Small minds with Big hearts

51 59
Avatar for Charlotte
3 years ago

As kids, we want to play all day long. We want to be with our playmates, we want to grow up fast so we’ll be able to achieve our dreams and experience what adults can. As we grow old, we tend to realize that the world is full of games we wished we never played. Cheaters and unfairness are everywhere. No one wants to be your playmate and you’ll fight the game alone without reaching victory. We all know we can’t go back to being kids playing old happy games, so what can we do? We can look back. Yes, we have to look back and we can see small minds and hearts ready to open for us. If we want to learn things, we should not underestimate the capacity of a child to teach us. In a world where we’re stressed and suffocated by negativity, ask a child why he or she smiles.

Capture the moment

I agree that experience is the best teacher and adults are far more experienced than kids, but as we focus on learning in our own way and from other people older than us, we tend to overlooked positive energy from small things which the children could be our best teacher. At my age, I still hang out with kids. My sister, even my cousins often asks me to babysit their children and believe me or not it’s fun and I learned a lot of things from them. Sometimes they are really frustrating because they are naughty but that’s part of being kids.

Surrounded by Happiness

Being grateful for small things is one of the most important things that I learned. When I gave them a small reward for obeying me, for having a star on their works at school, or even just for sleeping at noon, they are really grateful and their smiles and laughs are priceless. Another thing is they appreciate little compliments such as very good, you did well, you’re cute and others. Kids also have this sense of confidence and ability to stand up as they fall. I remembered when my niece joined a quiz bee contest, she didn’t win the contest and I thought she’ll cry because I saw her struggle and work hard for the quiz. She chose to study than play so I think it’ll be devastating even for a 6-year-old kid. As we walk our way home she told me, “Aunt, I’ll try again next time what important is I joined today” then she flashed a sweet smile on her face. If a kid with a small mind and less experienced can think like this, can be this positive and grateful, if they can, what’s hindering us to do and feel the same? Another is, my nephew is quite smart for his age, his reasons, and the way he figures out things really amazed me. I am not saying he’s a real genius. One time when we are cleaning our house, he’ll complain and say “Why do we have a lot of plates and mugs and a lot of things that we don’t even use? What’s the purpose of keeping all this?”, we are all speechless for a moment and then we laugh for the realization that he’s right. This concept thought me, why do I keep things that have no use in my life, why do I keep toxic ties, negative memories, if these are just useless why do I keep them? Also, this is when I decided to use what I have, if I have a lot of positive things to say, a lot of love and care I can show, just like the plates, what’s stopping me to use it? Basically, my nephew taught me to throw away those negative and show those positives instead. Another thing is they can see goodness in different kinds of people. We have a neighbor that is mentally disabled (literally crazy), we witnessed him throw stones and such and of course, we’re afraid. Then one time he told us that they are friends, of course, I asked him how and why they became friends knowing that entire person’s previous actions, then he told me “We’re friends and he’s kind now, stop asking me a lot of question please”, after that, I just shut my mouth. We can’t tell a person’s whole story just by observing some of their actions, we will not be able to understand them if we start judging them right away.

We can’t go back to those times as a kid, but we can find comfort by talking and being with them.

*******************************

I hope you learned something from this. Thank you for reading❤

This is my entry to @Dolores photoessay contest.

https://read.cash/@Dolores/photo-essay-event-updates-78336e4e

16
$ 0.57
$ 0.55 from @Dolores
$ 0.02 from @Jane
Sponsors of Charlotte
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Charlotte
3 years ago

Comments

Thank you so much for this😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I bet this is one of the winner in photo essay. 😊 you're story is really inspiring..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much🤗 I appreciate you for spending time reading though it's quite lengthy. Thank you also for the upvote🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah it's quite lengthy but the readers won't be bored reading it. Our family is big and im having fun bonding with the kids.. I'm grateful as well for having them, even if we aren't that rich, i am contented with what we have. As long as we're healthy and not a broken family.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes i totally agree. We don't have enough money and luxurious things but we're happy as long as we're together and healthy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True, that's the essence of family. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

❤❤❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I subscribed you.Please subscribe me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This a warning, you need to stop commenting those kind of stuffs because you might get blocked and totally banned from this platform.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

so this is your entry? I love the simplicity hmmm. I can't decide waaah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm just listen to your heart hahah i know you'll decide soon after all, all the participants main goal is to express😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed. Goodluck :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you;)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow that's so interesting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

❤❤❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This article made me realize things. It's beautifully written and the message is very clear. While reading this, I had the flashbacks of memories I had when I was still a child. I had a great childhood but I didn't see that and gave importance to it before. I really wanna grow up real fast and do things that only adults can. I act as a mature child, not wanting to play anymore. But that's the greatest thing I wish I didn't do when i was a kid. I wish I played and played til I got tired and collect lots of fun memories with me. And now, I'm starting to see the negative side of being an adult. It comes with responsibilities. We'll still play but the games are biased and don't want us to win indeed. Thank you very much for sharing this work of art. Please keep on writing! ❤️❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow am really happy you can relate with this. I'm grateful for your valuable comment which motivates me to write more. Thank you for showing us your thoughts and experiences. Yes being adult is hard but we have to keep going just like when a a kid stumbled and have wounds, they'll cry because of pain but after that they'll stand up and play again with big smiles. And just like them whenever we fall we have to stand up again❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. We don't really have other choice but to keep moving forward. I see that you really learned a lot with kids. Your illustrations and its applications are all accurate. It really make sense! You're knowledgeable and witty indeed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If all the bad people could be put in front of a child one by one, they might never do bad things. When children see them as innocent, the mind becomes soft.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought so too. Kids are soft that'll make your heart melt.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How I wish I can go back in time... Nevertheless, Im glad I was born when advanced technologies was not invented yet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's fun to run around with your playmates. Those green grass field, while you fly your kites up in the air❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I dont fly kites hehe. I climb trees. Trees which are tall that they thought a kid wouldn't be able to climb😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wwwaaahhh i also do that❤ with my cousins we climb trees and eat at the top. We often climb guava trees, lanzones and rambutan❤❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah hahaha. We're lucky to have been born in the past generation. However, looking back now makes me feel sad because we won't be able to go back to the way we were before😢

$ 0.00
3 years ago

All we can do is reminiscing all those happy times

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. Those good old days are worth it tho❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"As we grow old, we tend to realize that the world is full of games we wished we never played" Hard truth.this line hits me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is one of my realization as i grow old, sad but true tho

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder why you need to hang around with children to know how they think, why they do what they do, or like what they like? Is it really such a long time ago you were a child, played yourself? What happened to your own imagination, a fantasy? When did you start behaving older than my granny at 70 years old? Personally, I learn from life experience, at times from people and age doesn't matter. To be honest I do not like most kids I see these days. Bad behavior, violent, aggressive, spoiled, and still bored. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know i never lived that long I'm still at my 20s. But my point is, in my 20 yrs of existence I experience a lot of hardships and frustrations that makes me want to give up and throw everything, sometimes advice from elders are far fetch and it's not suitable for me, but when i talk to a kid and i put my position as a kid, i can see how simple they handle a problem. And that's what i can learn from them. They smile a lot over failures and they are really grateful toward small things, for which adults sometimes cannot see. Learning from someone is not about the age as you said, so learning from children is a good thing if you just see the goodness in them. They are not boring and stressful all the time. Sometimes adults should learn from younger ones.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder about what age you talk. I experienced a lot in my life from the day I was born but never met a child that responded the way you see it. Perhaps a baby, although toddlers have their frustrations and children at kindergarten too plus their sadness and I know many who do not easily get over it, smile and forget. Perhaps it is a cultural difference, the way of raising and what the society expects from you already as a child? To me the elderly were helpful, way older people than me. Not because I am a single mother but as I was younger. They were the ones who smiled and know by experiences it's not black or white and things/situations can change fast. Thanks for sharing. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, maybe because it's about the environment we are in. Our difference in culture also add up. I learned a lot from elders, but i also learned something from kids. Thank you for sharing your thoughts as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am Subcribe please Subcribe me..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed! Kids should enjoy life. They deserve to feel the pure happiness and give them the satisfaction of enjoying their childhood. This is an amazing article, thank you for sharing this with us.

And, goodluck to your entry!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your appreciation❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

kids really are our stress reliever, happy pill at most.. with us having all the stresses but when kids talk with their small mind,you would be struck with realization. and yes, on their own way they show us their hearts...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Children are not stress relievers. From the day you are pregnant the worries start, the fight to give them a normal life, feed and dress them, to avoid they get bullied, find the right education, work...you need to raise them, save for them, take them to doctors, watch them 24/7... That's stress.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ok, here it is. you got a point coz I know you're a single mom base on your articles. the ones you mentioned,at the back of it you feel the joy from their cuteness and innocence. from pregnancy to birth to their early childhood, you feel post partum depression but at the back of it, your heart is still filled with a childs childishness. at the back of all your struggles to protect, provide and be with them is contentment when you see your child happy. that takes away your stress. well, to begin with, children are not around if we did not made them.and I think, someone out there would agree with me that these children takes away ones stress

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you a mom already?, i don't think a true mom can say that kid is just about stress. I don't have a kid by i see them as blessing and a precious one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's why i really love kids they have their own sweetness and own way of showing their care to us;)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yep which we usually underestimate...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kids just represents innocence. Their laugh and smile are genuine and no stain of hypocrisy. ❤️😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really agree. Just by watching them smile and laugh makes you want to laugh too, and soon you'll find your self happily observing them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Love those kiddos

$ 0.00
3 years ago

❤🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow beautiful article my dear. Goodmorning and have a wonderful day 🌈☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago