American Foods

20 33
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

What is there to eat in the United States? The answer is just about anything. This is due to the country being so diverse with numerous nationalities. A lot of our early immigrants brought there homeland foods recipes with them. So if your looking for any type of cuisine anywhere in the world you can probably find it here. Just a warning though it might have an American twist to it. There are a lot of foods in America that many think are American but are not. Some include Pizza (Italy), hot dogs (Germany) and even Apple pie (England). Let me just mention some that we're created here.

Philadelphia Cheese Steak

A delight that includes thinly sliced ribeye steak cooked with your choice of vegetables such has onions, mushrooms, green peppers, and banana peppers. Once grilled to perfection top it with a few slices of provolone cheese and stuff it in a good sized toasted hoagie bun. Serve it with fries and you have a yummy tasty lunch or dinner.

One of my favorite cheat meals. I like mine with provolone cheese with onions, green peppers, and mushrooms. There are many different variations to include different types of cheese such as cheddar cheese and white American cheese. Additional vegetables such as jalapenos and bell peppers. As well as different sauces to dump on top to give it a little kick

Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich

Photo from www.cookingwithcurls.com

A sandwich that has been packed in every American school kids lunch box at some point. Probably the easiest of all sandwiches to make. You only need three ingredients: Peanut Butter, Jelly, and two slices of bread. Everyone has there preferences on peanut butter. Some like the creamy and others like the crunchy. Same goes for Jelly as well as bread. The typical PB& J is two slices of white bread, creamy peanut butter, and grape jelly. I prefer using whole grain bread, creamy peanut butter and grape Jelly. Pair it up with chips and you have a very quickly made lunch.

Buffalo Wings

Photo from wwe.delish.com

The name is a giveaway for these tasty chicken wings because they were first introduced in Buffalo, NY. These delights are usually fried or baked to perfection. What sets them apart from regular chicken wings is the sauce there caked in. Often served at house parties or sports bar and grills across the states. The taste of them of course will be different everywhere you go. One thing in common is you be asked if you want blue cheese or ranch dressing to dip them in. Serve will celery or fries or both and your almost set. You will also need wet wipes and napkins these can be messy.

Meat Loaf

Photo from www.thewholesomedish.com

Where's the beef? Well this dish is almost all beef. The ingredients usually include egg, onion, milk,ketchup, and bread crumbs. You won't find one that taste exactly the same unless it's the same cook, lol. My mother's recipe is similar but she uses crushed saltine crackers instead of bread crumbs and puts sliced cheese over the top the last few minutes it's baking. Typically served with mashed potatoes and green beans. I also like to be sure to have the ketchup bottle close by as well, haha. This meal is on the dinner menu and depending on the recipe can take anywhere from 65-85 minutes to cook.

Dessert

I'm sorry but this is my ending. I have to use a phrase from a Pink Floyd song, "How can you have any pudding if you don't eat your meat." Maybe I do an article on the deserts of America, lol

I could have mentioned many more but it would have just got you more hungry, haha. I hope I didn't make you hungry with nothing in the house to cook. Was there anything above you would like to try? Also curious if you have had any of these in your country. Anyways as always thanks for stopping by and take care.

Lead imagine obtained from unsplash

9
$ 0.84
$ 0.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeansapphire39
$ 0.05 from @BCH_LOVER
+ 3
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

Hmmm the Philadelphia Cheese Steak makes my hungry lol. I loved peanut butter but in jam not so hehehe.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ya the cheese streak is pulling away with the favorite choice. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

..thank you..this could motivate mi

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Any of them you would like to try?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't done combining the peanut butter and jelly into a sandwich haha. I gotta try that soon. Oh, I love Buffalo wings. Especially if there is a white sauce. Just perfect.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yup gotta try. Thanks for stopping by!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buffalo wings is somewhat famous in the Philippines because there are a lot of unlimited chicken wings restaurants in our country wherein they serve it as one of the flavor on their menu.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's good, do you like them? I can see a lot of countries having them it'sbbasically just a little sauced up chicken wing haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes! it is really good though, it just the sauce that makes it delicious haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mouthwatering foods. I like to have a taste in the first food you introduced, just reading the ingredients made me want to have that. With the peanut butter and jelly sandwich, i love to have that peanut butter sandwich since it's one of my favorite but jelly sandwich, nah for me. I tried it when I was in Highschool but I didn't like the jelly spread. Anyways, thanks for introducing the american foods. I think some of those are present here in our country too.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Try a banana peanut butter sandwich!! I still want some banana cue.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'll definitely try it. What I tried before was the mayonnaise sandwich with banana on it... Yay, banana cue us delicious, craving for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow!a great and tasty food I guess,enjoy your foods and be full have a nice day to you☺️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey, I am from Pakistan but all the American food we can easily find here in our country and I tried most of them. I don't like sweets much because I am a big fan of junk and spicy food lol that's why Buffalo Wing and Steak are my favorites.

Tbh, after reading your food blog I am aiming for yummy food. Well, Can you please send me here or invite me to your dinner Night? Haha Just Kidding.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well I knew it would make some hungry, sorry about that, haha. Ya buffalo wings are good and so many different flavors. I usually have to do half orders of different kinds. The Philly steak is so tempting everytime I think of it, guess this was a good to time to write about it because I'm currently sidelined right now.

Thanks for stopping by friend :) Take care

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's already 1:00 in the morning here, and now, I'm craving huhuh By the way, those foods look so delicious, thank you for introducing some American foods, I want to taste all of those that are mentioned.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you hopefully you can go to bed without eating. I'll share something about PB&J try it with sliced bananas in it without the jelly. Super yummy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am interested to eat buffalo wings. Looking so delicious. Thanks for sharing the American foods.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha You gave me the inspiration to write this one from your article the other day. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago