Learning style: How To Get Better Grades

6 65
Avatar for Coco01
Written by
1 year ago
Sponsors of Coco01
empty
empty
empty

Everybody wants to become the best at their chosen endeavors, and it is the desire of every student to make the best grades at school and be at the top of their class.

Achieving that feat is no easy task, I mean, nothing good comes easy. One has to be disciplined, hardworking as well as persevere.

You want good grades? You must be ready to pay the price for it.

Daily studying is the key to having better grades.

While some are accustomed to the practice of studying daily, some are just starting and some others are finding it difficult to start.

To those who have already started and are accustomed to the practice, well done. More grease to your elbow.

For those who are just starting, keep up the good work.

And for those who are finding it difficult to begin the practice, or have already started it but are finding it hard to be consistent with it, here are a few steps that could guide you.

First and foremost, find out what your learning style is. Are you a Visual learner? An Auditory learner? A Kinesthetics learner? Or do you prefer the Reading and Writing method?

For the Visual learners (like me) they see and learn quickly with pictures, colors, charts, maps, graphs, diagrams etc. They prefer things to be written down in books or on the board. They need to see the teacher's facial expressions and body language, they like having pen and paper in handy and of course, they need quiet study time.

For the Auditory learners, they like to read aloud and talk to themselves-they like to hear themselves speak. They are good in study groups, they are not afraid to speak in class and they enjoy acting and being on stage.

A Kinesthetics learner is good in sports, they enjoy science experiments and constructional games, they usually study with loud music, they are not all that great at spelling, they learn more effectively when they are free to move about freely and they fidget during lectures.

The Reading and Writing learners likes to have pen and paper in handy, they also like to jot down things said by their teachers, they read aloud and they also need to see the teacher's facial expressions and body language.

Having explained the different learning styles, take an assessment test on yourself and ask yourself which one you fall under.

That would help guide you towards becoming better at studying.

Below are some other suggestions and guides towards having better grades at school;

HAVE A PERSONAL TIMETABLE:

My school principal has been drumming those words into our ears at school almost every morning when she's giving her assembly speech, and those words have stuck to me.

I have a personal timetable elaborately drawn up and posted on my wardrobe door where I can see it everyday, and I made sure that all the subjects I was offering at school was evenly distributed between the days

You could make yours as well, with the help of your teacher or counselor at school or your parents at home.

STUDY DAILY:

Dedicate two hours of your time every day to studying at home. That way, you could revise what was taught in class, have enough time to do assignments and even study ahead of the next class.

That's what I do. Every term, I get a new exercise book and I dedicate it to studying at home as well as taking notes of important points when my teachers are teaching in class.

Let me be honest, I used to study everyday before but I don't do that anymore due to the fact that I have to combine school work with my blogging career, but I always try to balance everything.

I try to study at least 3-4 times a week now and I'm still topping my class.😊❤️

GOAL SETTING:

At the beginning of every academic year and even every term, set some goals for yourself. Realistic ones.

Set some goals on what you would like to achieve at the end of the term and the academic year, and not just setting goals but work towards achieving such goals.

Don't sleep on them. Work hard so you would pat yourself on the back later for a job well done.

BE ORGANIZED:

Have your necessary materials eg textbook, study notes, colored pencil markers (for highlighting important points) etc ready at all times.

Keep a calendar, make your Reading desk tidy at all times so you don't feel overwhelmed by too much books. Keep to time.

Get yourself more involved in class activities and note that reading time is different from play time.

REST WELL:

It is okay to have a nap before you can start reading so your brain would be well rested and ready to accommodate new information and knowledge.

Give yourself breaks (maybe a minute or two) to cool your brain down and assimilate new knowledge so your brain doesn't feel overworked or clogged up.

Appreciate yourself and give yourself a treat at the end of your reading task.

What some people do is, they put bars of chocolate into the pages of their textbook or whatever book they have to read, so as they read on and they get to the page where there's chocolate, they eat the chocolate and give themselves a short break to rest their brain.

You can start this method and see how good it'll work for you.

NOTE TAKING:

Take notes of what your teacher's teaching, listen attentively in class and ask questions when in doubt.

Teachers are always happy when their students ask questions because it shows that such student is paying attention to their lectures.

GROUP STUDY:

Surround yourself with friends who Like to study so you will feel encouraged to study whenever they are studying. Do group study ejyh your friends, and conduct a pre-test before exams.

That's what I do. I have group of close friends and before test or exams, we conduct group study and pre-test to test our knowledge of what we've learned during the term, and my friends and I are the top five in my class.

PRAY:

Finally, pray to God to back you up and help you remember all that you've studied during the term and be confident in yourself.

Don't entertain fear as fear could make you forget what you have studied.

Give all these a try and I can assure you that you will be at the top of your class.

I hope you enjoyed this article.

Cheerios 😊

10
$ 1.26
$ 1.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.02 from @Tife.
Sponsors of Coco01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coco01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

As a student, this helps me a lot. I'm a auditory and a Reading and Writing learner, and I really know what to do when I'm studying and I don't know what to do. I just listen to my friends or my parents (mostly father) to learn more about the lesson I'm learning. Thanks for this huge info and advise.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am glad that my article was of help to you,and I'm especially glad that you discovered your learning style and not only discovering it,but you're putting it practice.

It is my utmost wish that this knowledge gained and put into practice would yield results for you in your academics.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am the one with a pen and a paper always haha, I can't understant any of the topic without jotting it down.. it's my way of studying and getting good grades 💚💚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is fantastic! I'm glad you have identified your learning style and you are putting it into practice,and not only that,its working for you !

Keep up the good work and don't relent.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you are also studying in the same class in which I am , and also I have studied the same course outline which you are mentioning in this article and the book name was study skills by Carol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh that's great then. I based that article on a research book named "Better Pikin". Anyways,I'm glad you identified what learning style works out for you,and you're putting it into practice. Good luck,friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago