Where I'm at in my BCH journey

21 364
Avatar for Cain
Written by
3 years ago

Monday, November 9th, 2020, 6 days before the fork

For the past three years, it's fair to say that my life has been consumed by Bitcoin Cash. In that time, I've spent countless hours learning how it works, talking to others about it online, all while trying to accumulate as much as I could afford to buy.

Whenever I had any free time you'd probably catch me watching BCH related videos or listening to podcasts discussing the latest developments. And if I wasn't consuming BCH content, I was probably busy writing and creating content of my own.

But for the first time in three years, I find myself losing some of that passion I once had. I guess you could say I've become disheartened.

Although I still believe that BCH has the potential to become a world changing technology, I am less confident than I was before. As someone who uses Bitcoin Cash every single day, I frequently experience issues that clearly need to be ironed out if BCH is to become world money. It's evident to me how much work needs to be done before this network can present itself as a serious alternative to the traditional financial system. Work that will not only require a great deal of resources, but a great deal of collaboration as well.

It's no secret that I am a big proponent of the IFP. I think it's an experiment that not only deserves to be tried, but has the potential to be the perfect antidote to the problems that have plagued Bitcoin since its inception. I also believe that Bitcoin ABC is the right team to test pilot the new coinbase rule and have every right to charge for their services. But with that said, if miners are unwilling to pay, and would rather choose a substitute team with less experience, that is their right as well.

Basically it seems like we've reached a stalemate, and as a result I find myself concerned for the future of this project. Recently we saw a bug in the Electrum SV wallet lead to a BSV user losing 600 of their coins due to poor testing and bad infrastructure. I worry that without the guiding hand of ABC, the Bitcoin Cash network could end up facing even worse situations in the future.

For that reason I actually considered selling my coins and finally moving on with my life. But as you may have guessed, if I'd been able to do that I wouldn't be sitting here writing this article.

I obviously have no idea what's going to happen six days from now. This article isn't meant to try and influence anyone's thinking, or offer up any solutions. I just wanted to share my thoughts and say that while I still believe in the BCH mission of creating the best money the world has ever seen, I'm afraid we might just be wasting a golden opportunity, and it might be one that never comes again.

Sponsors of Cain
empty
empty
empty

33
$ 10.60
$ 6.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @DavidRAllen
$ 1.00 from @sspiller
+ 7
Avatar for Cain
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Good one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have a good dear experience so far. And thanks for share your thoughts, I really appreciate. But dear, can you please tell me where I can sell any crypto from and anywhere in world.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can sell at black market

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What???

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why would you quit cryptocurrency? Just admit the bitcoin experiment failed, and join us at Avalanche, where we've fixed these problems.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Like you, I think BCHN is a risky move. I hope we are wrong about the danger.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you ask me, 'firing' an implementation trying to centralise the coin by attempting to add their own tax to the coinbase is the best thing that could ever happen to any crypto. It proves that decentralisation might have a future in this crypto experiment. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=prPBVkRgj6g

$ 1.35
3 years ago

glad no one asked you, then.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

IMO there needs to be MORE incentive to mine on BCH to get the hash rate up. Taking a cut out of the miner's reward is not going to help. Devs will come out of the woodwork for free once BCH moons.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a great plan. Moon and devs work for free. Brilliant

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If BCH mooned, it would not need miner incentives. The idea of the IFP is to make it moon sooner. I doubt these ideas matter now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also believe that Bitcoin ABC is the right team to test pilot the new coinbase rule and have every right to charge for their services.

so long as they fork their "test pilot" to a new coin, I don't think there is anyone that disagrees with you .. i continue to wish the ABC team all the best with their experiment

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Investing in infrastructure is key but how you make those investments is even more valuable than making then...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would say the market is still early enough for an experiment. The average users who want to get into crypto are still huge compared to the crypto nerds or traders. They need something more user friendly, integrated and stable without much drama. We will get over this final drama and get on building for the mainstream.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello sir its nice to read the article but i have some questions

Although I still believe that BCH has the potential to become a world changing technology, I am less confident than I was before

How can you say that sir I mean because of the fork?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Splitting BCH and dividing the developers and community is not usually good for a project like this. The dividers say it is the best way to go, but is it really? It is hard to know.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't worry. Nothing will change.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know what to do with my BCH actually but I am still hoping for the best after Nov.15..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everyone is really worried about what will happen on Nov 15... I don't want to sell my coins and will just gonna hold it. still hoping for the best..

$ 0.00
3 years ago