Site Of The Beheaded

11 28
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

“Is your husband around?” I can hear a woman’s voice from the outside while I was working in my small home office.

Then I got up and checked who’s asking. It was our neighbor from the next block and she was asking me to take a look at her TV set. I’m not sure of what was about it but one thing I know of course was that her TV appliance had a problem.

When I was new in this place some years ago, the neighbors did not really know me even though I have been living here for almost a year. I was still single and free that time and I don’t just hang out with anybody else here because it’s kind of dangerous. You know this place was a dump site of victims of summary execution. Since then the place was named “Sitio Pugot” (site of the beheaded). Quite scary isn’t it?

Electronic Enthusiast

So here is the story why that woman was looking for me and asking if I could have time to see the condition of her television as if I am a technician.

Years ago her son was telling me that their old TV (CRT type) was having some problems. There was a sound but no image showing on the screen. It was just a black screen. So I went to their house and checked but they didn’t know that I have some knowledge and skills in electronics and electrical equipment. I asked him to turn the TV on and It really has some problems as the son told me. I told him to tap the back cover and the image appeared. So from that observation I already knew what was causing the TV to misbehave.

I went home and got some tools. Screwdriver, soldering iron and soldering lead were the tools I just needed to fix such issues.

To make the story short. I fixed the appliance in not longer than thirty minutes. The husband was overjoyed and thankful because he said he was thinking of buying a new one. Then he gave me $10 in return. But I refuse to get it because I don’t ask for anything in return. I just want to help with the knowledge I learned in school.  Since then I was kind of popular in the neighborhood because of the rumors the son was spreading about my skills. So I got a decent side hustle from then on fixing TV sets of neighbors when they broke. But please don’t comment like you need a technician right now. (laughs)

I graduated in electronics technology that is why sometimes you will see some of my posts were about gadgets, technology and or DIY. In fact I also have a YT channel where I posted videos about my projects and circuits. Unfortunately, I no longer have time to do some videos for it. Besides, competition is kind of tight on that platform so you need to be very creative with your content if you really want to be a video influencer.

Why didn’t I write all about technologies, DIY or repairs tips as my niche?

Well you know sometimes we wanted to learn all about anything. I could have written and made my posts all about electronics or electrical. That way I will not run out of ideas to share. However I choose to write about life experiences and general information because it’s kind of relatable to anyone.  Even if I have less knowledge about crypto currencies I still read and try to understand about it somehow for the sake of self teaching.

Going back to my neighbor who was asking me to check about the condition of her TV, I refused because I can no longer find time to insert in my schedules about it. However I still don’t want to disappoint her and I said that I will pay a visit on my next rest day.

Can't Live Without

In my six months of staying on this platform, I don’t see somebody using Electronics and Technology as their niche. Or perhaps there is, it’s just that I don’t see a certain post. I guess I’ll be writing about it in some of my succeeding articles. You know, as general information.  

These days it seems we can’t live our lives without our smartphone or any of the gadgets that can make our life easier from wearable to home appliance. However we are not aware of what things are made of these, how it was made, what are the dangers and even proper handling and disposal when broken.

You might think is it really necessary to know about these components that made these electronic gadgets and devices to function? Yes of course because these are hazardous and often radioactive. At least we have to know about the basic information for our own safety and taking care of the environment as well.

Anyway I hope I can be of help to some of you when it comes to delivering information about technology even if it will only be basic. I will try to make it as concise as possible.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

*The title may not relevant to the whole article. Sitio Pugot is where I live and no longer a dumpsite for victims of extra judicial killing these days. I'll be sharing about this place alone in some other time.

Lead image source credits to m wrona

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

To all those who support, Thank you!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

6
$ 4.43
$ 4.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Meyzee
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 4
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

That sounds a scary name of a place indeed even without knowing the history behind it. I agree about the topics here. Some if not most would like to read more about something that they can relate to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes my colleagues wont come if I am inviting them to come over for an occasion. They tend to be scared when i said i live in "Sitio Pugot" (laughs)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How much is the minimum rate po pag nag ayos ka ng mga TV or other appliances?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

not sure po, pero I think mga 300php ata sa labor depending on TV sizes, but don't tell me na may ipapa repair ka po haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di naman po hahaha agtatanong lang sirrr 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😁

no worries po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sitio Pugot, so scary. Goodness.

Anyway, I was about to ask if you could repair laptops but you had some warnings po 😂 Pero pasagot na din po. ,Hehehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe, no worries. Yes po nag rerepair din po and depende rin sa sira ng PC or laptop. Usually mga software issues lang naman yan, unless nabagsak or nabasa medyo mahirap na po ayusin mga ganon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May YT video ka po ba about don? Kaso yung sa kapatid ko,.ewan ko po kung naloko ba kami, brand new naman po binili pero bigla nalang di na nabukas. Baka maluwag lng po ang wiring or whatever, pero kung may vid po kayo, yun nalang hhanapin ko. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wala po ako vids re: PC and Laptop concern sa YT channel ko, marami na rin kasi channel re: sa mga ganon.

Kung brand new naman nabili from store, I don't see any reason para basta basta na lang hindi nag power on. Pero kung brand new tas meron ng first owner, possible na may sira pero hindi sa inyo sinabi.

Ang main reason kung minsan hindi sya mag power on ay dahil wala syang supply ng kuryente. It could be na sira battery. Pero kung naka plug nman charger nya at ayaw pa rin mag power, baka sira ang charger. Maybe my putol sa loob ng cable or the charger itself. Other than that pwede rin my sira power switch or anything inside para ma prevent ang supply ng kuryente at hindi sya mag power on.

Worst ay kung naloko talaga kayo ng pinagbilhan nyo.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Baka nga po naloko, store po kasi sa FB napagbilhan namin, kaso ang bilis lang ng warranty. After ng warranty period, dun naglabasan yung mga defects. Hay, charge to experience nalang po, try po kami humanap ng mag aayos. Thanks po sir!

$ 0.00
2 years ago