Start over: I'm tired

16 39
Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago

Sometimes in life, we feel like we can't go on, because of the circumstances and setbacks, it never gets easier on the way, we just have to get stronger and if possible learn kungfu, in case physical combat is needed, lol. I started chasing my music career years back (not that long though), when I started my journey as a recording music artiste, I told myself that it won't take up to a year before I become a big star, because I know that I have good music that people can easily relate to, that became my motive to put in more efforts in my music career.

Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty

To be honest, I never knew that life has a different path for me, I quit my job and became a full-time artist, mama wasn't pleased, she was against me quitting my job because she thought I'm going to end up being a smoker or an armed robber, I explained to her that salary can't pay me enough money to give you and my siblings a better life, she told me I was being greedy and it's not good to be greedy, she said I should be satisfied with what I have now, that was how Dad was patient for so many years and he couldn't build a house with his job, Dad smiled in pain" sir I didn't mean to disrespect you I was, no need to explain son I understand your point "father replied" mom please try to understand that I need to do you this for us.

Abel! Abel!! Abel!!!, How many times did I call you, three times ma, I will ask you this one, what are you going to do now that you have quit your job, I want to chase what papa didn't chase, I want to become an artiste, you want to be a child of the world Abel?!, Don't you know that we named you after Abel in the Bible, you think we didn't see Cain, I know mom, but the kind of song I wan to bring into the music industry it's different what you thought, hmm, okay let us hear one of your songs (I played an instrumental from my phone and began to rap for Mom and Dad) tears started falling from their eyes, then I asked, why are you both crying, Mom, replied that is tears of joy and they both prayed for me to excel in my doings.

Right after that moment, I knew that if I want to make it big, I have to leave Edo state and head to Lagos where my destiny is, but how will I go, where will I stay when I get there? Even the money I saved from my previous job won't be enough to save me there, well I have to start my music career here in Edo state, I just have to start from somewhere, when I start earning money here, I will move to Lagos and continue my journey there.

The journey of a thousand miles starts with a plan, so I took my pen and person and started planning on how I'm going to be recognized in Edo state, but nobody like rap song here, they prefer singing to rapping here, how I'm even going to get audience here in Edo state, even some of my friends and relatives always skip my song while playing music for their playlist.

Oh Lord, it's chasing my dreams a good idea? If yes, Lord please I need fans so I can keep pushing on, I need people to believe in my dreams so I don't see reasons to give up, please Lord I know that I choose to go into circular music instead of gospel music, I hope you under and help me, Lord.

Vera was at my window listening to my prayers without me realize, oh I forgot to introduce vera in, vera it's my neighbor who loves good music, but she's not much of a singer though, after listening to my prayers, she walk past without me noticing, the next day she approached me, wow why would vera approach me this morning as if I stole her stuff, I was asking myself because I know that she doesn't even talk to normally not to talk about approaching me, well I kept my cool and I asked her, what's up, how was your night, she replied and told me.

Ever since I heard you praying about fans I decided to ask your siblings to send me one of your songs, where you pipping on me, she said no that she was going pack some of her close and blah blah blah, that's not the issue, I want to let you know that you have a very good song and the world can't just wait for you to fine.

Rejection has been on replay ever since yesterday on my playlist, it felt like you were expressing your inner self on the song and I didn't know where years started dropping my eyes, I wrote that song when I was going through a lot in my life and I couldn't say it to anyone, then I put it into music and let people hear me through my lyrics "I replied" that's really nice, I just want to let you know that I'm officially your number one fan.

To be continued in my next article..

Days back @HappyBoy wrote an article with Start over using the style of Why not acrostic, so I decided to hop on it.

Lead image source

5
$ 1.61
$ 1.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 3
Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Cogamedia
2 years ago

Comments

Wish you the very best brother, you did justice to it. Thanks for the mention, i appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You welcome. Sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everybody seems to be doing acrostic these days, I think I will do another one later. Good job bro, you nailed it 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks boss..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I could imagine you being a good singer/writer based on your post.. you have beautiful skills about expressing your thoughts :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks ma. I really appreciate it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice acrostic! I wish we can just learn kungfu and be done with any life setbacks haha

About your dream of becoming an artist, why not record yourself in a video and send them to music recording companies in Lagos? Maybe there is a way for you to search their contact info online? Just a thought...

Anyway, I wish you all the best on your plans :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have been doing it through Instagram and Twitter ND even Facebook. But I believe that one day, my light is going to shine and my dream will come through.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm surprised you know about Lagos being the place for something like that, you ever being to Nigeria ma'am?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe, I think so

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a Good Music writer and Singer. Whatever it takes continue your passion and Dreams in Life. By God's will and Grace you will succeed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen, thanks for the prayers 🙇🏾‍♂️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is beautifully written and I enjoyed it. Wow! I hope you have a lot of fans for your dream to come true. Let me expect the next episode 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen. Thanks alot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I love the write up. You're into music, this is very good too. Please on your next episode, remember to drop a demo for us, let's listen too and be like Vera. Weldone sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I won't forget to add my song to the next episode.

$ 0.00
2 years ago