The Job Saga...

6 46
Avatar for CNHumphrey
2 years ago

Some years ago, one of my aunties made a statement to me that has remained indelible in my mind ever since, and has served as the core of my working principles. And that statement is this; “THERE IS DIGNITY IN LABOUR.”

That fateful day, we were at the new Church site, all hands were on deck working to set things for the commencement of the new parish. That was when I was still in the fold of the Redeemed Christian Church of God. The commission served as the foundation of my active work and service to God. It built me in no small way. That story is yet for many days.

A Tribute.

Suffice it that I say that I am forever grateful to God for the privileges, trainings, exposures, opportunities, people and blessings that I enjoyed in the Redeemed Christian Church of God, City of David Parish, Rumuoke, off Ada-George Road, Mgbuoba to be precise. Abrahams Villa Area, Port Harcourt.

In the RCCG, there a bi-annual national evangelistic mission observed globally, wherever the RCCG is domiciled. (This is not a write up on the RCCG, however, certain facts must be stated.) That annual mission is called Let’s-Go-A-Fishing, held in the Easter month of April and the festive month of December. It was during one of this LGAF event, while we were at the new parish that my aunty taught me that powerful lesson.

How It Came About.

While we were at the site, with every available Church member on ground and doing one form of work or the other, with the necessary hired professional labourers – such as the carpenters, and others needed for some technical work, I made a statement. That statement was with every good intent, but unwise nonetheless. I said to the hearing of my aunty, “If I had money now, I would have just hired people that will do all this work and pay them, instead of all this stress.” – paraphrased. It was in response to this statement that she said, and in effect teaching me, that there is dignity in labour.

Like an engrafted work of art imprinted upon a metal surface for an ever-lasting effect, those words, with the weight and import, never left my mind till date. That has driven me and always made me to value and regard honest labour as against fancy/dreamy money-is-everything mentality and lifestyle prevalent today. This was in the year 2010/2011.

It’s been almost 12 years today, and those words still make me humble myself to find and do honest work. Working is not an option, but given the environment and expectations I had growing up, making money seemed to override labour. What a travesty. The desire to make money seemed to blind the mind without recourse to the means and how. Blue-collar/low earning jobs were despised, whether or not one was well off, or not. It was an evil that I never knew. A cancer I never realized was about to form. Thank God it was nipped in the bud.

Today I am writing about this dignity of labour for two reasons;

a) I am struggling with a good choice,

b) Someone needs to hear this.

Personally, I do not like working for people. I don’t. I’d rather do my own business, or be in a work setting that gave me as much flexibility as I needed. And there is absolutely nothing wrong with this. However, there are times when one must swallow a difficult but necessary pill.

Being someone with a vision to working and earning money via the rather vast tech industry, by way of application of technological skills to solve problems while making money, I find it hard that I have to consider going to do a 9 – 5 job. Yet, giving the very challenging situations, with not so much time to generate income to attend to the very pressing needs, it seems one must do what one must do. I dread office work in an office that is not mine.

I do not in any way wish to discourage whosoever works a 9 – 5 job. I would gladly do a 9 – 5 if I were to be a certain type of career inclined person. There are paths that thrive in that line. I am adventurous by nature. Now you see where I am coming from. That notwithstanding, money must be made because bills must be paid.

Every time I think of a 9 – 5, all I see is limitations. It seems to me that I’d rather take my time to climb out the hole than be forked up with an office job. Is that what they call job security? I don’t know any more.

But then again, it is not as dreadful as I may seem to be painting it, which in truth is not my objective. When I do step back from my misgivings and take a look from a different perspective, I see so much light. I see so much opportunities I could harness. I am a people-oriented person, which in effect implies that if it’s a job that will be taking me out or exposing me, then I should anticipate it. But why am I not? Mindset!

Something else tugged at my mind during my introspection, fear. Maybe it is a fear of the unknown. No. that’s not true. But still, I can’t seem to completely shake off that feeling of… what’s that again? Uncertainty. I have this fault of mine, which is that I love to be in charge. It is not exactly a good thing, especially if you are the type that has a daily walk with God. He always expects you to trust absolutely in Him, whether or not you know what lies ahead.

I have prayed about this job interview that I will be attending today, Wednesday, 23rd February, 2022. I am not afraid of the interview. Never. I completely trust in God for His verdict and favour. It may surprise you that I almost wish it goes south so that I can lie to myself that at least I made a move. Strange? Naa… I don’t think it is. Such kind of reasoning happens to us at different levels. Mine is looking too big right now, I know. But it is the counter-productive truth nonetheless.

God's Verdict.

Whatever happens today, I’m in good hands. I’ve committed it to God. I can only do as He leads. I’d rather that than anything else. Let the Holy Spirit lead me, in Jesu’ name, Amen.

Sponsors of CNHumphrey
empty
empty
empty

I love you ✝️

CN Humphrey.

5
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of CNHumphrey
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CNHumphrey
2 years ago

Comments

There is dignity in labour, no short cuts. I hope people get a hold of this.

But a lot of people are way too lazy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Humans seem to prefer to learn the very hard way. I don't understand that part of us.

Thank you Baby_girl...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're pretty correct. There is a dignity in labour and if only humans grasped this, this world would have been a better place to live in. Nice meeting you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely, sir. It would. Nice meeting you too, Michael. 🤝

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's really dignity on labour and I'd like to add that any currency earned without labour won't last

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abso-perfect-lutely! Labour in itself creates value.

$ 0.00
2 years ago