12 Filipino Superstitious Beliefs if you want to Pass the National Examination

19 62
Avatar for CoinBitShac
1 year ago

Who wants to get a passing grade or rating? Who wants to be on top? There are Filipino beliefs that we follow before, during and after examination if we want to pass.

I just want to share the things that I observed from my classmates that they do before they take the Licensure Examination for Teachers and for me its not bad to believe in those things. All you need to make sure is that before the examination you prepare yourself mentally, spiritually and emotionally that's the most important thing. So lets talk about the things that we do before we take a National Examination.

Track the Topnotchers

If you are preparing for the national examination and you have a friend or schoolmates who top the previous examination you need to ask a simple favor for her/him. Get your pencil which you will use in the examination and ask him/her to sharpen it. Its a sign of goodluck.

Church Blessings

One of the most sacred blessings for most of the Filipinos. Before we take the examination we ask the blessings of a priest or a pastor to blessed us, even the things that we will use especially the pencil. You can also visit the different famous churches in your province.

Think that you will be the Topnotcher

Before the examination don't ask or aim that you will pass the examination, you need to think that you will be on top. Why? Because if you wish that you want to pass the examination next to passed is failed but if you wish to be on top next to top is the word passed.

  • Failed

  • Passed

  • Topnotcher

Don't cut your hair and nails a week before the examination

Before the examination don't cut your hair. Its a sign of bad luck. Some Filipino believe in this belief, if you cut your nail and hair its like you cut the thread that will serve us the bridge to pass the examination.

Put a book under your pillow

After you study and you want to rest or sleep don't forget to put a book under your pillow. Some Filipino believe that its for you to remember the things that you study.

Always right

Before you enter the examination center make sure that you use your right foot to enter the testing room.

Red Underwear

Most Filipino believe that if you want to pass the examination make sure that the undergarments that you wear is color red or make sure that you wear something which is color red.

A coin in the shoes

Before you leave your home or apartment. Make sure that you put a coin in your shoes. Most Filipino believe that its effective to combat the nervousness that you feel.

I drop my pencil

During examination once you dropped your pencil don't pick it up. Its a sign of bad luck Use another pencil, that's why make sure that you brought more than one pencil.

Kick the chair in front of you

Before you leave the testing center, some Filipino believe that if you want to passed the examination you need to kick the chair next to you they believe that its a sign of goodluck.

Turn your head

After you leave the testing center, all you need to do is to look forward. Don't ever try to look back at the testing center because its a sign of bad luck.

Leave the things you used

After you take the examination leave all the things that you used or give it to the instructor who give the examination. Leave your pencil, eraser and sharpener all of it.

How's that? I know some of it are funny and embarrassing to do but its your choice if you will believe in this kind of things.

Did you know that I never do this, the only thing that I do since Im religious, before the examination I ask the priest in our town to blessed me and I also visit the different famous churches in our province. But of course its not bad to believe in this kind of things just make sure that you study and you prepare yourself that's the most important thing and of course your prayers. Luckily I passed the National Examination with flying colors.

Author's POV

Say Hi to my dear sponsors.

Sponsors of CoinBitShac
empty
empty
empty

Disclaimer: The lead image I used is from canva.

CoinBitShac_2022

8
$ 2.37
$ 2.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @cinderella
$ 0.02 from @Lhes
+ 5
Sponsors of CoinBitShac
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoinBitShac
1 year ago

Comments

The coin and the pen is the common things I see or hear or sometimes they need magalay ng egg kay sta. Clara.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also heard about that. I think my classmates ask their blessings from St. Joseph of Cupertino.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I heard some of these beliefs but I never did any of these things when I took the civil service exam. I prayed and asked for God's blessings and studied.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too, that's enough for me prayers and if you are really confident about the yourself, this things are not necessary at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Prayer really works no doubt about that but you must read and pray not just pray alone and expect miracles

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are really funny I must admit🤣. That's how superstitious work anyways, the little funny things we believe. Non of these are common in my region...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah some of it are little funny. But I can't blame some people why they still believe on that maybe they are just hoping good for them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was an interesting read. It's always nice to learn more about other cultures.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree, I also learned here in read cash by reading articles of some user here they featured their culture that's why even though I never been in that place I can still imagined how they live.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope these all things helped someone in passing examination. Because I didn't pay attention to these projects. I have trust on my hard work rather on red underwear being pencil notcher etc.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope so, its not bad to believe in those things we just need to make sure we study and prepare ourselves. That's the best thing to do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I only heard about the coin😂, as I said I wasn't really that Superstitious person and so I haven't done any of them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One of the most common practice, when Im still studying I always put a five peso coin in my pair of shoes. My mother told me that its an effective way to erase the nervousness that you feel. And one funny experience about that. Way back 2017 I lost my wallet and of course I need to ride a jeepney to go home and the two five peso coin in my shoes save me that time. 😀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These beliefs are not strange to me, probably done all of it but what baffles me, is how we tend to give much preference to someone who wrote the exams before us than to pray

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One of the most important thing that we should do. To pray and to submit ourselves to God almighty. Its given that you prepare yourself but you need to ask his guidance if its for you then God will give it to you if not there's still an opportunity waiting for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I heard some of them, but the others were not familiar to me. The most iconic is asking something to a board passer, or borrow their pencils hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true hahaha most of my classmates ask a favor of someone who got a high rating and they ask him to sharpen their pencil.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha yeah I had heard this beliefs before though don't know if it works

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I don't follow this belief but some are still believing that its effective and its not bad to believe maybe they just want a Goodluck.

$ 0.00
1 year ago