karate kid movie got me into it, haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohw ,thats cool hihi your story convinced me to support my sonπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I actually did Taekwondo they also teach and install respect.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, you really liked sports, and it seems that your son did too, and he has already won many medals and trophies, so I wish him much success. It's normal for him to be your favorite player, that's how it should be! For me the Chicago Bulls, obviously from Chicago jaja (I was in the stadium but watching the Blackhawks as it was the season of ice hockey there).

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you Duvinca I seen the Chicago Bulls play a few years ago in Omaha for a preseason game. Haha ya I'm a huge sports fan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow,your son followed your step as basket ball player.I know the feeling of being a proud parent hahaha. Congrats to you and your son sir Bob☺

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Maria. It's the greatest feeling on the planet isn't it?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it means a lot seeing our children succeed in their careers. their achievements are also ours.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, this article made me realize how proud you are of your son and he is really a good player! Congrats to him and his team. I am looking forward for my son also to choose this team sports like his father who also played basketball in his younger years.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's a good sport for young kids. Hope your son chooses the same. We have to let them choose though, can't be pushy

$ 0.00
1 year ago