Am I Scared of Anything?

27 74
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Hello friends and readers. How has your weekend went so far? Mine has so far been a busy one. It's almost like I won't get much time to re-energize for the normal work week which starts on Monday for me. There is some good news I was able to spare a small amount to deposit here.

Today my article came from the ideas from another user here. Please check out the article, "Random Questions" by @Angge22 I'm not using all the questions but will provide the answer to one of them which is my article title. It's really neat to use the ideas from a user who shares the same birthday as me. I also find it really cool she has a sister on board here as well, @Zhyne06

Alright I will tell you one of my fears, I don't want to give you all of them as you would certainly be able to bring me to my knees 😂 I think there are a few people here who know what it is. My fear is of the following stinging flying insects: bees, wasps, and hornets. Let me tell you my story.

Flying stinging insects

I think most of us feared these in our younger days. I just never grew up dropping the fear 😂 I never got stung by them until I reached the ripe age of 42. I thought in my mind that maybe I'm allergic to them. I did have other family members that were though.

The earliest memories of my encounters come from mowing grass. I lived in the county side growing up so we had a huge lawn. My first encounter was me versus the bumblebee. On one side of our lawn was a grove. An area that doesn't get mowed. There was tall grass and plenty of pollen producing plants. The bumblebees would fly around and the sound and size made me think they would pack a good punch. I'll admit there were many times I left the lawn mower by running away from it like a little girl seeing a mouse. On the main lawn their were a lot smaller bees on dandelions. Ok the mow paths weren't always straight 😂 Sometimes I would stop than quickly mow over them.

I have had so many close calls with wasps in particular. I have had them land on my arm numerous times. I would swat them off and run the 1oo meters probably in record times. Heck maybe I should have ran short distances in track. Put a beehive behind me and when the gun sounds I bet surely my chances of winning would be high.

Hornets I have only seen a few times. Darn things are monsters who wouldn't be afraid of a 2 to 3 inch stinging insects. I remember one time going to mail box to retrieve the mail. I opened the door and heard and seen one. Once again my quick reaction and quick speed saved me. I finally got the mail but it was hours later as I slowly approached the mail box with caution.

My time did come when I finally got stung. What was I doing? I was mowing grass alongside a shed in my back yard. I felt like a pebble hit me hard in the back of my head. It wasn't a pebble because the pain was accompanied by a pulse related feeling where I was hit. Surely it was a wasp because there was a huge nest near the peak crest of the shed.

My only other time was this past summer when I was at work. Some co-workers were loading up a rack that contained some metal poles. While moving it a slew of wasp flew out of it. I was a good 20 feet away and thought that was a safe distance. I got hit twice in the back of my head about 5 minutes later. All I could think of was why me wasp I didn't do it 🤣

Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty

After thoughts

Now a lot more of you know one of my fears. I will tell you I should buy stock in wasp spray as I have back up to back up cans of it. Don't think I get very close to the nest I spray either. I probably also spray much more than I need to. Have to make sure there's chances of survival right? Anyone interested in another fear I have? If I get a few comments of interest I will do a Part II. Are you scared of anything?

Thanks for stopping by, take care, and be safe. Love you all ❤️

Click to follow:

Read Cash

Noise App

Hive

For Noise App please like my last post so I can follow you back.

14
$ 0.84
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @BCH_LOVER
+ 7
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

I used to be more horrified by flying stinging insects before I did a 4 1/2 year stint as a pest control technician and had no choice but to deal with them. But learning about them and knowing what to expect helps.

I have been out of that line of work for more than 10 years now, and I think I have reverted mostly back to my old fears. I want them gone. lol

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha you know you can contribute getting back to your previous work. I'm just kidding. As much as I hate them they do serve a purpose. Hornets and wasps they can just go though, lol

$ 0.03
1 year ago

They are, as some might say, a necessary evil in the world. Oh well. What can you do?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Payeer donation account number P1059683585

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We need you .. please help us.. Syria earthquake

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is a name of bee here in or country that many people are scared because when they hit us they feel not comfortable abd they had a fever, this bee was found in the forest even in the high tree

$ 0.05
1 year ago

The bees are slightly different across the world. If I ever get a chance to go to your country I won't be looking for them 🤣😂 u

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bees are really scary. I admit I'm a little scared by those and and I'm afraid of cockroaches, snakes and leeches too... With bees, I had been stung by those few times before while during my childhood years, a snake bit my foot as I accidentally step on it while fetching water.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The snake bite had to be scary. I bet you you trained to look dowm

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hate bees also but what scared me the most are frogs 🫢😂 I don't know why but I really get frightened whenever I see some frogs 🥹 Huhuhu.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aren't most frogs green, your favorite color, hehe. I'm not a big frog lover either I know someone who is. They are out after rain a lot maybe you despise of too much rain ??? Thanks for stopping by :) 💚 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahhhh, I think that is traumatizing. Some may even get that experience into their dreams OMG. I am just fortunate that I never experience any of this aside from being bitten by a big ants, lol.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah some ant bites hurt. Never stung, any close calls?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never! And I don't ever want ro experience that, goodness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe I don't like honey 🍯 bees can just go!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah! First stung at 42 and in the back of head it must have hurt so much worse. Did it swell?

My husband almost died of a flying stinging insect too! He climed up on a tree that has a nest when he was still very young and disturbed them. I guess the whole colony stung Jim. Lucky he was rescued by his cousin that time. Oh, he fell on the tree too!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It turned red and didn't swell very much. I've never been stung anywhere else. I know they swell on other body parts

Oh the whole nest of them and fell out of tree. That's a nightmare worthy story there. I'm glad he got through it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now he had some phobia, I might be rude but I find it funny in some ways.

Yeah it does swell, and it feels itchy too. But it doesn't swell as much if one eats sugar right after being stung,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I didn't know about eating Suger helped, interesting...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wasps are scary for goodness sake. Others even get fever after being stung by them. I am also terrified of flying cockroaches as if they're butterflies. Damn 😳😬

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I haven't seen flying cockroaches. I'd have to have a net to get rid of them nasty bugs I do remember military basic training when they would get stuck underneath the door ways because they were too fat.

You only have to say wasp and I cringe 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Flying cockroaches always get into my nerves 🙃 that's when they feel hyperactive and they're in the mood to tease humans. Sighs. Always get me every single time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yikes keep them there or direct them to their roach hotel, haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It requires extreme concentration and mobility to hit them with my ultimate weapon "slipper". Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eww the squish 🤮

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I was little I was afraid of bees because one stung me, then my father took me to the center of a honeycomb and asked me to do what he did. That's how I learned that they don't sting me if they don't feel attacked by me. I will soon publish my fear. Thanks for the tip.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Bees maybe the case, but wasp and hornets your not going to get to close to their nest. Haha winter is good for something, no stinging insects.

Look forward to reading your fear. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a PANIC of the wasps. They really terrify me, to the point that I paralyze, I remain completely frozen when they are close, and it is impossible for me to move or speak.

The most curious thing about this is that it seems that these insects know it, and they look for me, they sniff me!. I guess it's an adrenaline thing or something that has nature that they detect that pheromone or whatever in the air and chase me.

What a disturbing topic hahahaha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha I can relate dude. I don't freeze but run and definitely stay away if I know they are near. I have stopped a car and got out of it before because of them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago