Better safe than sorry

9 50
Avatar for Cogamedia
1 year ago

A few days back @Olasquare wrote an article about his cousin's wedding and he also shared his experience about the first time he drank palm wine which took him unexpected, haha, I was laughing at the bus when I read that part, everyone will be looking at him differently from that day.

While I laughing, I thought of the article differently, there was a lot of sense from it, and a lot of lessons to be learned from the event, which I am going to write here this happens every day, but some people still fall victim to it because they want to feel among, they don't want to be left out, they want to be among the dwags, lol.

As written in the title “Better safe than sorry” I think I have shared an event that occur sometime in 2020, when I and my old music crew (I call it old because the crew is on hold) went for a show and we weren't able to perform, that night, something happened and I just kept it to myself as if I didn't see anything, while the show was going on, there was this other artiste that we met at the studio one time, he came and we are were seated in the same table.

There was not much money on us there was no money with us, lol, we managed to donate and around and buy some plastic juice, haha, half bread is better than none, we were just using that to chill and let it not look like our table is empty, after some minutes, this other guy that is an artiste ordered for a packet of cigarettes, they gave him and he kept it on the table, he began to smoke one, he also told us to feel free to join it, join what? Lol, I just acted like I didn't hear.

Two of us four of us, took from the packet and they joined him in smoking, I kept calm, I and the other guy, three of them smoked the whole packet and the show wasn't even over yet, lol, they smoked it and continue talking, I was just put my earpiece and act like I was listening to music, though I wasn't even playing music from my phone, how can I even play music when the club music is very loud, haha, well this tactic has saved me from a lot of unnecessary drama and side talk.

They were talking and I was listening, without acting like I was listening, the show was over and everyone was leaving, the guy among us that is supposed to talk to one of his friends around the area to let us spend a night there, he didn't even tell the person, the other guy bought another pack of cigarettes, this time I know that the show is over and I needed some space if I don't want to join them, so I took my chair and walked a bit far from them, the other guy that didn't smoke first was seated with them, they were talking, I don't even hear what they were discussing cause this time I have turned on my music in my earpiece, the club has lowered their song.

Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty

Three of them were smoking it, one of them gave the other guy a stick of cigarettes, his hand was shaken at first, they taught him how to hand it and how to sip it in, that night I think he was able to smoke just that one stick, I was just watching from the other side, while the three experts waere just smoking it like a pro that they are, haha.

It's like I saw it coming, that's why I shifted my chair away from them and the other guy that stayed with them ended up joining them to smoke that night, what am I trying to say, sometimes it's not about how strong our faith is against temptation , is about avoiding the temptation at first, when we see that the energy that we don't like is dragging us, we just take a step back away from it, not because our faith isn't strong, but because it's better safe than sorry when satan told Christ to jump from the highest building, Christ would have jumped to show Satan that he's a liar, but he didn't because he knows that the best thing was to work away, the stress isn't worth it.

I have come across countless videos of young boys that went smoking because they see their mate smoking, some of them end up in the street running mad, the worst part is that the same friends that gave the person the substance he smoked will be the same friend to record the person and they all will be laughing over it and share the video online, I have seen countless videos, even @Kacy01 shared that when he tested weed for the first time because his roommate and his friends are always taking it, after that day, no one told him to return home, haha, I couldn't hold my laughter.

Peer pressure is real but how you react to it is what matters, I remember one time that some guys I know took me to the hoe house and they said that they will pay for me, I couldn't do it and that day I felt like a loser, but later I realize that I wasn't a loser at all, if I had done it, maybe they would have been using it to brag around that they took me to the hoe house and so on, though they were talking about it they also talked about it that I don't have the guts, I am still grateful that I didn't do it, cause the whole street would have heard about it, haha.

Conclusion

Better safe than sorry, it's better you don't do it than do it and regret it later, its better you walk away from that thing that will destroy you than stay with it while you saving that it won't destroy you because you have faith, that isn't faith, faith expects you to walk away while you have the chance then for you to just be there.

Lead image source.

11-06-2022

8
$ 3.74
$ 3.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 5
Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Cogamedia
1 year ago

Comments

I congratulate you for this attitude my friend. I wish you would warn your other friend

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Peer pressure is really especially when it comes to smoking. You did the right thing by staying away.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Swrs and I didn't regret it. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I learned a lot of things from your article... thanks

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the feed back.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Peer pressure is real o, but it actually depends on the type of thing that is involved. Like me now I have lived in the midst of smokers, my two roommates in school na chain smokers and I have been friends with one of them for over 10 years, why the other one is just 5 years but I have never smoked ones in my life. They have tried giving me weed to smoke with them but I no gree, those things no dey ever freak me

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Swrz, like 90 percent of guys weh dey I know dey smoke finish.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Many became a victim of this..and was left a laughingstock sometimes

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true,

$ 0.00
1 year ago