Have you been a victim?

14 21
Avatar for Cesca_Jove
1 year ago

Welcome to my blog again!

Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko in pexel.

It's another week, fellas!!

This is no longer a new scheme again but every day humans devise means unknown to individuals. In a short time, someone else would be manipulated with that newest means and ripped off his hard-earned money.


°°°

°°

°

What is a Scam?

Scam is a dishonest deception forming an act to swindle financial benefits for personal gains. A scam is an act deployed by a group of persons called scammers. It's more like a manipulation method to make one believe what they offer and compel one to think they are doing the right thing. Once an old method cover is blown they adopt a new one and improvise as soon as possible.

________________________

Have you ever been contacted by a scammer?

Ermm ... Yes!

I was selling items for my mom in the market and then a man walked up to me and said he wanted to buy one of the products since I wanted to make sales for my mom, I told him the price of each one of them and he nodded in affirmation when I touched a particular commodity he was interested in. He gave me a thousand naira notes which were equivalent to $2.41 and the item was worth a hundred naira which was equivalent to 0.24 cents and then I balanced him with nine hundred naira which was equivalent to $2.17 and he left. I wasn't fully aware that he gave me fake money and he scammed me until I showed my mom I made a little sale. She took the money and took a thorough look at it, gave it to another person to help her confirm her suspicion and that was when I realized I was naive and didn't know.


Did you fall victim to this act?

Yes, I did fall victim to such mischievous circumstances and I swore that no one would ever do that to me again.



Did I escape being scammed?

No, I didn't escape at all! Because I was so naive and I thought everyone has a good heart just like me ... lol ... But ever since that incident happened, I was extremely careful and so observant that every single tiny detail was exempted in my inspection.

Photo by Anna Tarazevich on pexel

... Allow me to digress further …

Oftentimes, I wonder why a person would think that making money through the means of illegality and ripping is a good way of making money. 

How do they sit back and plan all of that?! ... Are they really happy when they dupe people??!! ... Do they know the length those people go to just to make that money?!?! ... How about if that money is the owner all and all, do they think about that?!?! ... If it was them, how would they feel too?!?! ... Do they have a  conscience at all for humanity?!?!.

This incident happened to a family relative of mine, a cousin's brother. I came around for a visit during my stay with him one evening, he was about to prepare for an outing when he received a call. The caller was being very formal and direct, speaking on behalf of a bank as a customer representative of his bank account. I could pick some vibration of nervousness during this conversation. I spoke in a  mumbling manner to the receiver giving him gestures and signs that the person might be a scammer.

Not only that he understands, but he also knows this person is a scammer, nevertheless he played along and that was the beginning of my laughter. I couldn't laugh out loud because I was much closer to him and eavesdropping too.

The caller continued with the conversation, by the way, the scammer was burning his airtime on this call. The banking system has already made it clear that no one would call a customer for any reason whatsoever and any complaints should be filed in person and submitted to the customer care service. 

He then asked my cousin's brother if he wanted this issue to be rectified via this conversation. My cousin's brother didn't hesitate that long because he was enjoying the whole thing.  He was asked to bring out his ATM card (Automated Teller Machine) which he did. The scammer persuaded him to call out the number embedded on the card which he did also and then he was asked for the three digits that have always been italicized at the back of the card and he called it out too. He finally asked if the number he just called was the one in the bank account details, which my brother affirmed too.

Then my brother told him that it was an invalid ATM card number he was calling out and that he would wait so he could get the new card he just got. The scammer was furious and already raining abuse on my cousin's brother and all of us in the room started laughing out so loud. He wasted his airtime on those that knew what was going on in the country, it was indeed hilarious!



Posted in hive too!
Source image
Source image

8
$ 0.05
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
Sponsors of Cesca_Jove
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Cesca_Jove
1 year ago

Comments

Sometimes it's falling for scammers is beyond our intelligence because scammers are improving everyday with their skills. Yes, I've fallen to scams countless times on a conscious mode(Ponzi).

But there are some scams I can't fall for no matter how the procedure present itself

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everyone has been scammed once or twice. I still remember when I started online dating. They was this particular guy that sent me a friend request, I accepted and we got talking, not knowing he was after my money..which he got but it wasn't much. Just £80.. Which I promised myself I will never try any online dating stuff again..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's the center of it all.... Online dating.... Manipulating people's mind and extorting money.... That's not okay at all... It can play an effect in someone's mental health. I'm glad you wave that away!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pathetic people still fall for it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes they still fall for it till date !

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, that’s how they usually act, some don’t even know how to speak properly English, you will be the one correcting them. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Asin ehh 😅😅😅 Forming what they're not just because they are playing smart!... I heard one controversial topics that said how can Li Kung hu be asking me for airtime #200 .... I laughed out so loud 😅😅...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't usually fall for them, because before they could even talk after calling, I will have shout and curse them through the call, it is then you will hearing, your ATM have expire you will need to tell us the three number at the back of your ATM ........ Trying to scam me, never hahah😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lmfao 😆😆 I can imagine your scenario! After someone would suffer to get money another fool will come to manipulate it from you ... Na curse ooo lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😅😅😅😅 I have once fallen a victim but I have learnt so well that many times, I laugh so hard when I heard such a call. I wasn't scammed of my money from the bank but from other means. But now I am wised and will help them use their credit so week till it was exhausted.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have been laughing in the comment section aswear....after that my local incident, I said no one would do that to me again. 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohio, the art of scamming, I've been a victim severally. I still fell for one early last month😁..... A completely different scenario though compared to the one you or the one your cousin experienced, Anyhoo I know what it is like to be scammed, it ain't pretty.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Do you actually mean severally lolol....mine was just once and since then it was like iro oo ko possible rara lmao 😆😆... It's not pretty at all!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I do like 5-6 times, its complicated, guess I just kept giving shits the benefit of the doubt and I paid the price lool.

$ 0.00
1 year ago