What Happened on Monday?

12 32
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

The title sounds familiar, right?

No, this post is not a film review. Not the 2017 film “What happened to Monday?

But if you haven’t heard of the film, you better watch it. It makes a lot of sense. I highly recommend it.

Today is supposed to be my rest-day but for some unexpected internet outage last Monday I changed my day off from Wednesday to Monday.

This is the privilege with my type of job because I can suddenly switch rests days or change schedules without affecting my duties and responsibilities. Unfortunately we don’t have control of electricity and internet connection so whenever unavoidable circumstances happen, our workflow will be affected.

Anyone here from PH that experienced fourteen hours of no internet connection last Monday (April 18, 2022) put your hands in the air.

Unsplash: Thomas Jensen

Yes, that sudden terrible internet failure just delayed my reports. It was just my deadline for submission of reports every payroll cut off.

This post is about what had happened last Monday not what happened to Monday.

Just as I was about to start working on the spreadsheet at 8AM, our internet connection suddenly shut down. I thought it was just some fluctuation in the power line so I don’t mind much. I waited for at least fifteen minutes hoping that it would resume shortly but it did not. I waited until 12 noon and decided to change my shift that day. I can still submit my report if ever that internet would resume even until 3PM but unfortunately I was hopeless that day. My ISP was totally down until 10PM. It was a massive internet failure in Quezon City.

So I ended up registering to a mobile data connection just to connect with my teammates and colleagues telling them that I will not be able to report due to sudden internet failure.

My ISP posted on their FB page about the conflict as my wife told me and she said that the comment was turned off. For sure they don’t want to be flooded with harsh words from the raging subscribers.

My kids of course who were having their virtual class that day were not able to continue their classes with their classmates whose ISP is the same as ours.

I told my immediate superior of what had happened when I reported to work the next day and his remark was, “Would you like to report to work onsite instead?”

Actually I have been planning to work onsite in the last couple of days as I think it’s quite safe now. Looking at the scenario on the streets every day, it appears like there is no more pandemic. As if people are confident enough to walk outside.  Some don’t even have to wear a face mask while talking to each other.

So I finally decided to work onsite starting May first next month. It’s not that I feel bad about the internet outage last Monday. It is just that my internet subscription is only good for residential usage. Unlike in the office, the internet speed is faster than at home.  In addition, internet failure in the office is less likely to happen.

First 10 countries with fastest internet connection
PH as one hundred and second

I know some or most subscribers of that particular ISP are in great anger. For sure they have posted their rants on their social media or perhaps some have done it here.

As much as I wanted to, I don’t want to make this post appear to be a rant because this is not. Ranting would not make the lost time come back.

Frankly, I feel really disappointed by what had happened to the internet last Monday. But instead of adding rage to my ISP I just let it pass and think of the positive things if I would shift from WFH to WOS.

My ISP speed with the cheapest monthly subscription

Are you one of the affected by the internet outage last Monday? How did you handle the fourteen hours of no internet connection? Share in the comment below. 

Lead image source credits to JJ Ying

Resource:

https://www.visualcapitalist.com/mapped-the-fastest-and-slowest-internet-speeds-in-the-world/

9
$ 2.58
$ 2.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Talecharm
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

We experienced almost two weeks no internet after the Typhoon Odette as in ang hirap kasi di nMin makontak mga kamag anak namin after ng bagyo 🥺 ang hirap talaga pag walang internet lalo nat ang communication ngayon nakadepende na sa internet

$ 0.01
1 year ago

good thing you are safe and your family.

yes true.. malaking bagay din ngayon panahon ang pagkkaroon ng internet connection.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have no idea kuya how much it affected us. I was answering my midterm exam back then when our internet became so slow, until it finally gone. Thankfully, my prof allowed me to retake the exam, but with him. 1 on 1 sa gmeet hays.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ouch! that was pretty hard. at least you were given a chance to take you midterm exam, for sure you will pass.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My monday was still was a great day, even though we'd get frequent visits of power interruption almost everyday and the services also become unavailable meaning internet browsing gets distrupted at times.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thats the worst thing when your electricity is like Christmas lights, on and off. You should use a UPS for your PC, you can connect your router there so that when there is power failure your internet will not be disrupted. UPS can hold for at least 2 hours of power.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate it sir Bjorn if there's no internet. It will ruin my day especially I have a work from home. I badly need it everyday that's why internet connection is really important. In our province that's what I've concern the connection there is really poor.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes definitely, its like when you need it the most its not available.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My life depends on Internet connection now and I can say that it revolves around it so when the Internet is down, it creates lots of problem to me and everyone around me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

these days it seems internet is one thing we can't live without.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't had problems with the internet for a long time. Here we have fiber optics and the speed of the internet is above the European average. I think I would be very unhappy if I had problems with the connection!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i see, good for you. you know PH is not that rich like European countries to maintain a good quality internet service...

$ 0.00
2 years ago