Looking for artists

8 343
Avatar for Cain
Written by
4 years ago

Saturday, February 1, 2020

UPDATE: BOUNTY HAS BEEN FILLED

Yesterday I posted a different version of this article I kind of regret. Someone on Reddit blasted me for being a “choosy beggar” and it made me rethink my approach. In hindsight, my original post may have been in poor taste and tone deaf, so I'm going to try again.

Basically I’m looking for any artists that are willing to help me create a background image for my posts. I don't know what it would typically cost for such work, but I was hoping to get something for .5 BCH. I thought this was a way to contribute to the BCH economy as well as give back for the 1 BCH I won in the mythbusting contest held a month ago.

Below are five examples of the kind of artwork I’m looking for. Mainly I want something colorful and eye catching. Along with each picture I’ve also written some thoughts that may give you some ideas.

  1. AKIRA: An idea might be instead of the iconic motorcycle from the Japanese animated movie, you could draw a hyper stylized picture of the BCH tank from a couple years back.

  2. Year of the rat: Imagine a picture with this feel but instead of rats, it was honeybadgers.

  3. HBO's Silicon Valley: A BCH centric version of the opening credits to this hilarious show would be cool.

  4. Cowboy Bebop: Instead of Cowboy Bebop characters, an image of BCH people like Roger, Amaury, Jihan, or anyone else you think would be appropriate.

  5. Futurama: I like the repeating Benders (the robot) in this image. You could do something similar but with Asic miners, or code monkeys, or something else you think of.

Anyway, that's it. I’m hoping there are some artists out there who can help. If you think .5 BCH is too little for this kind of work let me know that as well. I don’t know what’s the best approach to this so I’m open to ideas.

Thanks for reading.

AKIRA
Year of the Rat
Silicon Valley
Cowboy Bebop
Futurama

1
$ 1.25
$ 0.50 from @DrNums
$ 0.25 from @btcfork
$ 0.20 from @Fritz
+ 2
Avatar for Cain
Written by
4 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

👍

$ 0.50
4 years ago

It will be wise to take in consideration how the header image is displayed on Read.Cash https://imgur.com/46jZYmd

Maybe Read.Cash admin have some technical details: how many pixels width/height the image is displayed.

$ 0.05
4 years ago

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="a/c79DMXV"><a href="//imgur.com/c79DMXV"></a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Let's see if this one works.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

https://imgur.com/a/c79DMXV

Am I on the right track?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Sweet!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

NEED MORE AND REALLY MORE IMPROVEMENTS

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I have seen your requests, but didnt bothere applying for the offer. The reasons are the following:

  1. You offer too much (seriously). For this amount of money, only professionals will apply (and more likely, professional scammers). No actual artists will join to an unwinnable competition.

  2. Its unclear what you want. Redesigned stock photos? Own photos with redesign? Totally new art created from zero just for this sole purpose? This is a very broad spectrum of possibilities.

  3. Its unclear, how frequently you would like to get a new job done, how much time would you give to create the image, and on what platform you would like to communicate.

  4. Nicknames on reddit doing nicknamish things. For example, buying $2000 macbooks because they have seen it in a move with photoshop. And somehow that magically turn them into artists despite of not selling anything, ever. I suggest you not to waste the time on that type of people.

Maybe i can help you out, depends on what you would like, i will ping you on discord.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I replied to you on discord. I'm finding this isn't easy. Ideally I could draw it myself, but I can't, so I thought I'd ask the community. Unfortunately it seems like this is offensive to some people.

  1. I have no idea what the right amount is. Artists can charge very different amounts.
  2. Ideally I wanted original art but I get that .5 BCH might not be enough for that. So I'm willing to accept redesigned stuff.
  3. The job is just a one time thing. One image I can use until I get tired of it.
  4. Not sure what you meant on this point.
$ 0.00
4 years ago