Drinking Mostly Water

14 36
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Ok writing about something sometimes you can get for free, haha. What is the best thing to drink if you feel dehydrated? How about if your doing a hour long cardio workout? Some of you may say water and if you don't it's ok as well. So I'm going to take you on my journey of mostly drinking water.

What Else I Drink

I have one love in the morning when I get up. Probably a favorite for a lot of people, coffee. I probably have about 2 cups and I use some creamer as well. A few times I thought about quiting but I just can't do it. Heck, I have been using the same cup for 2 decades, haha. The other drink I have is unsweetened tea. I drink it plain no lemon and no added sugar. I usually only have this when I go out to eat. This isn't often and I dont always order it. I might have a half dozen of them each year.

My poison :-)

A Slip

This summer while out with some other parents out of town for one of my son's basketball tournaments I drank some beers. It's a big deal because I haven't drank alcohol in 8 years prior to that. I'd say in the last 20 years I have drank like 3 times. It's just something I don't partake in. I guess I just worked myself up for it because I had planned to do it a few days prior.

Prior to Change

I drank a lot of things. I use to drink Dr. Pepper like Tom Hanks in the movie, Forrest Gump. I did eventually switch over to the diet version though. I also drank milk, most juices, and many of the sports drinks out there.

My Water Decision

I'm not quite sure when I actually started but it has been more than a few years. For the most part I did it for weight loss. It would also be beneficial for my sugar intake.

To be honest, this was easy to do because I had some forced practice when I was younger. I had some military deployments over in the desert of Saudi Arabia. It didn't take long to realize if I drank soda I would notice white sweat marks on my shirt. I also got dehydrated quickly. To no surprise the temperatures over there were insane and I quickly turned to water. I have never drank so much water in my life. At first, I went to the bathroom very often but as time went along I developed a super bladder, lol. I still have that super bladder today.

My Dailey Intake

Once I've indulged my time with Coffee in the morning I switch over to strictly water. On work days I bring a gallon jug with me along with three 500 ml bottles. I almost always finish the gallon jug before the end of the work day. I'll take two of the bottles with me to the gym during my lunch break. The last bottle is for the car ride home. I'll drink a bottle or two the remainder of the day.

My Water Benefits

I think I have benefited well from drinking water. I noticed within a weeks time I felt cleansed maybe I drank way too much soda, haha. I feel making this change I have more energy. Being dehydrated is like be sucked of all energy. I have noticed I have less cramps and headaches. The greatest benefit of all is it curbs my appetite. Even if I get hungry and I know I don't need to eat I'll just chug some water. It really does take away the hunger at least for me.

Cold Vs Warm

I heard from a few people room temperature water is better for you. I did some research and found it aids with digestion easier. Its also better for you when your sick and have sinus congestion. The last thing I found is it can quench your thirst quicker.

I also found cold water is better than room temperature water when you work out. The same thing can be said when your in the heat outside. Makes sense it's all about body temperature. The last thing is cold water can create a shot of alertness better.

Disclaimer: I am in no way trying to get you to drink more water. What I have mentioned above works for me. Get with a trained health professional on what is best for you.

Final Thoughts

There are a lot of people who can't believe I have the discipline to do this. Some think water just taste so bland. I'm to the point it doesn't bother me to drink water. I don't relapse thinking about drinking those sweet drinks. I have grown to love drinking water.

Once again thanks for stopping by. I hope you found this interesting. I wish you all a good weekend and please take care of yourselves.

10
$ 1.98
$ 1.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @esmeesmith
+ 4
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

Means you take coffee in the morning and two cups why I don't have such protocol in my home I also want coffee but there is no one who can make coffee for me maybe you are making it yourself but you know I could not make coffee so it would be hard for me .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well I make it myself but I'm not the only one drinking it. Why not make yourself some?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I gave up on coffee. However I do drink turmeric tea and green tea. I feel it's good for me as I have a bit of blood sugar. I feel green tea is good on most part.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Good for you. Yes sometimes we have to change because of health. I have heard a lot of things about green tea. Is there a particular kind you drink? I at one time tried green tea but I think it was some off brand. Hmm maybe drink that in place of coffee and unsweetened tea.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to drink a lot of root beer. I drink that almost every day. I also used to drink beer a lot until I got wasted. I don't do those anymore. Then I used to drink a lot of water. Now, I drink coffee more than anything else. I prefer hot/warm drinks because cold doesn't agree with my teeth anymore.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well it's good you kicked both both beers. The root beer has so much sugar. Nothing wrong with Coffee heck it's mostly water anyways.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup, I only drink black coffee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is what I should practice now, drinking a lot of water, because of too much soda and other flavored drinks, I am suffering from dehydration sometimes and I'm suffering from pain due o my kidney stones. Thank you for reminding me of this, I think this is the sign for me to do it anyway.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm glad this article was a reminder to you. I was having a mind block and I came up with this. BTW do you teach a certain age or grade of students?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm teaching Grade-V students, I'm teaching at the elementary grade level. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Many people drink many things as a liquid. I love to take tea because it has Nero activator for me. But before tea I love to take water as much as I can.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You there are many healthy drinks. Especially when it comes to tea.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am a known coke (coca cola not the other thing) drinker back in high school and elementary. When we have parties they know i would prefer coke so they make sure there is coke for me and beers for them...

I kinda mellowed down on the intake some five years back. I guess you get taste fatigue some times. When I got back to drinking it again, it is not as often and as much as before but I do indulge when I have the chance to but only if i drink a lot of water before and after.

I am more of a coffee drinker these days but would love to do a lot of water intake too.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

A lot of have the go to drink. Mine was Dr.peoer. I do remember how good a coke taste in a glass bottle!!Yeah coffee has a strong hold me, haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago