I Celebrate My Birthday Once In Every 4 Years!

29 96
Avatar for Cineholic
2 years ago

Today one of my student has its birthday. So he brought a cake 🎂 along with candies 🍬 and chocolates 🍫 to school. We wished him happy birthday and he then distributed the candies and chocolates to the class. Then students asked me about my birthday and I told them that I was born on 14th of August 1995. They were planning to celebrate my birthday but I ask them to keep it simple. Anyways, one of them stood up and said, "Sir I celebrate my birthday once in every 4 years." My subconscious made me say "oh k, so you were born on 29th of February. Right?"

Yes sir, I am one of those unlucky kids who born on 29th February. He said sadly. Why you saying yourself unlucky? I asked. My all friends get gifts every year while I only get once in every 4 years. He went on, why we have leap year? Why we have to add one extra day every 4 years. I didn't know the answer as I never thought about it. Although at that time, I made him speechless by saying that "you are special. You are one of a very few people in the world who born on 29th February". But deep inside, this question made me curious about leap years. I talked to different persons, read tons of articles and watched videos but no one satisfies me about the topic. But I gathered some information from different places and now putting it here in simple terms. So here we go.

LEAP YEAR

A leap year is a year that contains an extra day to keep the calendar year synchronized with the astronomical year or seasonal year. Every year whose number is dividable by 4 is called leap year. For example, 2016, 2020 and next will be 2024.

Reason

To know the reason behind the leap year, first let's know what Year is. A year is the time period in which Earth completes it 1 circulation around the Sun. Earth takes approximately 265 days to complete 1 circulation around the sun.

Let's focus on the word approximately. I said it takes approximately 365 days to complete a year. But if we look into details it actually takes approximately 365 days 6 hours. Although this 6 hours are negligible but after every 4 years it becomes 24 hours. 6+6+6+6=24 hours. Which is equal to 1 day. That's the reason we add 1 day extra after every 4 years to keep year in its specific order.

What If We Don't Add Day

Let's say we don't want to add extra day every 4 years. Then in just 200 years, these extra days will combine to make it "2 months" which is too much. And we will not see the weathers in same days as we see now. As we see Winter during November to February now, then by not adding extra day every 4 years, we will see a huge difference in months of Winter. We may see Winter during August to November. So it was important to add an extra day to avoid these weather problems.

New Problems

1692 was a leap year, 1696 was a leap year, guess what was the next leap year? 1700, Right? No, it was not. Similarly 1792 was a leap year, 1796 was a leap year but 1800 was not a leap year. Now as 1700 and 1800 were not leap years, what about 1900 and 2000 ? They were too not leap years, Right? No you are wrong again. Although 1900 was not a leap year but 2000 was a leap year. Didn't understand? Let me explain.

Remember I said focus on the word approximately? Earlier, I said Earth takes approximately 365 days 6 hours to complete 1 year. Actually it was not accurate again. It takes 365 days 5 hours 48 minutes 45 seconds to complete 1 year. Which means it is less than 6 hours by 11 minutes 15 seconds.

Although this 11 minutes 15 seconds are negligible but after every 4 years adding a day, our theoretical calander exceeds original time period of earth by 45 minutes. And after 100 years this 45 minutes combine to make approximately 18 hours. So by adding one day after 4 years, our theoretical calander exceeds 18 hours by original time period. That's why we have to remove at least 1 leap year after every 100 years. That's the reason why 1700, 1800 and 1900 were not the leap years.

But again although we exceed 18 hours then why we remove a whole day (24 hours) after every 100 years? Which means we again left behind by (24-18=06) 6 hours in compared to original time period. And again we don't have remove a day after 400 years to fix these 6 hours. (6×4=24). That's the reason why 1600 and 2000 were leap years.


And that's it for today guys. I know this is so confusing and boring. But if you really want to know why we have leap year then read this article again.

And If you find it boring then there are some interesting articles of mine, you would love reading.

Never Have I Ever. Dirty Version! 18+

Was Giving Birth To A Girl My Mistake?

Oxygen Caused Giant Insects!

What Convinced Me To Set Goals!


16
$ 14.78
$ 14.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Sponsors of Cineholic
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Cineholic
2 years ago

Comments

Just like I thought, you were born on February 29. You are lucky because you are one of those who were born on that certain day. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's the only thing they are lucky in 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm mistaken sorry sir. I did not notice the first sentence. The title got me :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its Ok 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't even deny my age, they think I'm young. I'm 21 years old but they thought I was only 17 years old because of my height 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Small hight benefits 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my. 😁 That means to say you're young in age. Hihi! Well, for me, it's fine if I would have that leap year or to be born at feb 29. I want to be called young. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you are still very young :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Celebrated 5th Birthday at the age of 20 🤣😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My daughter is even older than you haha. She's 8 :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In a sense if your date of birth falls on the 29th of February you will most likely to celebrate on every feb 29th. However our age is being counted every after 365 and 1/4 days to be exact, so as a standard counting your age still increase every year. It's just up to you if you will celebrate it on March 1. But why worry of celebrating it after four years or 1st of March. Some people doesn't even care celebrating their Bdays. Even me I think the last time I celebrated my birthday was 10 years ago. Anyway you have calculated those numbers very well. I'm poor with numbers. 😆😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

As he is a kid of 8 years so may he not realizes but I am damn sure when he gets older he will realize that celebrating birthdays not even matters. I celebrated my birthday 5 years ago 😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were born in a leap year, that is why haha. I think it's cool, you can deny your real age haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah yeah, we can say that I just celebrated my 5th birthday at the age of 20 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My aunt's birthday is also feb 29. She celebrates her bday in march 1 if there's no feb 29 in the calendar. Haha. You're student can maybe adjust to it and will not be sad about it when he grow older.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's an awesome idea. I'll tell him though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No its not boring tho hehez. Even if i read each sentences clearly ordering my mind to get it but it seems my brain can't cooperate. I'll just search for it myself maybe hehe but thanks for sharing and explaining to us.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah sure 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha so so nice celebrate birthday one time every four years 🎈🎂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Does celebrating my birthday once in every four years will make me younger than my age right now? HAHA.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahah great 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had a classmate who was also born on leap year. She was sad because she can't celebrate her birthday annually. So what her parents did, if there is no 29th day in February, they celebrate her birthday on February 28 or on March 1.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's such an amazing solution 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When i read in 5th grade then i learn about this Leap year bro then we all class mate thought how bad luck those child has who born 29 Februrary 😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂 we did not born on the same date too lol lucky

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lucky... Again 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago