Filipino's Superstitious Beliefs

23 56
Avatar for Chelle18
2 years ago

There are numbers of different beliefs and practices that i always heard from our elderly.Some beliefs are said to bring either good or bad luck.

Supertitous beliefs are part of our filipino culture ,it might be strange and weird however many believes in these since they often times to serve this as a warning for a possible danger that may harm us.But most of the new generation nowadays don't believe it.

Here are some superstitious beliefs i always heard:

DON'T SWEEP AT NIGHT

Raise your hands if you heard this beliefs hihihih!!.Did your mother or grandparents tell you this?This belief is one of the most popular superstitious belief i always heard since i was a kid.They said that sweeping at night is unlucky,it will take away the fortune instead of coming inside your house.I remembered when i was working before as a house maid ,my employer told me that before i sleep ,ill make sure to clean the living room and the kitchen ,but her mother got angry with me everytime she saw me sweeping hahhah! I dont know whose ordered i had to follow ,so what i did was ,ill wait until her mother will sleep before i sweep and clean the living room and kitchen.

When you bite your tongue,someone is talking or thinking about you

Can you relate this one?Everytime it happens we bite our tongue ,we asked to think a number from 1 to 26 then determine its corresponding letter in alphabet.And the first person pops on your mind starts with the letter means that person is the one who thinking or talking about you .Are you also doing this?Honestly I do this hahhahha!

Serve pancit in especial occassions like birthdays

They said that the noodles symbolize long life ,that's why every birthday there's always a pancit or spaghetti .But for me even if i didn't know that belief ,i always prepared pancit in any ocassion ,coz pancit is one of my favorite food .

Some also said that pancit are not allowed to prepared in lamay ,coz its bad luck and it might someone will follow to die.

Be careful when showing fondness over babies

If someone is playing or complimenting the parents on their child's adorable features,doing this in Philippines is believed to be a potential causes of illness.I experienced this when i had already a kid ,I was surprised and shocked when my friend put her saliva in my baby's feet and said "purya buyag".I was so shocked and told her not to do that anymore ,saying "purya buyag" is enough .I hope she will not get offend.

Blaming your missing things on elves

My mother in laws do this ,everytime her things are missing ,she always blaming that the elves get her things .hahaha! But the truth is she forgot where she put it .Because they said that elves is playful ,they want to play with you that's why they get your things ,maybe they love seeing your having a hard time to find you things hihihi!.

How about you ?Are you blaming them when your things are missing?me also sometimes hahaha! We might need to take a memory plus vitamins.

An itch your palm means incoming wealth

Have your palm itched lately?Well,that's a good sign that you will receive money .That's what the elderly said if we experienced itchiness in our palm .We know that what causes of itchiness ,so we better wash and cleaned our hands .If you had work or If you write article in read cash ,then no need to wait to feel itchy in your hands your salary and the BCH will come .Hahahaha!

Don't forget to wash your hands regularly and sanitize it to avoid itchy.Especially now that there is a spreading virus ,we make sure to wash our hands after touching anything.

Do not sleep when your hair is wet

My mother always said to me everytime she saw lying on the bed with wet hair.They said that sleeping with wet hair can makes you crazy and blind .

I read some article in facebook which the doctor said that sleeping with wet hair can make your face paralyze.

A bride to be should never try on her dress

This belief said trying yourwedding dress will lead to the cancellation of your wedding.

When we prepared our wedding last 2019,the owner of the shop where im looking for a wedding dress told me to try if its fit for me ,but honestly in mind i felt worried coz i heard this belief and saw some teleserye in television that the wedding will not happen .The owner of the shop smiled at me and said"ma'am you have to try it ,coz if its not fit for you then we can find another dress for you ,don't mind that belief you are thinking right now ."wala ng ganun ngayon ,baka hindi talaga matuloy kasal nyo kapag hindi kasya sayo".So what i did was ,i try it and good thing was our wedding was happen.

I will try to write another relatable beliefs soon coz its too long na .Hihihi!

How about you?do you believe some of this superstitious beliefs?

One thing I sure that everyone believes in GOD.

So that's all for today's blog! ,thank you for reading .To my dearest friends,upvoters,commenters and Sponsors ,from the bottom of heart a big THANK YOU to all of you.Thank you for all your support .God bless you more ,and more BCH to come to us.

Sponsors of Chelle18
empty
empty
empty

Lead image from google

Stay Safe everyone and God Bless🙏

9
$ 4.94
$ 4.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Sequoia
$ 0.03 from @Jinifer
+ 2
Sponsors of Chelle18
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Chelle18
2 years ago

Comments

Kanang mukatol akong pad kay mag-expect na ko nga naay muabot kwarta.hahaha Unya kay nindot man ikatug basta bag-o human ligo sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bitaw jud noh ,makahinanok oy bag ong tulog ..siguroon lang sis nga uga ang buhok.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao nay giingon na it's more fun in the Philippines gyud haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

purya puyag gyud, kay murag until now gina buhat gihapon sa mga tao kay hadlok mabuyagan HAHAHA

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mao jud sis ,purya buyag lang oi ,wanay pahiray og laway sa lapa lapa kay ang covid😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my country, we also have this belief of not sweeping at night, the one with the itch in the palm of the hand. And we have one that has always caused me to laugh, that of placing a sweeping broom behind a door so that an unwanted visitor will leave the house faster. I did it once and it worked to my surprise.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha ,i guess maam i will try it too ,that putting brooms behind the door😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always had this guilt feeling when sweeping the floor at night. I have no choice kasi ayoko matulog na madumi ang floor. Sabi ko na lang, swerte wag ka umalis please.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ,dapat pala ganyan para hindi umalis ang swerte😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm Nigerian, and some of those believes apply over here too, itching palm and sweeping at night....noe that I look at it, there must be truth behind it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohw! Really? Thats cool ,we have similar beliefs😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know a certain bride that tried her bridal gown and the married was postponed. It was rescheduled and was cancelled. The wedding didn't happened because the groom died.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad naman to hear that 😥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya naalala ko yun kwento upon reffing your post

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan din no nagkatotoo yang mga paniniwala ,kaya nga sinasabi nila na walang mawawala kung maniwala tayo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis wala din mawawala Kung susunod tayo kaya karamihan satin sinusunod na lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True sis ,pero mostly sa mga new generation ngayon hindi na naniniwala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dun ako sa missing thing pinaka-relate hahaha si nanay ganyan palagi e. Hinanap ko yung, 'bawal ligpitan ng pinagkainan baka di makapag-asaw' I get that most of the time but here I am, happily married with a son.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! Dami kasing paniniwala no?😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jusko, ang sarap pa naman talaga matulog pag bagong ligo. Ako lang ba tu? Tas hahaha palaging makati kamay ko pero wala akong pera.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga sir no?😁pero dapat tuyo na ang buhok👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not sleep with wet, hair because it gives me headache and not because of any superstitions hehe. 😊 That's why I always have my blower on my side. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ,thats true ,i also experienced that .

$ 0.00
2 years ago