After the rain

10 25
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago

The sky was gloomy and it appeared as though it would rain. I was caught off guard because I had forgotten to bring an umbrella. I feel the rain dripping down my skin. I do not know if it is just a coincidence, but it is such a great disguise. Somehow, I was able to hide my tears through this rain.

I just got out of a break-up. It is still fresh, not just in my mind, but in my heart. It's unjust because he never shared his feelings with me. He never told me about his real-life troubles, which was so disappointing. 

We had been together since ten and fell for each other at 15. Together, we build dreams and plans for our future. But destiny played a trick on us. He suddenly becomes cold after 10 long years of being lovers. 

At first, I tried to understand him because I wanted to save this relationship. But he just said he was tired. He wanted to cool off, and I was there, left alone, while trying to ask myself what I had done wrong.

Am I not enough? Am I not the one who is worth loving? I walked out of my room and went outside while shouting all the pain I felt. As I scream, the rain becomes stronger. It feels like it is following my suffering.

When I went back to my room, I thought it was going to be fine, but it's not and it's difficult. I slept crying. I woke up with dried tears and realized that it was he who I was used to seeing first in the morning. His perfume, his lovely scent, was just what I was looking forward to. However, it became impossible in the blink of an eye since he's no longer here. He said it's just a cool off, but I feel he will no longer come back to me. 

Days have passed, but he never replied to any of my messages. The days turned to weeks, then months, and then my parents made the decision to relocate for me to have peace of mind and be able to move on with my life. The last thing I saw on his profile before I completely blocked him and deleted my account was a picture of him and a girl, who I never expected to be with him. Yes, it's my best friend, and I see how happy they are. Suddenly, all the pain I had been trying to hide within me burst out, and this time, I let all of it flow out. 


It's hard, but I did my best to move on. My entire existence has been reset: new people, new surroundings, new experiences, and a slew of other brand-new stuff.


On one occasion, while walking through the park, I noticed a man beside the wall. He's begging for some money from those passing by. I stopped and walked towards him. I gave him some money, and when he was going to thank me, we were both stunned as we got to see each other's eyes.

He is speechless in the same way that I feel. All these years, I never asked for revenge or for bad things to happen to him. But karma really hit him hard. It seems like all his money was gone, including his career, and he had someone by his side.

As much as I wanted to talk to him and ask him what really happened, I did not have the courage to do so. I just smiled at him, as if I wasn't shocked, and left the place swiftly.

The next day, I saw him there again, in the same spot with the same clothes and everything. I can see in his eyes how ashamed and sorry he was. But it's too late. All I can offer now is help for him to get back on his feet. After all, I am human. What he did to me was really painful, but I can't help but feel humanity. Besides, I already forgave him a long time ago.

7
$ 3.93
$ 3.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @McJulez
$ 0.01 from @lutch
Sponsors of Burnok
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Oh he became a beggar? Did I read it right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, he became a beggar in this story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's full of emotions. It's hard to move on to something, but time really heals the wound.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely. Time heals ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So, did he cheated on you with your bestfriend? Your bestfriend of all people! If this is a true story it would be hard to forgive that friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is just a fiction. But yeah, what you have said is really true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He felt sorry after what he did? When someone cheated on me, and during thebtimes they felt sorry, I pity them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even if it is just a fiction, that thing you have mentioned is really painful in reality.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good that he felt sorry afterall. Rain does make us sad sometimes. BTW the first photo is amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love rainy weather. It makes me feel peaceful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago